We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Degas House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Degas House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Degas House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We were there for a wedding. From the event viewpoint, it was fabulous. The staff & especially wedding coordinator Flora were great. They were helpful, attentive, and accommodating. They staged a beautiful wedding. From the lodging standpoint, it left a lot to be desired. Though the building is historic and charming, it is sorely in need of repairs and maintenance....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wLLb
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your kind remarks about the wedding you attended at Degas House. We have won many awards for our weddings, including 4 years in a row from The Knot and Couples Choice Award from Wedding Wire. What you could not know is that we are in the process of renovating the home itself. Much...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

The history of this house is very interesting. I highly recommend doing the tour if you stay here. The house and rooms are very nice. We stayed for two nights and there were weddings both nights. The breakfast was tasty. The only negative thing I can say is we were kind of on our own the 2 days we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhonda B
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing Degas House for your stay in New Orleans. Thank you also for recommending the tour which, as you know, is complimentary with your stay. We apologize for the lack of interaction with you during your stay. As you noted, we had 2 weddings that weekend and our staff was stretched very thin....

Dallas
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

These people are great owners. .very accommodating. Incredible old world rooms filled with antiques,and art. Some Degas. Brandy in room! Scrumptious breakfast before your stroll to the New Orleans museums..it down to the market. Street parking difficult, but use a cab! Nice parlor with old grand piano. Meet artsy people at breakfast from all over the world.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PM M
degashouse, Owner at Degas House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Obviously you appreciate and understand what Degas House is – a unique B&B dedicated to the legacy of Edgar Degas, filled with art and antiques. And sherry in the rooms! We know that our breakfasts are delicious and filling, and the chance to meet people is one of the delights of staying in a...

Potomac, Maryland
Reviewed 12 July 2015

The rooms were in bad conditions & muggy Kitchen is in a very bad heygene We went there for a wedding, otherwise we would have changed Hotels!! Bathroom's faucet was hardly working. Over priced !!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank maryam z
degashouse, Owner at Degas House, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Degas House. Unfortunately, you did not inform us at the time you were here of the “bad conditions” you felt were in your room so that we could attempt to resolve them. We do not know which kitchen you are referring to as we have more than one. Our...

St. Francisville, LA
Reviewed 27 June 2015

A lovely historic house with lots of character in a great location convenient to everything. Esplanade has overarching oaks and fabulous architectural variety, and it's easy to get to City Park and the New Orleans Museum of Art, or the Vieux Carre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank butler
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of Degas House and the surrounding area. We appreciate your appreciating our history and the beauty of the neighborhood, as well as the convenient location to sites that visitors like to see. We hope you will return to stay with us on your next trip to New Orleans.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We spent five nights at the Degas House for my sister's wedding in mid-June. My husband, nor myself, have ever stayed at a b/b, so we were a bit unsure what to think... Pros: -The breakfast is top notch. The bananas-foster french toast is to die for and the service was always great. We enjoy talking with the younger girl...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia P
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Degas House. Since it was your first B&B experience, we realize you have nothing to compare us to, but we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your compliments on our breakfast, grounds and staff and that you recognize and appreciate our history. We apologize that you were uncomfortable on...

Reviewed 11 June 2015

We spent the first days of our marriage in New Orleans, in the Estelle Suite, at the Degas House. We chose the Estelle Suite for its gallery overlooking Esplanade Avenue. We've since heard it described as a magical place, and it certainly was so for us. Time seems to move slowly there; even the sun rises more languorously, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Richard D
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for choosing Degas House for your honeymoon. We are glad that you stayed in the Estelle Suite, as that beautiful room is typically used as the honeymoon suite. The Estelle balcony is spectacular and gives our guests a true experience for this particular part of New Orleans, away from the noise and...

Dallas-Ft. Worth, TX
Reviewed 8 June 2015

My wife and I stayed at Degas House in the Mathilde Suite with one friend of ours which is located in Degas II (second building next to Degas I but also facing the street) and had a fantastic time. The suite itself has two rooms that could accommodate up to four people in my opinion, one with a king size...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank NTirish79
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

Wow! What an amazing review and what a delight it was to share this with our owner and staff! Thank you for choosing Degas House for your stay in New Orleans and writing this review. It is obvious that you appreciated the history of the home and what it represents as being the only home or studio of Edgar Degas...

Reviewed 25 April 2015

My wife and I pre-paid and booked one of the suites for a week, beginning on Easter Sunday. We arrived in town earlier than expected so went straight to the B&B. We were informed (by a service worker) that the room wasn't ready yet, and to come back after 2:30. So we went into town and came back later. When...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Rick S
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

We apologize that you could not get into your room early on Easter Sunday. Check-in time is 3:00 pm but you must have arrived early. Also, your check-in followed a very busy holiday weekend. Perhaps you are not familiar with staying in a B&B. Ours, like the majority of B&Bs, only have a few rooms and do not provide concierge...

Langley City, Canada
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Don't be fooled when you book a room at the Degas house. To begin, when arrived at the Degas house and entered our room they didn't even bother to turn on the air conditioner in advance so it wouldn't be an oven when we arrived which they new of our arrival time in advance. There are no windows on the...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Monique J
degashouse, Social Media Director at Degas House, responded to this review

We apologize that the air conditioner was inadvertently not turned on prior to your arrival. It was cool in the morning when your room was checked. Unfortunately, we are sorry that you did not read the literature on our rooms which explains that the third floor is a garret (attic) which has sloping ceilings and there are no windows. In...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 139 in New Orleans
302 reviews
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#22 of 139 in New Orleans
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 139 in New Orleans
422 reviews
Canal Street Inn
#15 of 139 in New Orleans
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Treme

Neighbourhood Profile
Treme
That sound? That flavor? That certain je ne sais quoi that lets you known you’re in “Nawlins” and nowhere else? It’s all good and in broad abundance on the streets of Tremé, where so much of what’s considered to be the very best of New Orleans culture and tradition is, put simply, just how people go about their daily lives in this historic part of town. As one of America’s oldest African-American neighborhoods and among the nation’s first established residential areas for free people of color, Tremé’s significant heritage and contribution cannot be understated. This is especially the case when considering some of Tremé’s most famous residents, most notably jazz great Louis Armstrong. For full flavored food, funky and jazzed up music, and vibrant street life presented with homegrown pride, you can’t beat a visit to Tremé.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Degas House is the celebrated only remaining home of the French Impressionist Master Edgar Degas that is open to the public in the world. Degas House has been recognized by the French Minister of Culture, through the French National Order of Arts and Letters. Today, the home serves as a Museum House with guided tours, Bed and Breakfast, wedding/reception venue and for corporate functions. Degas House is also home of the Degas Foundation, whose educational mission includes serving as a cultural resource center to the public. Degas House is licensed, insured and inspected. We are in our 19th year of business and provide the security you and your family desire during your vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Degas House

Address: 2306 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70119
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Price Range: $194 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Degas House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Degas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Degas House Hotel New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Degas House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We avoided the garret rooms because of warnings about the AC. Might have been OK at another time of the year, but not in June.”
 of 5 bubbles echoriath, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the 3rd floor were in bad shape The beds are all old. Cock roaches every where even in the freezer & the fridge!!! This place needs just more renovations & for the price that we paid , it was way way too much ! I would not recommend it at all. Being old & historical is right but mean while can be clean & worthy of stay!!”
 of 5 bubbles maryamz_11, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Third-floor garrets are windowless with lots of steep stairs to climb; only for the young and agile!”
 of 5 bubbles butler, 27 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a street view room, you will not be disappointed!!”
 of 5 bubbles NTirish79, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Wish there was, but as far as I could tell, there were no "good" rooms. We booked a pricey suite but left before spending a single night!”
  • Main light switch as you enter the room, missing paint and paint cracked
  • More bad paint.
  • This is from inside the bathroom looking out to the second bedroom. The trim was disgusting!
  • Bathroom sink pulling off the wall, mold. Gross.
 of 5 bubbles 836ricks, 25 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5