We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Foley House Inn

Traveller (436)
Room & Suite (118)
Dining (22)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The romantic Foley House Inn bed and breakfast in Savannah, Georgia is made up of two lavishly renovated historic mansions facing the quiet and lovely Chippewa Square. This romantic Savannah Inn is distinguished both by location and historic prominence. This historic bed and breakfast mansion hotel is located in the exact center of your Savannah Georgia destination journey
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
1,231Reviews
458Photos
13Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 932
  • 170
  • 75
  • 40
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Very fine indeed. House was formal and well kept. Beautiful layout. Lots of stairs however. Breakfast was amazing, snack hour 3-4:30 with homemade sweets and tea, hors d'oeuvres with wine from 6-7:30. House chef on site making everything. 8-10 minute walk from River St.
Read more
Foley House is on Chippewa Square in Savannah. This location makes it ideal if you want to traverse the numerous squares. Our room was large with a nice fireplace. The water pressure to the shower was great. There was a courtyard just outside the room. Our breakfast was
Read more
We’ve been to the Foley House Inn a number of times and always stay there when visiting Savannah. We decided to escape for a little break right before Christmas and had the best time. The inn looked very festive and was decorated elegantly for the holiday season. The staff
Read more
Stayed with my family of five. Had two rooms and was very impressed. Breakfast and afternoon treats were amazing. This is a beautiful building and the service was top notch! I would rate it higher if it was possible.
Read more
Being on Chippewa Square is about the only positive to Foley House Inn. Having stayed there and walked past other B&B within the vicinity, I would definitely steer clear of Foley House. It is overpriced for an inn that is poorly maintained, serves non-appetizing food (both for
Read more
Response from foleyinnowner, Owner at Foley House Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. I am glad you liked our location but I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay beyond that. I am sorry you had trouble with the pilot light in your fireplace. On windy days sometimes they do blew out. We have real fireplaces at the Foley house inn that date back to when our building was constructed in the 1860s. They are large gas fireplaces and sometimes on windy days the pilot lights can blow out. When I offered to come and help you if the fireplace pilot went out again, I was only trying to be helpful. All of our rooms do you have excellent heating systems and the fireplaces are primarily for ambience as they do not actually warm the room. Every room can be maintained at a comfortable temperature regardless of the temperature outside with or without the fireplaces. I do understand your desire to have both the fireplace and the Jacuzzi tub in the room as well as the private balcony that particular room also has. I am sorry the pilot had to be re-lit. All of the windows at the Foley House Inn are single pane glass. This is required of all historic buildings in Savannah Georgia. We are not allowed to change anything that faces the exterior of the building from it's original state. It's part of what makes our city so historically charming and beautiful. That being said, there was a problem with that window and it was repaired immediately following your stay. We would never allow a gap like that to go without repair. The other photo you posted was of the bay window that is in room 301. The exterior of that window is covered in copper. I think what you might have mistaken for peeling paint is actually the copper patina. It's with naturally happens to copper as it ages. It's one of the truly unique and beautiful features of our historic building. Again, this is on the exterior of the building and we would not be allowed to paint it even if we wanted to. Maintenance is always a priority in our historic building. We do address things as they happen and we have a regular renovation schedule that we try to stick to. I would never allow peeling paint or the like to go without repair. Our decor matches our building and is well pictured on our website. There's also videos of every room. I realize that beauty is in the eye of the beholder but I think all of our property is unique and charming. I do think that is why people come to Savannah and stay at a historic B&B. it's nothing like a chain hotel you would find on the side of a highway. It is truly unique and wonderful. I am sorry you did not care for food service. I can assure you that nothing is from "a box". All of our food is made in house. Our chef and kitchen staff prepare things from scratch every day for our guests. Our full-service breakfast every morning includes entrées such as Pineapple Upside Down French Toast, Grits with Goat Cheese and Chives, Coconut Streusel Coffee Cake, Buttermilk Peach Pecan Pancakes, Fruit-Filled French Toast Wraps, Corned Beef Hash Cakes with Poached Eggs, and Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Sautéed Apples. Our menu varies every day and always includes eggs any style or the omelette of your choice. We also offer afternoon sweets and tea and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres. All of this is complementary and include it with your room price. We never charge extra for anything. I am sorry that you feel that the rate of $189 per night that you paid was not a good value. Our rates do vary throughout the year but in our lower seasons we do offer some pretty great deals. I understand that you did not care for our property but I'm not sure that the almost 1000 people who have given us a five star review on this website would agree. I'm not sure if they all stayed at B&B's before but I imagine some have as we do you have a great deal of repeat business. We also maintain a 9.2 out of 10 rating on a competitive hotel rating site. I am sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. I wish we could've done more to make you happy. It is always mine and my staffs priority to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of every guest. Grant Rogers Owner, Foley House Inn 800-647-3708
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Showing gaps in the windows (I'm putting a tv guide through the window gap).
Photo provided by managementFoley House Inn
Room 205 Suffolk
Wrest House Bathroom
Stairs to 200 level rooms
Deck off of Suffolk room
PreviousNext
12345624
Do you allow children?
Yes...We welcome everyone.
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you alli children?
Not certain
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you provide parking?
No, Savannah has on-street parking. We sell 2-day parking passes issued by the city that allow you to park at any meter. The 2-day pass is 14 dollars. Parking is free on the weekends. Normally guests have no trouble parking within 1 block of the Inn. If you have any other questions, please call our front desk at 800-647-3708. Thank you
0 votes
Show all answers
Not sure. However, I believe they would have a room with two beds. You should call them. They are wonderful hosts.
1 vote
Show all answers
Where do you park for the Foley House Inn?
You can pay the Inn for a parking pass and you parallel park on the street in front of the Inn or really close. I think the pass is good for other places in Savannah as well.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"They only have a few balcnies overlooking the square."
"Room 104 is nice and big...and on the first floor. Room 204 has a nice balcony overlooking Chippewa Square."
"Make sure you pick a room that matches your capability to manage steep stairs."
"If you care about Wifi in the room, be sure to mention that when you book as not all rooms are equipped."
"No elevator, so if you don't like stairs, make sure you book an entry level room. Parking is a little bit of a hassle."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$155 - US$409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
foley house hotel savannah
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastSavannahDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing