We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Avalon Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expert photos
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 147: English reviews
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Upon check-in the Glayds was really Rude after me asking what if I didnt like the cleanliness of room. Here response "Well the room is already paid for so. You can check out & get another hotel. I thought is she serious; this is essence where am i gonna find another hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sayoung1
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

My apologies for the interaction you had with Glady's. This is not the type of service that we expect from our staff, and we can assure that this is not the type of service we expect for our guests.

Silt, Colorado
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

This place has the potential of being decent, but it's not. You can tell it was once a nicer hotel. Common areas were dirty and needed some updating. The pool had way too much chlorine and was cloudy/greasy from too many guests with hair product. Nothing like the front office lady telling you about the drug running, violence and insecure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngHasch
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel staff was rude as soon as we go there. When we got into our room it smelled like a wet attic and our beds were damp. There was black mold on the ceiling and a BUGS!!! They did have free breakfast so that was probably the only plussl side to the stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billyguffey127g
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel. I apologize for the situation as you mentioned and would like to get more specifics regarding your stay. Please contact me at avalon@bnmanagementco.com.

Lafayette, LA
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Check-In was quick and easy and staff was friendly and helpful. Thirty minutes after we checked out, we realized we had left 2-shirts in the closet. We returned to the Hotel and they allowed us to get our stuff with no problem. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Babineaux4
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel. We know that you have many choices to choose from and we always appreciate hearing from our guests on how well we serve them. I am glad that we were able to assist with the shirts and we hope to see you on your...

Atlanta
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Front desk awful. Stayed 2nd night w/o reservation. Charged me $20 more because I did not have reservation. No turndown or linen change for the additional $20. Whatever rating they have will surely and deservedly go down u

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rbod
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel. I apologize for the issues as you mentioned and ask that you contact me at avalon@bnmanagementco.com to find out additional details regarding your stay.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Booked a reservation through a 3rd party prior to arrival. When I arrived at hotel they couldn't seem to find the reservation and then when they finally located the reservation, they claimed it could not be honored because my arrival was late. I left the hotel to call the 3rd party company that I had booked through because I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cassandraroby
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel. We know that you have many choices to choose from and we always appreciate hearing from our guests on how well we serve them. I apologize for the situation as you mentioned and I ask that you contact me at avalon@bnmanagementco.com with information as...

Humble, Texas
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We stayed in a double room with three people. During our 3 day - 2 night stay, our room was never cleaned, my husband had to retrieve towels from a cart as we walked down the hallway and the phone in the room did not work! We reported the issue(s) to the front desk and was informed they would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dajohnson2016
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel. We know that you have many choices to choose from while in the area and apologize for the service that you received during your stay. There is no excuse for the issues you described and as the new General Manager of the property, I...

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night. The hotel is located next to the interstate but the room was quiet. Breakfast was very good. However, they did run out of coffee. The juice machine was not labeled so there seemed to be a lot of wasted juice in the drain pan. I think that would drive your food cost up. I watched the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beekeeper49
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New Orleans. We know that you have many choices to choose from and we always appreciate hearing from our guests how well we serve them while we us. I apologize for the conditions you mentioned and assure you that these are being addre with...

Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

When we arrived, the bathrooms in the lobby smelled like pot. (Not really a big deal) So I told my family they can wait until we get into our room. When we get up to our room and opened the door we see towels on the bed and the floor, TV was on, condom wrapper on the floor and both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pj E
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. As the new General Manager of the property I apologize for the issues you mentioned. There is no excuse for the condition of the room you were provided and I will address this with the staff. I...

Pensacola, Florida
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival there is no signage to show they have changed to the Avalon from the clarion. I walk inside and ask the receptionist, naureen (probably misspelled), if this was the clarion? Rudely and promptly replied"we are the Avalon". After establishing we were in the right place I attempted to check in. There was a confusion in the reservation and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
Thomas F, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New Orleans. We always appreciate hearing from our guests how well we served them while with us. There is no excuse for the way you were treated, or for the condition of the room. As the new General Manager of the property, I apologize...

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (185)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Breakfast Area (12)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (25)
Viewed
King Room (25)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Suite (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#108 of 161 in New Orleans
131 reviews
Best Way Inn & Suites
#143 of 161 in New Orleans
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#98 of 161 in New Orleans
218 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Sleep Inn
#14 of 22 in Slidell
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 10100 I-10 Service Rd, New Orleans, LA 70127-2746 (Formerly Clarion Inn)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Price Range: $105 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avalon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Avalon Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avalon Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Avalon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Highest floor, away from elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles dajohnson2016, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms were clean”
 of 5 bubbles 229sheaj, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Inspect for stains first”
 of 5 bubbles 251lancem, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The 8th Floor”
 of 5 bubbles demichaelo, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Keep driving”
 of 5 bubbles catmomma4332016, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay