We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lafitte Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lafitte Guest House
Lafitte Guest House
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

563 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lafitte Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 557: English reviews
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Broken ceiling fan/hair dryer & cable wires all over the floor. Mini TV had no remote & staff had no replacement. Bed sheets were stained with food. Manager/Adam would not return calls&failed to help.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank SPOverfelt
LafittGuesthouse, Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review

Hello, I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to issues we surely would have liked to have remedied during your visit. Please know that we have taken serious considerations of your review and have undergone measures to ensure that these issues will not resurface. Should you visit again we look forward...

Ontario's Near North, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Stayed July 8-15 2015 in room 22. Great room size with 2 generous size closets and an armoire. Sliding window to private balcony that has a table and 2 chairs was really cool. Air conditioning was good since it was scorching that week. Fridge in room was extra cold. The bed was super comfortable. Balcony faces Lafitte Blacksmith Bar but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iknbrgr
LafittGuesthouse, Guest Relations Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review

Thank your great review! Room 22 is one of my favorite rooms as well. I too, especially enjoy the private balcony, and watching all the people enjoying Bourbon St. We hope you stay with us again on your next visit to New Orleans. Sincerely, Lafitte Guest House and Gallery

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Well, let's start with the positive.....this location is great. It's just at one end of the really busy section of Bourbon Street. Right across the street is Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop (Great Hurricanes but VERY strong). The house is pretty and our room was just fine. The linens were nice, the mattress comfortable. The desk employees were helpful in recommending restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Galadina
LafittGuesthouse, Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have fixed the a/c since then. We apologize about the misunderstanding about our parking policy, and we hope to see you again!

Montgomery, Texas
Reviewed 24 July 2015

The rooms are spacious and the staff friendly. The location can not be beat for being close to everything in the French Quarter, yet out of the loud crazy noise zone. Free continental breakfast. There are both private and community balconies. The James and Doziers June July 22 and 23rd

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim Susan D
LafittGuesthouse, Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We hope you stay with us again in the near future. Sincerely, Lafitte Guest House and Gallery

Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

The rooms are gorgeous, it was full of art and the room has a very homey, calm feel to it. The patio area seemed nice to sit and just relax. Also I love all of the art work everywhere, it is in the hallways, in the rooms and downstairs area. The location is very convenient to walk down to bourbon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
LafittGuesthouse, Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review

We love our local artwork in our rooms! Thank you for the great review! Come stay with us again! Sincerely, Lafitte Guest House and Gallery

Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

My husband and I don't plan on staying there again nor recommend anyone else stay there either. However we do have the following funny memories of our stay there: 1. The gentleman at the front desk was ever so kind but a bit odd as if hospitality isn't really his forte. 2. As we walked thru the hallway & attempted...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LMPu
LafittGuesthouse, Guest Relations Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review

LMPu We apologize your stay wasn't as good as you would have liked. However, happy you found the stay comical, and we'll see about the birds making noise for your next stay. We hope you stay with us again in the near future. Sincerely, Lafitte Guest House and Gallery

Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 14 July 2015

This is a great little hotel , very conveniently located between, Frenchman street, bourbon street , and the farmers market. the staff was so nice and always willing to help. nice retreat after a night or day of parting, because is quiet, clean and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating, my thanks to Billie and George

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedroofluquillo
LafittGuesthouse, Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you had a great stay! We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, George Kouniaris

Port Barre, Louisiana
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

My fiancé and I booked this at the last minute for a great price of $160 for a Friday night trip. We called the hotel after booking and were told that our room would be ready and that we could check in early, awesome! We arrived around 1pm to find the front desk clerk, George, very friendly and helpful. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tim O
LafittGuesthouse, Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lafitte Guest House and Gallery! We would love to help you find a balcony room on your next stay! Sincerely, George Kouniaris

Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Check-in was fast and easy, the staff was very friendly and answered all our questions! Everyone was very friendly and helpful throughout the stay... Room #31 was great, had the balcony on Bourbon, clean and spacious!! This room also has the 2nd bedroom with queen bed. Only downfall was small bathroom, but an easy trade-off for the history in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matt D
LafittGuesthouse, Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed room 31!~ Sincerely, Lafitte Guest House and Gallery

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Beautiful place right on Bourbon Street, but still quiet and secluded enough to relax. I stayed with my son and his girlfriend. We loved sipping our coffee in the courtyard, or on the balcony off of the kitchen in the mornings.The staff was very gracious and helpful. I don't think I'll ever stay anywhere else!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy P
LafittGuesthouse, Manager at Lafitte Guest House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lafitte Guest House and Gallery! We hope to see you again! Sincerely, Lafitte Guest House and Gallery

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (169)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Balcony Room (28)
Viewed
Double Queen Attic Room (32)
Viewed
Standard King Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
399 reviews
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#32 of 161 in New Orleans
555 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#44 of 161 in New Orleans
904 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#88 of 161 in New Orleans
479 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With 19th Century roots this fourteen room mansion and gallery was originally the private home of the Galiese Family. Now, over a hundred years later we're dedicated to providing the best boutique hotel experience in New Orleans. We're located in the residential area of Bourbon Street & the French Quarter. Guests enjoy both the sights and sounds of Bourbon Street as well as a retreat into their own personal French Quarter home. With 14 expertly appointed guest rooms, balconies overlooking Bourbon Street, and a gorgeous and serene courtyard, Lafitte Guest House is the perfect place for friends to gather, travelers to rest, adventurers to explore any time of year and any day of the week. Rooms are spacious and uniquely decorated with antiques and reproduction art from around the world. Staying with us is like staying in a private French Quarter residence. Look no further for the greatest escape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lafitte Guest House

Address: 1003 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2707
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: $259 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafitte Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lafitte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafitte Guest House Hotel New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lafitte Guest House staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Lafitte Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great stay. We arrive and our room had been rented. Owner quickly spoke to front desk and asked what happened. Then took us across the street and showed us a townhouse he was putting us in for the same price we had. Very nice and professional! This could have been a bad situation but their quick response made it great! ”
ShirrieH, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a balcony!! Some people complained of noise/light all night, but I heard nothing (our room was on the south side). .”
lerzen, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The attic room is large. Ceilings are low in places.”
kimwK8487HI, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for room 25.”
daniejcarr, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for a Mansion room! treat yourself”
Livu, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5