We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Save
Share
201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
5 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Travel and Save Discount
Booking.com
US$219
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-31
Priceline
US$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-31
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$219
US$197
View deal
SAVE US$22
Hotels.comUS$219
Expedia.comUS$219
Hampton.comUS$219
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (498)
Room & Suite (262)
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21-05-07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Updated 21-05-07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 128 hotels in Savannah
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center.
Read more
Room & Suite (262)262
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Travel and Save Discount
3395Reviews74Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,195
  • 858
  • 231
  • 78
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Michele P wrote a review Yesterday
Middletown, New York331 contributions53 helpful votes
Conveniently located on the edge of the historic district, it was a short walk (less than 10 minutes) to the many wonderful shops and eateries. It was less than a 5 minute walk to the visitor center and main trolly area. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Still no daily maid service due to Covid regulations but you could request extra towels and supplies from the front desk. Breakfast was complimentary and alright. We had a king suite which was spacious and comfortable. The only issues we encountered were the first night we had a first floor room on the Oglethorpe Road side of the hotel and you could hear the traffic ALL NIGHT! Fourtanely, we were able to move to the other side of the hotel the next day and it was much better. Also, there is parking available (for a fee) bit there was never a spot available on property, instead you have to park 2-3 blocks away in a parking garage. It wasn’t terrible if you walked through the neighboring embassy suites (which has a great little bar in their lobby). We had some issues with the swipe card getting in and out of the garage each day. If you are planning to sightsee just in the historic district, you do not need a car…walk, take the trolly or Uber! The hotel was a good value, in a decent location with the reliability and standards of a Hampton Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
RogerHayesFord wrote a review Mar. 2021
Vietnam98 contributions17 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Holly and I visited Savannah in March 2021, our first time back here since 1985. Nothing ever changes in Savannah (as it should be), however, this time there was something new, for us, the Hampton Inn at 201 East Bay Street. The hotel was actually constructed in the 1990’s (during our 35 year absence!), but was very tastefully designed and built to fit nicely into the historic architecture of the city. We are very frequent Hampton Inn customers, so we know what to expect and we were not disappointed. In fact, from our first greeting by Tasha at the reception desk we felt welcome and right at home. Our room was on the small side, but more than adequate for a city hotel. It had all the standard Hilton/Hampton amenities, in addition to being spotlessly clean and comfortable. Next, we met Jean, the Concierge. She possesses a wealth of knowledge about her city and transmitted everything we needed to know quickly, and even shared part of her lunch break to give us clear directions to our desired points of interest. Finally, I would be remiss if I failed to mention Jan, the hotel’s Director of Marketing who greeted us with a glass of Champaign one afternoon and invited us to share our feedback about the hotel with her. I am a retired Professor of Management and we are experienced world travelers, but that was a first. Our only regret was that we only had two nights to stay in this delightful hotel in one of America’s most beautiful and historic cities.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Finnegan, Sales at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Responded Apr. 5, 2021
Thank you so much for the awesome and humbling review of your stay with us at our Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District. It was so great to have you back in our city after 35 years. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you for the two days you were with us - we also wished it were longer! You were both a delight. We are especially grateful for your kind words about our team members. Tasha, our sales coordinator is a gem and works hard to ensure the minute our guests walk in the door they are treated like family. Jean, on our concierge team is also wonderful. She loves to make sure our guests see the true Savannah for all its charm, history and fun. And it was my pleasure to meet you and learn more about your travels. You and your wife really made our day and we hope you will consider coming back and staying a little longer with us. We are here for you and can' wait to see you again!
Read more
ACLassie wrote a review Jun. 8
1 contribution
Splurge on the valet service, RAYMOND was amazing and service was excellent!! Hotel was super clean and wonderful. Front desk was friendly and very helpful. Will definitely stay here again. Close to so many fabulous restaurants, loved it
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Finnegan, Sales at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you so much for the super review of your stay with us at our Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District! We are delighted Raymond on our valet team took such good care of you. Also love to hear you found our hotel to be "super clean and wonderful!" Our front desk team will also be thrilled to know how much you appreciated their customer service. We can't wait for your return visit to our hotel - sure hope its soon!
Read more
737geralde wrote a review Jun. 5
Atlanta, United States4 contributions
Like at all Hiltons, the staff are wonderfully helpful and attentive. Other than the Cotton Sail, the Hampton is by far the best located for easy wandering by the river and in the district. I'd like the AC unit in the room to be a bit quieter but that's a tall order. Good room and hotel for the price.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Finnegan, Sales at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us at our Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District. We truly appreciate your kind words about our team members who were so "wonderfully helpful and attentive." Also love to hear you found our location to be the best for all you wanted to see and do in and around the historic district. We'll definitely pass along your concerns about the air conditioning unit to our maintenance team - feedback like that helps us do the best we can to improve our guests' stay, so thank you. Please come back and stay with us again soon - we really enjoyed hosting you!
Read more
FLPapa wrote a review May 2021
Florida Panhandle, Florida25 contributions3 helpful votes
This Hampton is in a great location one block from River Street and near several historical sites. We felt safe walking to and from the hotel our entire stay. The entry is inviting, and the room was clean and spacious. The rooftop pool provided an amazing place to view the sunsets. The entire staff, from desk staff to housekeeping to the food service workers, were courteous and attentive to our needs. The hot breakfast was very good and had several choices. We only wished it included fruit (other than the whole apples and bananas). The only other annoyance is the fitted sheet and mattress cover which do not tuck in under the mattress and frequently come off. We had to reposition them several times. Really, this is somewhat of an inconvenience rather than a problem. The entire facility is very clean. I highly recommend this Hampton.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Finnegan, Sales at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us about your stay at our Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District. Every bit of detail you shared is so important not only to our team, but also your fellow Trip Advisor travelers. We love to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and will definitely share your concerns about the fruit at breakfast and your fitted sheets & mattress cover. We hope you will come back and stay with us again the next time Savannah is in your travel plans!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$152 - US$298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn savannah - historic district hotel savannah, savannah hampton inn
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastSavannahHistoric District - North / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
147
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District?
Nearby attractions include Nightly Spirits (0.2 km), Webb Military Museum (0.4 km), and Savannah Supernatural Tours (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chive Sea Bar & Lounge, Leopold's Ice Cream, and River Street Sweets.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Savannah.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.