We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Boat House

Show Prices
#16 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Boat House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I absolutely loved the quaint and peaceful guesthouse. From the moment I arrived, until my departure the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. I stayed in a one bedroom fan room, which was serviced daily with fresh sheets and towels. The shower was warm and the garden is so beautiful and quiet. There is a bar and pool table at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christie T
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked 2 nights and stayed one extra because we really liked it. The staff and owner are very friendly and welcoming. The room is very good value for money and we particularly liked the fresh towels every day. The rooms are spacious, there is enough places to put your clothes, nicely decorated and the airco works very well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annelies H
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

I chose the guesthouse following the good rewiews. But i was really disapointed, the room was very old , and Many things were broken . Despite this , the owner is really nice and the location is good .

Helpful?
Thank Soubs90
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Visited this guest house a few weeks ago.The room was nice enough and the setting was quite pretty. However the bathroom was tiny, which is fine, but it was clearly poorly cleaned and I couldn't bring myself to shower in it. The air conditioning system was broken, and through out the night spat water and even chunks of ice on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rahme v
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived to a beautiful setting, lush plants and perfectly manicured lawns and thought we struck gold till we met the owner who refused to speak English which is my second language too. We booked in via bookings.com so there was a record and a staff member tried to help. We eventually settled and got a tuc tuc to take... More 

Helpful?
Thank MirandaOosthuizen11
Tong B, Propriétaire at The Boat House, responded to this review

Please stop saying things that are not true ... 1 - We came back from Phonm Penh on july 14th at 5 PM, thus you have meet an unknown ! 2 - We don't have dog in our guesthouse, thus you criticize a customer and his dog ! 3 - If you don't like party... please don't go in a... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

The male owner seemed to be completely disinterested in helping us find our room, or even acknowledging us as guests. Our $15 a night room was very small and disappointing. The air con was nice, but continually spat water over the bed, dropped ice chunks on the floor and would often stop and start. The toilet water incredibly small, with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hendrik O
Tong B, Propriétaire at The Boat House, responded to this review

1 - You booked a double room with fan and you preferred a single room with AC to be closer of your parents ! It's your choice ! Stop complaining!  2 - We repaired the AC ! thanks to the description of a customer more intelligent than you ! A customer who prefers to speak live and not to write on... More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stayed in the main house for a few nights in February this year. Our room was lovely with a very comfortable bed and nicely decorated. Lovely and cool despite the punishing heat. The guest house is very conveniently located, about equidistant between the Crab Market and the beach, and close to the entrance of the national park. It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank SueHG54
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I stayed at the Boat House for 3 nights and would highly recommend this place. The room I stayed in was perfect for someone that wanted a private room, but didn't want to pay extortionate prices. For $15 a night I got a mid-sized private room with air-con, table and chair, and a bathroom - basic, but all you need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Starstripe89
Tong B, Propriétaire at The Boat House, responded to this review

Thank you W... for your stay in Boat House. Ginger tea is minimum we can do for you after your crazy trip on Rabbit island !!!!! We hope your have better weather now.... have a safe journey.... Friendly More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Drink is standard price, food quite selected can be pricy for some dishes. The ambience is awesome, right in front of shelly beach, good view is at the front the front sitting (can be quite warm) and shade area with good vibe is at the back area.

Helpful?
1 Thank lili_tran
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

Double AC room was nice, but so many issues came up- the bathroom drain was clogged, the AC didn't work half the time, etc. The man who runs the place helped out a lot and gave us a small discount because the AC didn't work. The staff who work at the restaurant and bar though were not particularly friendly- they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nbk18
Tong B, Propriétaire at The Boat House, responded to this review

You stayed in a Khmer house of 70s which we try to renovate step by step. In Cambodia, pipes are narrow and have trouble for evacuation with our cosmetics We planned to replace the AC in the next days (we have to go to Ppenh to buy new AC)  As for the staff who does not speak English !!!!! I... More 

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.3 km away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 15 in Kep
473 reviews
0.7 km away
Kep Lodge
Kep Lodge
#8 of 15 in Kep
446 reviews
0.2 km away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#6 of 15 in Kep
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Khmer Hands Bungalows
1.3 km away
Rega Kep Ma Campagne Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.4 km away
Bacoma
Bacoma
#1 of 26 in Kep
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our guest house is located between the two hills close to the Kep National Park, 300 meters from the Kep beach. The house is a traditional wooden Khmer style. The restaurant serve a fine and traditional French cuisine made by our French chef with reasonable prices. Ideal for rest and family atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Boat House

Address: Beach Road, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Price Range: $17 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Hotel Kep
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Boat House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would stay in the main house if given the choice.”
 of 5 bubbles SueHG54, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Nice Travel Desk and Great food!”
 of 5 bubbles BoulevardBrowser, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Maybe you'll be luckier than us ! Mistakes are possible but you have to be able to find solutions.”
 of 5 bubbles Bene_the_bee, 12 Nov 2014 | Read review
“We particularly love the wooden rooms (numbers 3 and 5), house #1”
 of 5 bubbles MarcoWagenaar, 1 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Offered nice refreshment on arrival!”
 of 5 bubbles citybike, 5 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay