We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Medewi Bay Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Medewi Bay Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Medewi Bay Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
South Australia
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

If your looking to get out of the hustle and bustle of Kuta and want to get some well deserved R&R Then this is the place to go! 2.5 hour out of Kuta this property have a little something for everyone's budget! Nice rooms, great Villa with private pool. With a main pool that is fantastic. If your looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide007
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Very peaceful & relaxing place away from the hustle & bustle. The food was lovely & the service was impeccable, especially from the bar staff. Rooms are nice with traditional bali hut ceilings. Ask for a room with a view of the pool.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexbbb
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

So after 3 years I returned to this awesome island of Bali and headed straight for Medewi Bay Retreat. It says a lot about a place when the same staff were still there with their happy big smiles and gentle Balinese hospitality to welcome us... Great resort, friendly people and perfect location for surfers, families or just a group of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 25 June 2016

• Pronounced me-daay-wee • Definitely a retreat! This place is for relaxing and chilling out, not the rush and shop holiday, more pool and barside chill. • Bring snack foods and drinks, etc as there are no shops close. Buy in Kuta or bring from home (which is what we did). There is a little local ‘shop’ over the road....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue D
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Medewi Bay Retreat is a relatively small resort in a desperate need for updating and maintenance. Here is the bad and good: Staff is very friendly and attentive, without their positive attitude this week long stay would been a total disappointment. Rooms – Stayed in a studio unit #7. Room itself is pretty clean, but the the view of a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seen99countries
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Location of the hotel is actually excellent near the beach and far from the city. The staff is friendly but the rooms are poor. The water is either exceedingly hot to bring your skin off or cold there's no adjustment. Bathroom was falling apart and the rooms have lizards running around inside of them

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff B
Percy V, Manager at Medewi Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Jeff B, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our resort. We apologize if you were not happy with your room during your stay. We do have other options for rooms and would have been very happy to relocate you to one that has a different style of bathroom. Your bathroom had a bathtub and...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Super clean and everyone was extremely friendly. This is the kind of place you never want to leave. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle for a more laid back higher end resort try this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin25centstaps
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Quietness, Secluded, Friendly Balinese , Serving You The GUEST via PURE BALI STYLE. Enjoy a fabulous Huge Pool , Food that is Fresh, Diverse Cusine. Accommadation from traditional to modern , complete with tranquil Spa Service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nieff007
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

They have covered all the bases. Best food best service. Clean rooms clean pool. The staff are incredible so friendly and have the best attitude. There always happy and who couldn't be happy being there. The best thing about being there was there was were no Americans. Got along with all the guests.... lots of Aussies and a few brits....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kenzie1313
Avoca Beach, Australia
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We had a wonderful week recently spent here. There was 9 of us, in five rooms with air-conditioning and plenty of room. The bathrooms were all different. The king size beds were very comfy - firm just the way we liked it! All the rooms and suites were close to each other. The pool is magnificent, surrounded by lush and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona L
Percy V, Manager at Medewi Bay Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you very much for once again spending your holiday time with us at Medewi Bay Retreat. Our Drivers normally take maximum 2 and a half hours from the Airport. A tip for our travelers coming to Medewi Bay Retreat and arrive late at the airport is staying one night at our resort in Sanur, Sekuta Condo Suites. We are...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negara
35.1 km away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
724 reviews
3.5 km away
Puri Dajuma Cottages
Puri Dajuma Cottages
#1 of 1 in Pekutatan
320 reviews
2.1 km away
Kelapa Retreat Bali
Kelapa Retreat Bali
#1 of 3 in Pekutatan
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Sea Medewi Resort & Beach Club
38.0 km away
Taman Wana Villas and Spa
34.5 km away
Bali Sunset Hotel
Bali Sunset Hotel
#1 of 3 in Negara
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Medewi Bay Retreat is a 15-minute drive from The Surfing Medewi Beach in Pekutatan, West Bali. Surrounded by mountains, the ocean and coconut plantations, it offers windsurfing opportunities by the beach and a spectacullar outdoor pool. Each studio or villa offers a private balcony/terrace with garden views. Kitchenware, a minibar and tea/coffee-making facilities are provided in the kitchenette/kitchen. Each comes with a living room and dining area. Medewi Bay Retreat is an hour’s drive from West Bali National Park and a 2-hour ride from Denpasar. Ngurah Rai Airport is a 2.5-hour drive away. The Palms Restaurant serves a selection of Western scenic, Indonesian, Balinese, and Indian cuisine. Room service is also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Medewi Bay Retreat

Address: Jl. Ciwa. Br. Pekutatan | Dusun Yeh Kuning, Negara 82929, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Negara
Price Range: $50 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medewi Bay Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Medewi Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medewi Bay Retreat Hotel Negara
Medewi Bay Retreat Bali/Negara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Medewi Bay Retreat staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Medewi Bay Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Arrange you ride out from the airport before arriving. Enjoy the peaceful and friendly staff during your stay.”
 of 5 bubbles kenkS6392IV, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the newer part of the resort”
 of 5 bubbles 226Victoria, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the villa close to the pool. Really nice and spacious.”
  • Studio Villa
 of 5 bubbles ebonyariannel, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pool view rooms (Jepun 1 - 4)”
 of 5 bubbles 646abbeyd, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rose rooms seem to be older. Soca deluxe apartment 3 fine.”
 of 5 bubbles sued391, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5