We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rathbone Mansions

2.4 km from New Orleans centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
1244 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rathbone Mansions
See the most recent reviews
Showing 346: English reviews
Ohio
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Never having stayed at a bed and breakfast before, I was unsure what to expect. All concerns were dropped as soon as we walked in the front door. Pat, our lovely inkeeper, greeted us with fresh coffee and breakfast as we finished up our paperwork - she had even given us a free upgrade for our room! Every morning consisted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindsay q
Currumbin, Australia
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We booked this accommodation through book it.com at a very reasonable price, the size of our room was impressive. Being from Australia and not having homes like this was a thrill. Loved the grandeur of the mansion. We were on the third floor and being an old home it does have its quirks like creaking floor boards and apparently a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oceanblue_13
Dubois, Wyoming
Reviewed 6 June 2013

we are in the service industry and this was our Spring off season vacation.. we truly enjoyed our stay at the mansions.. It was exactly as we expected..A cool old house conveniently located walking distance to the quarter and lots of public transportation available. We stayed in NOLA for 8 days 4 days on quarter side and 4 days Uptown/Magazine...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hotlittlechef
Niles, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Ok so we've only been here a few hours but I had to post right now because I'm so impressed, excited, thrilled and in love with the room and the service. First of all we arrived at 11:30am even thought check in wasn't until 3pm and we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom VIP room with not one but TWO...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janine H
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week this May for our honeymoon. We really liked the location of this B and B. It was an easy walk to any place in the French Quarter. If you don't want to walk, cabs and buses continually come by. The breakfast was very nice with excellent coffee and homemade items. Our room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy2500
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Rathbone Mansions. It was a unique, quaint and fun! Much better than staying at a normal hotel. If we weren't moving to new Orleans we would definitely stay again! Also, the breakfast was awesome and even though I am vegan I found plenty to eat. We also enjoyed the pool area and hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We really liked the breakfasts, the coffee (!! we now buy Community Coffee on line since we fell in love with it here), the location, and the price. Pat was a great hostess and the ladies cooking up special breakfasts did a fabulous job. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miriam W
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Rathbone mansion II ( Number 1244 ( room # 3) and its definitely a place to avoid . The room was dingy to say the least. This room is to the extreme end of the mansion and a narrow ,dim lit corridor leads to it. The room is tiny, dark with a strange...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank misha1511
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this review

Well you know what they say "You can't please everyone", this is one of those times, sorry to say. I always say you get what you give, my staff is Awesome and so is breakfast so to say I disagree with you is CORRECT. You did mention you never complained, so why NOW, when I can't do anything about it,...

Westport, Connecticut
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was able to get a room here last minute during New Orleans Jazz Fest. From the pictures, I thought I was getting a tiny room, and was pleasantly surprised to get a spacious and charming room in the main building. Another surprise was the fabulous fresh breakfast. Besides the standards, there was something special every morning, casserole, omelets, fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ida1836
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. Sorry you did not like my Christmas lights as you call them, they are not Christmas lights just green light bulbs, they come in lots of different colors now, I assure you we do not leave our Christmas lights up. You are the Very First to complain about them, I got a little laugh when...

Reviewed 18 May 2013

This gorgeous place is certainly a retreat right in the city of New Orleans... it is amazing to have the calm to retire to right around the corner from the hopping Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter. Your day will be complete. The hospitality of the staff is unparalleld. For the cost, you will get way more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlikLynnLyleKitzler
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice review, I remember you because you were lovely guests, hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Pat

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 139 in New Orleans
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 139 in New Orleans
730 reviews
Canal Street Inn
#16 of 139 in New Orleans
177 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 139 in New Orleans
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Treme

Neighbourhood Profile
Treme
That sound? That flavor? That certain je ne sais quoi that lets you known you’re in “Nawlins” and nowhere else? It’s all good and in broad abundance on the streets of Tremé, where so much of what’s considered to be the very best of New Orleans culture and tradition is, put simply, just how people go about their daily lives in this historic part of town. As one of America’s oldest African-American neighborhoods and among the nation’s first established residential areas for free people of color, Tremé’s significant heritage and contribution cannot be understated. This is especially the case when considering some of Tremé’s most famous residents, most notably jazz great Louis Armstrong. For full flavored food, funky and jazzed up music, and vibrant street life presented with homegrown pride, you can’t beat a visit to Tremé.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Historic Rathbone Bed & Breakfast Inn is steps away from the French Quarter, where the cuisine, sights and sounds are part of New Orleans' unique culture. Our Guest House is a lovingly restored antebellum mansion, offering warm southern hospitality and authentic New Orleans atmosphere. Located on beautiful Esplanade Avenue, amongst the ancient Spanish oak trees and 19th-century Creole mansions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rathbone Mansions

Address: 1244 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Price Range: $193 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rathbone Mansions 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rathbone Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Mansions Hotel New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rathbone Mansions staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rathbone Mansions staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 was quiet, but mattress had seen better days.”
 of 5 bubbles DarleneV841, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A room in a different hotel is your best bet.”
  • TV cords hanging from the wall
  • Kinda broken stuff
  • Mold all over the air conditioner - coming into your room?
  • Unidentified holes in the wall
  • The banister that is totally broken
  • The phone that doesn't do anything
 of 5 bubbles sekelley, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There wasn't anyone to check us in when we got there. But checkin / building access instructions are easy to follow.”
  • Living room in Mardis Gras suite.
  • Kitchen in Mardis Gras suite.
  • Mardis Gras suite.
 of 5 bubbles PghJared, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in 1244 is where breakfast is served and the pool is but they are much smaller than the other building.”
  • Deluxe Queen
 of 5 bubbles D4084YTpatricial, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“need a queen suite for any room to maneuver at all”
 of 5 bubbles ellanp0211, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5