We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heritance Tea Factory

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heritance Tea Factory
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heritance Tea Factory
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,024: English reviews
Belgium
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Although some of the reviewers had different experiences, we at least were underwhelmed with our stay at the Heritance Tea Factory. Pro’s: -British heritance look and feel – for those who are in to it (just outdated for all others) -Great tea service -Extensive breakfast take-away box Con’s: -Outdated property and rooms -Impersonal service level -Room-to-room noise -Small sized rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Borneo2000
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We thank you for having stayed at Heritance Tea Factory and we are really grateful for the feedback and the suggestive comments you have given on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to see that you were delighted with the great tea service and the extensive breakfast take-away box provided by the hotel. We are extremely sorry that you...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 23 September 2015

loved the chilling wind and the scenic surroundings, the out look it self reminded of a tea factory, starting from the ancient lift.. the strawberries were in deed a welcome sight. buffet had a varied selection and the staff were very friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenny366
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, Many thanks for visiting Heritance Tea Factory and choosing it as your favourite holiday destination. We are so glad that you loved the chilling wind and the scenic surroundings. Of course the hotel is a converted tea factory, hence the appearance of a real tea factory. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed the buffet which...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

We arrived at the Heritance Tea Factory after a 4 hour journey through the mountains and tea plantations. We were greeted by staff in colonial uniforms and offered a welcome spiced tea. The hotel is a converted tea factory and as such the architecture and original features are fascinating. Our rooms were very comfortable, the food in the restaurant excellent,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Jeanette, Many thanks for your trust on Heritance Tea Factory as the preferred holiday destination. Indeed this is a converted tea factory and it's our pleasure to see that you find the architecture and original features to be fascinating. Many of our guests are amazed by the staff in colonial uniforms and it is a part of the tea-centric...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015

This is a converted tea factory and the conversion has been well done. The lift is ancient with manual metal gates but the public and private spaces are comfortable and staff friendly and obliging. The food was good and one could choose buffet or a la carte options in the same restaurant. Our la carte curries overwhelmed use with excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robjewl
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Heritance Tea Factory as your favourite holiday destination. We really appreciate your generosity in placing your valuable idea on TripAdvisor. This is indeed a converted tea factory and we are glad that you love the outcome of the transformation. It is nice to hear that the public and private spaces have...

Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

A beautiful and unique way of staying in this area is at the tea factory hotel. It is an old tea factory completely transformed into a top class hotel with the old English feel. The staff is very professional and friendly. You can go out and do a walk through the tea fields and pluck your own at the mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martijn E
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Martijn, Many thanks for staying at Heritance Tea Factory and we really appreciate for your generosity in commenting on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you have found the hotel to be beautiful and unique. Yes, it is an old tea factory completely transformed into a top class hotel. Our mighty staff is always keen to serve our...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

This a well presented property with good service in an isolated location. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. However,To get this view for $US 325 per night at a property in a beautiful area among tea plantations is extremely disappointing. PS We have just lost power, twice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Ian, We thank you very much for selecting Heritance Tea Factory and for the valuable feedback given on TripAdvisor. We really apologize for the inconveniences caused due to the power failures that occur due to the location and the heavy winds. But please be informed that we have a standby generator which comes on within 1-2 minutes of the...

Brisbane
Reviewed 20 September 2015

My first impression from photos was of a large silver factory in the middle of the lush tea plantations so I didn't have great expectations of this property. I am happy to report that the Heritance Tea Factory was one of the best hotels in Sri Lanka. The factory has been transformed into one of the best hotels I've ever...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Avagoodholiday
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Heritance Tea Factory during your vacation and we are so delighted by your lovely recommendation as one of the best hotels in Sri Lanka. Yes it is indeed one of the unique hotels you can find in Sri Lanka which provides you a good compilation of unforgettable experiences. Thank you very...

Clanfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015

One of my favourite hotels anywhere in the world. The setting is magnificent right in the heart of the beautiful Sri Lankan Hill country with views of immaculately tended tea gardens in every direction. The old tea factory has been lovingly renovated and the rooms - whilst not large - are comfortable and contain all the necessities you need. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy S
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Andy, We are delighted to see your lovely review on Heritance Tea Factory and we are grateful for your generosity in naming us as one of your favourite hotels. Of course we always try to make sure that the facilities and accommodation offered are comfortable and contain all the necessities you need. Many a guest do not hesitate to...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

After a tedious road trip to the hotel the traditional Tea estate Hindu welcome set the mood for a very enjoyable stay. Were very impressed with the professionalism and the friendly atmosphere of the staff who welcomed us. The rooms were very clean and well presented, the room boy Pathmaraja always had an elephant or a monkey made up with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lalsen2015
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for staying at Heritance Tea Factory and we really appreciate for your generosity in commenting on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you have found the hotel to be beautiful and unique. Our mighty staff is always keen to serve our guests to exceed their expectations and we are happy to see your comments...

Reviewed 16 September 2015

This establishment is a surprising gem! The well appointed rooms look out on Sri Lankan tea country and a local village. The staff team were helpful and friendly and the dinning experience excellent. We only booked for one night which was a pity. We would recommend at least two night so the full tea factory can be appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Bob, Thank you very much for visiting Heritance Tea Factory during your vacation. Yes it is indeed one of the unique hotels you can find in Sri Lanka which provides you a good compilation of unforgettable experiences. Thank you very much for your appreciations on the services offered and we are pleased to see that you have become fond...

2,284 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2268)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (698)
Viewed
Dining (192)
Viewed
View from Room (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (230)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (907)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
7.8 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
1,415 reviews
8.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
1,888 reviews
8.2 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
716 reviews
8.1 km away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
130 reviews
37.1 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $304 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritance Tea Factory staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Heritance Tea Factory staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to the railway carriage for a meal”
 of 5 bubbles DebWestfield, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ALl are fine I think, though none seem THAT large.”
 of 5 bubbles johngM9975JU, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the main building are good but the baths have a step up to get into them. There is a grab rail but there is no separate shower.”
 of 5 bubbles Goodgirl53, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for room over looking the tea plantation for the best views”
 of 5 bubbles iV0yager, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Panoramic views have great views”
 of 5 bubbles GregG333333, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5