We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (140)
360
Panoramas (6)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Stay 2 Nights and Get a Free Night
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 24 hotels in Fairbanks
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
At the Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge you're sure to find that little something extra. With our modern amenities and thoughtful design, the Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge will stand out among other hotels in Fairbanks,AK. For the business traveler, a spacious work desk and free internet access are included in all our guest rooms to ensure you don't miss a beat while you're away from the office. For extended stays, each room provides a convenient in-room mini fridge that is ideal for drinks and snacks. We also have an in-house fitness room, so you can keep up your workout routine while you're on the road. As always, the Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge will provide you with the superior customer service that you are used to at Best Western® Hotels & Resorts.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Kids stay free
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay 2 Nights and Get a Free Night
941Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 447
  • 318
  • 96
  • 47
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Tourist426296 wrote a review Feb 26
1 contribution
everything was very good. glad to have car plug-ins. Front desk people nice and helpful. (also hotel is across street from big shopping and next door to the best coffee stand!) Would have been nice if hotel had airport shuttle, and didn't charge for early check-in, but we had a great stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jessica S wrote a review Jun 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They gave great suggestions for food options and night spots. The hotel was clean and in a good location. The breakfast buffet was always good with delicious options.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyndy Wyatt, Marketing at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Responded Jul 1, 2023
Jessica, We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge. Our knowledgeable staff is happy to help guests choose a restaurant from among their favorites and ones recommended by other visitors to Fairbanks. We hope you will return to have another memorable experience with us soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Graham L wrote a review Oct 2023
4 contributions
Absolutely brilliant. Buffet area available all day long. Comfortable rooms with great facilities. The staff are a dream - Jesse, Lyndsay, Cheri, all the others. Loved staying there and thoroughly appreciated your kindness and warmth. Highly recommended! Thank you so much.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Remember your thermal underwear and non-slip boots!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyndy Wyatt, Marketing at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Responded Oct 12, 2023
Thank you, Graham, for sharing an awesome review of the Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge Fairbanks. Our team is delighted you enjoyed their efforts to make your week's stay memorable. We will share your lovely comments with Jesse, Lyndsay, Cheri, and the rest of the crew. We hope you will return to visit us in Alaska again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stacey S wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
NOT!! Got employees doing drugs in the parking lot. I'd like to say to that young blonde haired gentlemen with the black Four door Ford, take your job more seriously. I mean there are children staying in this place. I literally seen you smoking out of a glass tube with a round end. I'm sure I'm not the only one. And to the management come on now really are u running a trap house? Clean up your staff. The room was still dirty front desk rude as can be. Such an unprofessional place. Never again will I stay at this hotel. I will be sure to let others know as well. Thanks for hearing me and I'm sure you won't do nothing to change any of this.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Clean up your staff.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyndy Wyatt, Marketing at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Responded Sep 17, 2023
Staceys, We take seriously any reports of unprofessional activity by our staff. We will look into this matter immediately. Our goal is to provide the best experience possible for our guests, and we are sorry you have decided not to return to visit us again. We always welcome another opportunity to make our guests happy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenny W wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My family and I are staying here now and it’s the worst experience I’ve ever had. They gave us a room on the first floor and walking in it was musty and smelled like pet urine and the air conditioner is broken. My husband went to the front desk and the acted like there wasn’t a problem and we just weren’t using the thermostat correctly (my husband is a building performance engineer and knows how to operate a thermostat). We didn’t sleep well because we were warm and uncomfortable. Yesterday, my husband spoke directly with the maintenance person and was told that they’d come fix it. When we got back to the room, the Ac wasn’t fixed and the room still smelled terrible. We asked if it was possible to switch rooms and were told they were sold out. This morning, I asked why they didn’t work on the AC and was told they knocked on the door but we didn’t answer (because we were out) so they didn’t work on the AC. I asked if they could work on it and if they had any carpet deodorizer and was told they’d see if they could check it out. I’m sure when we return it won’t be addressed. The woman at the front desk wouldn’t even make eye contact. Spare yourself the disappointment and experience of a hot/ smelly room and stay literally anywhere else!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyndy Wyatt, Marketing at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Responded Aug 9, 2023
Jenny, Please accept our apologies for not responding quickly to your maintenance requests. We are dedicated to providing the best possible experience for our guests and will have those issues you mentioned taken care of immediately. Please know this is not typical of our guests' visit to our hotel. We hope the remainder of your stay is pleasant and worry-free.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kellywitten wrote a review Jul 2023
Ninilchik, Alaska1 contribution1 helpful vote
DO NOT STAY HERE!! I have never written a review of a hotel but I am doing so in the hopes no one else has to make the mistake of staying here. I do not know how this hotel got all these good reviews. I started off in a room on the third floor. It wasn’t super clean but I took a shower and decided to make the best of it. Then I discovered something was wrong with the air conditioner and asked for a different room. That room smelled so strongly of cigarette smoke I didn’t even make it in the door. Then I was given a room on the first floor. I do not know what the smell was in that room but it was horrible. At that point, I gave up. I got the hotel for a little over $100 off of their website. It was over $300 on all the other websites. All I can figure, based on the other good reviews, is that they gave me the nasty rooms because I didn’t pay full price. I’m not sure, but I wouldn’t take a chance on it if I were you.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyndy Wyatt, Marketing at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Responded Jul 26, 2023
Thank you for your feedback, Kellywitten. We apologize that you were not comfortable in the rooms you were given. Our maintenance team will look into your issues in those spaces you tried. Our rates fluctuate due to availability. Our wonderful, friendly staff values all guests, and we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We hope your travels are safe and worry-free in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kathy Kysar wrote a review Jul 2023
Sutton, Alaska8 contributions1 helpful vote
First, the good - the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the continental breakfast was hearty. It's a real stretch to call this place a "Chena River Lodge." You can't even see the river from the hotel and it's just that, a hotel and not a lodge. As I approached the front doors to the hotel, I read a sign on them saying that they weren't working properly and I may have to slide the glass doors open by hand. When I arrived, the woman at the front desk had a baby that was crawling around on the lobby floor and headed down the hall toward the guest rooms. I was given keys to a room on the third floor and then told that the elevator was currently out of order and being worked on. So, I hauled my bags up the stairs to my room. Then, when I went to get ice, the 3rd floor ice machine had a sign saying that I needed to use the ice machine on the 1st floor. Thankfully, the elevator was working by then. There was a homemade sign in the elevator that said not to overcrowd it and that the maximum capacity was 3 people. It was a large elevator that could easily accommodate 8 people or more. Strange. The carpet in the halls was sticky dirty and made the bottom of my shoes sticky. The hotel information in the room stated that the continental breakfast was only available 6-9am, so I made plans to eat out the next day for brunch since I didn't have to be anywhere before 1pm. When I walked through the lobby at 10am, the continental breakfast was in full swing so I was frustrated about that. There was only one paper coffee cup in my room, although the selection of teas was nice. When I checked out, the man at the desk was dressed sloppily in an oversized hoody. Overall, it all just felt very unprofessional and not welcoming at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyndy Wyatt, Marketing at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Responded Jul 25, 2023
We appreciate your valuable feedback, Kysarkathy. We regret you encountered so many issues during your visit. I am sorry the breakfast information was incorrect, which will be taken care of immediately. We are glad you enjoyed the comfort of the room, and we will address the other things you mentioned in your review. Please allow our staff to provide a more pleasant experience for you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeffrey G wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
This hotel is not a lodge!! It’s a normal Best Western hotel you find thru out the US It is not on the Chena River. There are several hotels nearby at a considerable less price and are on the Chena River, has a restaurant onsite. If you don’t have a car you’ll have to take Uber or Taxi anywhere Homeless man came in two separate days while eating breakfast begging for cigarettes and lighter. Staff did nothing Overall this hotel is not worth the value in many ways.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: This is a 150.00 a night charging 350.00 a night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyndy Wyatt, Marketing at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Responded Jul 19, 2023
O4XXjeffreyg, We take the safety and security of our guests seriously and did not have any reports of someone being a nuisance in the hotel. Our team will be on the lookout for non-guests entering the property. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our hotel provides a wonderful Alaska atmosphere near many wonderful sites in Fairbanks. We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience and hope you will allow our team to deliver a better visit to you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LoveFunTravels wrote a review Jun 2023
North Augusta, South Carolina377 contributions211 helpful votes
A very good low budget option. Breakfast better than Hampton Inn. Good location and friendly staff. There was an issue with the shuttle service due to staffing so a taxi (paid by hotel) was used which was awkward. The original taxi they sent to the airport to pick us up took off with someone else even though we were talking with the driver and the passenger who stole it from us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyndy Wyatt, Marketing at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Responded Jun 5, 2023
LoveFunTravels, Thank you for your great review. We are sorry for the unexpected issue of arranging transportation for you with our shuttle and the rudeness of the other person. We hope you will return to our hotel in Fairbanks for another worry-free stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Micaela wrote a review Jan 2023
Riverside, California3 contributions5 helpful votes
We had a great time at Fairbanks while being checked-in at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge. All of the staff were incredibly nice and hospitable. The breakfast everyday is hot and good. It was walking distance to Fred Meyer and other restaurants. They also helped us with our transportation. We would not mind staying here again when we come back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyndy Wyatt, Marketing at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Responded Jan 19, 2023
MicaelaaG7447WC, We would be thrilled to host another visit for you when you return to Fairbanks for another visit. Our team is happy to help arrange transportation to and from the airport and the train station if needed. It helps to know when the shuttle is required, so don't hesitate to contact us in advance with travel times. We will share your appreciation of the breakfast service with the host, who was instrumental in keeping items fresh and full during meal service. We hope you will return to visit us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fairbanks area.
PRICE RANGE
C$211 - C$269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western plus chena river hotel fairbanks
LOCATION
United StatesAlaskaFairbanks
NUMBER OF ROOMS
67
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Fairbanks, Alaska) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Chena River State Recreation Area (0.5 km), The Great Alaskan Bowl Company (0.2 km), and The Boatel (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chena's Alaskan Grill, Brewsters, and Alaska Coffee Roasting Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alaskan Pipeline (13.7 km).
Is Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.