We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glacier House Hostel

Save
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Family and Play Areas (2)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
3.0
6 reviews
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good16%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible51%
22 Oct 2016
“Dirty hostel run by crooks!!”
17 Jun 2016
“Great place ”
AMENITIES
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
2
1
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
2
1
0
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 6 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2016

A group of friends amd I stayed here for one night and could not deal with the smell of cat urine. We were scheduled for 2 nights. When we tried to cancel our second evening, the manager asked why and he was told because of...More

5  Thank Bradley B
Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded October 26, 2016

It is always disappointing to receive a negative review, although we were not surprised to see this as it had been threatened if we did not refund their money. Shortly after their late evening arrival my manager let me know that at least one of...More

Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

It was basic but comfortable. I stayed for the summer. I'd recommend for fellow travelers looking for a safe place to stay. It was my home for a while and I loved it (I'm not used to sharing living quarters but it was great)

1  Thank MariaJM1980
Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded October 23, 2016

Thank you Maria! Alex and I certainly enjoyed your company and you were definitely respectful of the house, if there were a place to review guests we would give you five stars back! GE

Reviewed September 16, 2015

It advertised a room for $17, but when we got there he charged us $30. The $17 rate was for a tent in the back yard. It was very dirty - I have been to about 15 hostels and it is by far the dirtiest...More

4  Thank Dan S
Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded March 21, 2016

Hello, I assume you accidentally booked the tent space, as it sounds as though you were taken by surprise; I hope you appreciated the discount we offered you and your brother as a compromise. I have double checked all the booking sites we use to...More

Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Not fancy but clean and comfortable. Best sleep I had my entire trip. Host graciously was up late waiting on my post midnight arrival. Being a hostel bath and kitchen are shared but things were clean. May not be the best place for a woman...More

1  Thank Anna B
Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded March 21, 2016

Thank you for your very nice review! I hope you will stay with us again one day, please let us know, we have a special offer for returning guests! We have expanded since your first visit and I think you would enjoy some of the...More

Reviewed August 11, 2014

I've stayed in hostels before so I know better than to expect frills. I booked 2 nights at Glacier House Hostel in Fairbanks, AK on Bookings.com which described it as having a desk that was open 24 hours. The room was called the "Tree House...More

5  Thank Denise F
Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded March 21, 2016

It does sound like you had a rough night! Our very popular Tree House ordinarily is quite coveted by our guests, so much so that we had to limit the number of consecutive nights to five. My husband and I shared it on our wedding...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Fairbanks
See allSee all
About
Details
Price range
US$15 - US$50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Details
Price range
US$15 - US$50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Add Photo Photos
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Glacier House Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Don't go here - go to 9th ave. Hostel."
Read review
"Don't book the "Tree House Room"!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing