We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Confederate House

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Confederate House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Confederate House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 180: English reviews
Palm Coast, Florida
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Enjoyed my 1 night R&R stay at The Confederate House. A reasonably priced B&B directly across from Forsyth Park with free parking in the back of the house. Bedrooms and sitting room are on the 2nd floor directly above the ballroom. Bright sitting room had dessert sideboard set out with cake, cookies and coffee. My stay was in the General...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine62944
United States
Reviewed 22 November 2015

OK- I have read the other reviews and I am a very "flexible" traveler. But, this experience was surreal. I don't think anyone should give this B&B more than 2 stars. The best things about this B&B are the location and the quality of the bedding. But- here is the rest of the story. You are greeted by a front...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank CurlyGirl54
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

This is in response to the review titled Oh My! This is a small inn I do not believe in lawsuits all you get is money and anybody can make money if they are willing to work hard. It's that simple . Why waste my time . Now down to some of these accusation AGAINST ME and my bed and...

DeLand, Florida
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Staying at the Confederate House provides such an exceptional experience. Colleen Williams is a gracious host that strives to draw you into the history of Savannah and the Confederate House. Each morning a delicious breakfast is served in the dining room. We stayed 3 nights in the General Jackson room which is beautifully appointed and has a huge private bath....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank McFarland2
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

Thank-you for your kind words. You are always welcome to come back.

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Met at door by very friendly owner. Cookies,cake ,coffee and candy waiting for new arrivals. Room very clean, large and comfortable . Excellent southern breakfast with beautiful table setup. Recommend highly.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Billgailj
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

Thank-you for your kind words. You are always welcome to come back.

Warrington, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We recently returned from a 6 night stay in the President Davis Room at the Confederate House in Savannah. This room is the largest and has a beautiful view of Forsyth Park BUT we could not see the park because the window shades were broken and we were instructed at check in not to touch them. Lady Colleen said they...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank TraceyLeeG
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

There is hot coffee on the dining table each morning you chose not to drink it but to drink the coffee on the upstairs table from day before As for your other complaints all I can say is writing a review after you left instead of telling me about them when you were here so we could address your complaints...

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in this beautiful mansion like home. Huge room and bathroom, all in excellent condition. Made me feel like being Ret Burglar. The landlady was very friendly and helpful. Located at Savannahs biggest park, walking distance to downtown Savannah 20 minutes.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TomCat2013
Peekskill, New York
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Some ideas on the confederate house 1. The outside desperately needs a coat of paint. The poor curb appeal sets guests up for disappointment before they ever get in the door. 2. The room while beautifully decorated, lacks basic amentities. Like pen/paper, drinking glasses or bottles of water(there is cake and cookies out which is lovely, but nothing to drink),...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Allison F
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

This is a no smoking building it is posted nobody until this couple has not respected that it has been 2 days and we are still trying to get the smell of cigarettes out of the room this couple occupied. The toilet paper holder was broken off the wall and has to be replaced and they never told us. We...

Laguna Beach, California
Reviewed 6 October 2015

From the first step of many steep steps up the mildewed front, neglect hits you -a rotting bannister, cracked and crumbling plaster and a dirty front door. The faded sign on the peeling door instructing you to call for entry should send you running. When the owner finally opens the door after a considerable wait, she checks you in with...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank MicheleB55
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

This is an untruthful review we get 100% on our health inspections. I have learned being in business there will always be one or two people no matter what you do you can not please them. If this was so bad she did not have to stay here she could have said I do not want to stay here and...

North Port, Florida
Reviewed 6 October 2015

we checked in with miss Collene in the dining hall. She is a soft spoken woman full of southern hospitality. The dining hall is as big as a ball room with a large table and fine china set for breakfast at one end and a beautiful sitting area at the other end,and a grand piano on one side. Collene serves...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kris N
Pittston, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 October 2015

My friend and I stayed in the General Lee room. Beautiful huge room and bathroom. Had absolutely no problems at all during our four day stay. Breakfasts every morning, the food was excellent. We meet wonderful people each morning we sat down for breakfast. Mrs. Williams went out of her way to be very helpful and made sure our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jishda3

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Dresser Palmer House
Dresser Palmer House
#15 of 31 in Savannah
467 reviews
Roussell's Garden
#19 of 31 in Savannah
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Stephen Williams House
The Stephen Williams House
#17 of 31 in Savannah
58 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 31 in Savannah
1,433 reviews
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#8 of 31 in Savannah
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Confederate House

Address: 808 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5903
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range: $178 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Confederate House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Confederate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Confederate House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Confederate House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you find it difficult to sleep in a room with street noise and exterior light coming in, decline staying in the front room.”
C0ral_L0ver, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Due to the light coming in the front bedroom, choose one of the others, or bring an eye mask.”
  • Front bedroom
  • Front bedroom
  • Front bedroom bathroom
  • Upstairs lobby
  • Front bedroom bathroom
899karinh, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“At night, the General Jackson room gets quite a bit of light from the entrance light (despite the solid blinds).”
Voyageuse53, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just three rooms, mine faced the park with huge windows and huge views, I did not see the other two rooms, but this one was spectacular.”
MykMc, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are located on second floor of this lovely home.”
Pdougl99, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates