We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Truman Inn

CancelonUS$66*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$98*
US$66*
Great Deal
US$72*
US$72*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Truman Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

449 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 447: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Truman Inn
 Click to rate
colorado springs, United States
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Loud ambulance/fire/police sirens frequently. Had to turn on HVAC to continuous to provide white noise for sleep. However returned to this motel on return trip for its convenience and price two weeks later.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesfk2017
Marshfield, Missouri
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would highly recommend this hotel. Not only it has been modernized, it is a great location with restaurants, gas station, and retail stores within a walking distance, and it is less than a mile from I-70. When we stay in Kansas City, it will be here!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda W
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Management response:

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very comfortable room, loved outside door for loading and unloading. Easy access to freeways and shopping. Customer Service was great! Would definitely stay here again and suggest it to family and friends. Thank you Best Western!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pamelalD2090YZ
Management response:

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Location is hard to find. Lobby and breakfast area are very nicely remodeled. The room we stayed in (#137) was pretty bad, smelled of stale smoke, cigarette burns on the carpet, drapes looked bad, room was shabby. The hotel is supposedly all non-smoking. The king size bed, however, was comfortable and looked fairly new. Breakfast was really nice and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dakotacarol
Management response:

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guest in the future. I...

Boston
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was in Independence to visit the Truman Library Museum and Home. It was adequate for what we needed - basic no frills. I really don't understand where all these glowing reviews are about. Very average for a very average price. It was not really that near to where we wanted to go to the sites, probably less than a 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lchan
Management response:

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team. I would like to apologize for not exceeding your exceptions Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here because it was close to Royals' Stadium and conveniently located. The room was dreary and the toilet barely flushed. The shower did not drain. I will not be back to this location. On top of that, we had a do not disturb sign on door and housekeeping was knocking at our door before 9am to get in...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deborar649
Management response:

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future....

Sioux Falls, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service was good. The room was satisfactory. Didn't like an outside door that is not as secure as access inside the motel only. Bathroom could have been updated a little more. The swimming pool was not open yet.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
Management response:

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future....

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The customer service here is excellent so I feel extremely bad about giving this place a bad rating...but this place is so unlike what we have come to expect at Best Western. First, we almost couldn't find the place. From the outside you can immediately tell that this was a budget hotel before it re-branded as a BW. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RoasterRick
Management response:

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future....

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately, this motel was chosen for us for a volleyball tournament. Our reservation was mixed up so they promised us a lower rate for the trouble. However, they did not keep their word. Also, when I checked out of the motel my receipt only had one nights stay but my card was charged for the 3 nights. There has been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SandyS2008
Management response:

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future....

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had to stay here for our daughter's volleyball tournament. It was such a hassle. First off they messed up the reservations that they had had since January. The tournament was the second week of April. So a lot of our team ended up having to stay in rooms with one bed and one sleeper sofa. Then those who elected...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank junebug0677
Management response:

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future....

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
4.2 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
6.0 km away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
267 reviews
5.2 km away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#2 of 18 in Independence
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Super 8 Independence Kansas City
5.1 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
6.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Best Western Truman Inn where the service is impeccable, the amenities top-notch and the accommodations are comfortable and affordable. This Missouri Best Western hotel offers guests convenient access to many area businesses, attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Independence. Guests staying at this Independence hotel will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable satellite television, microwave, refrigerator and free high-speed Internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served every morning in the hotel's breakfast area. The Best Western Truman Inn is also equipped with an outdoor swimming pool for relaxing. The hospitable staff at the Best Western Truman Inn is ready to ensure a comfortable stay. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Truman Inn

Address: 4048 South Lynn Court, Independence, MO 64055
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Price Range: $105 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Truman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Truman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Truman Hotel Independence
Best Western Independence
Independence Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Truman Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Lee's Summit, Missouri

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Truman Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would ask if the room they assigned me is remodeled and smoke free.”
dakotacarol, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Go to another BW”
RoasterRick, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Second floor away from freeway with a king bed.”
EdQuigley, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you can't carry your bags yourself up a flight of stairs, don't stay on the 2nd floor!”
178patriciaw, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet and fully upgraded”
kingmidas8888, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$66* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$72
Orbitz.comUS$72
HotelQuicklyUS$98
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates