We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heritance Tea Factory

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heritance Tea Factory
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heritance Tea Factory
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,999: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The road from Nuwara Elia to this hotel is steep, unpaved winding and potholed so it takes about 40 minutes. It is absolutely worth the effort, as the hotel is unique and looks amazing as you approach it. We stayed on the fourth floor facing the front and loved the view and the room. (Be warned that the shower is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corkber
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 2 nights here as part of our trip to take in the cultural sites of Sri Lanka. We were bowled over by the incredible way that they had retained much of the workings of the factory and blended them into the hotel. We had a corner room with amazing views looking over the valley and the tea plantations...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanandDorothy
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel which our agent was keen for us to do as it would provide a totally different experience. All its good points have already been mentioned in previous reviews including overwhelming service from staff, location & food. It is so relaxing to sit in the grounds of the hotel of a morning with such stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago

When you go to Nuwara eliya. don't miss this place. Surely you will be surprise. the view is amazing. welcome is also very nice. it was an old factory witch is converted to a nice hotel. the road to entrance is little bit difficult but once u reach to this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donsurendrajayas2017
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are Seniors travelling from Australia. This establishment is just perfect in every way from our suite, the staff, the meals - all in all a great experience. Lovely lush setting, unfortunately we could spend only one night as we would have liked to stay longer to enjoy the atmosphere and join in some of the arranged visits around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne A
Walmer, Kent
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lots going for this place - mainly location and interesting history. Sadly, the wonderful position and views could not be appreciated due to cloud and rain and staff told us that this is often the case due to its elevated position. We were downgraded to a superior room (due to popularity after booking) which was small, had no air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda M
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your sincere thoughts with us based on your stay at Heritance Tea Factory; however, we are truly saddened to see that you have not received exceptional service during the stay. We have taken your constructive criticism very positively and will incorporate your suggestions wherever possible. Please note that the hotel does not offer...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The conversion of this old tea factory into a hotel with modern amenities is most impressive. Some of the original machinery has been left in place which gives the whole place a most original and quirky aspect. The rooms are on the small side but are comfortable and well appointed. There is a heater which may well be needed during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is nice to see that you all have enjoyed the serene and unique experience offered along with the breathtaking views. We are grateful of your high recommendation. Please pay another visit to us for a longer stay and we assure you some more enjoyable and pleasing experiences. Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Heritance Tea Factory just has it all! From comfortable rooms to fantastic cuisine and excellent service, I would thoroughly recommend this property for complete relaxation. There are so many positives about the hotel be it the efficient check in/ check out, fantastic views and cozy feel of the hotel, you just do not want to leave. This is the ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominic G
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted to see your inspiring review and accept our gratitude for visiting Heritance Tea Factory during your vacation. It is our pleasure to receive the massive positive endorsements as well as the recommendations given. We are eagerly waiting to welcome you and your loved ones at Heritance Tea Factory and please make your plans for...

Hunstanton,Norfolk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely hotel done up to a very high standard. I loved the way they painted what was original different t owhat they had done so that you can see the work that had been pout into the refurbishment. Our room was lovely with great views over the front of the hotel, and equipped with everthing you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farmboy20021
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the courteous service of the staff as well. We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with us when you are back on holiday. Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager,...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The experience of just getting up to the hotel is fun having to decamp from our large coach in to small mini-buses for the 3km ride up the hill. The hotel is fascinating in it's conversion from the old tea factory. Rooms are large enough but you'll pick up noise both from the rooms above and echoes in the building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will_Of_The_North
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted to see your inspiring review and accept our gratitude for visiting Heritance Tea Factory during your vacation. It is our pleasure to receive the positive endorsements as well as the recommendations given. We are eagerly waiting to welcome you and your loved ones at Heritance Tea Factory and please make your plans for a...

2,262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2246)
Viewed
Dining (191)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (693)
Viewed
Room/Suite (230)
Viewed
View from Room (182)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (892)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
7.8 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
1,386 reviews
8.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
1,841 reviews
8.2 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
694 reviews
8.1 km away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
119 reviews
37.1 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#8 of 65 in Kandy
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $347 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritance Tea Factory staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Heritance Tea Factory staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms on the second floor are over the lobby / restaurant, you can hear things going on till about 11pm”
 of 5 bubbles helenmat2016, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just enjoy the whole experience.”
 of 5 bubbles tageen1, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There is a lift”
 of 5 bubbles 695cliffordc, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a premium room with great views.”
 of 5 bubbles IanandDorothy, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on the first floor above the restaurant, as you could be disturbed by the breakfast noises early in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles helensO5258TN, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5