We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Empress Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Empress Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 236: English reviews
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Here's the deal a lot of people like to only see the negative of any & everything. Their is a lot of positive & up's about this hotel. 1st off it is 2 me a hidden treasure. It is located in the Treme area of the city, which is also the area known 4 it's second lines. The neighborhood is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LoveLife0924
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this positive review. It is true that we kept our doors open during Hurricane Issac, and maintained all of our reservations during that time. It is not our desire to put people out on the street during such a time. We feel as if our guests are our family..part of having a small business. We still have...

Reviewed 29 March 2013

I've seen jail cells nicer than this place. The walls look like someone got shot in the room hours before it happened...dirty sheets no tv NO REFUND. I'm even going out of my way to review this bad hotel on other sites. They will never go out of business due to the high volume of hookers in the area. One...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Spacy504
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you weren't happy with your stay. We do not put up with prostitution of any kind. All of our rooms have a television. If there is any issue you only have to alert the clerk and they will accommodate you.

surrey
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed here for one night at the beginning of March 2013. Well, I say a night – I arrived at 1am and left at 7am. I just couldn't stand another minute in the tiny scuzzy room that stank of stale smoke, had dubious stains on the sheets and a very undulating floor. I had no choice but to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mershall
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Our hotel is very small, and we are glad that we were able to accommodate you for your stay. I'm sorry the clerk didn't get you whatever you needed to be happy with the room.

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 25 March 2013

the room was extremely small with the smell of smoke in the air,walls, bed and bathroom. The bathroom was dark and dirty and looked like it had not been upgraded since the 1980's. It was a room where you ask yourself "is there a camera in here?". Overall the staff was nice but the hotel was shady. There is only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bob s
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review

We have never failed a health inspection. Our rooms are small, but clean. We do not have hourly rates. We request that guests drop their key because we do not use electronic keys, but actual keys. By dropping your key we ensure that it is not lost and we do not have to change a lock in the middle of...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is a NO star hotel. Most fo the people who stay there actually live there. It's that kind of place. The rooms are small and some are better than others, the first room we got had dirty sheets and the sink would not drain, they gave us another room and it was surprisingly nicer and bigger. Don't get your...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anna S
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review

We use actual keys, and we don't want a guest to have to wait for us to change a lock. The "drop key" system is convenient and easy and you don't have to worry about losing keys. We are glad that you let the clerk know of your issue with the room and that they were given a chance to...

Edgewater, Florida
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I booked before Hurricane Sandy- after the airports were closed. I was unable to contact the hotel. When I finally contacted the next week, they told me they were without power. They refused to refund any money or give me a credit. I contacted Better Business Bureau and they refused to respond to them. I should have read the reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Darlene W
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review

There is a generous cancellation policy in place on all reservations. We only ask that both parties abide by what they agree to abide by when booking (or setting up booking). Unfortunately the Empress Hotel can not predict acts of God. Louisiana has hurricanes, California earthquakes, etc etc. We also can not control Entergy, our city power company (although trust,...

Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Arrive after dark, need a key to get through the door. Desk clerk looks like Milky from Me, Myself and Irene... wearing a white apron... behind a glass wall. When you go into the room, the bed might as well be on the floor, with a 1980s comforter, and one pillow. NO BOX SPRING, just mattress sitting on the frame....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chance G
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a bad experience at our hotel. It is a one star economy Euro-style hotel...not a four star hotel. That being said, it's small, clean, and great for the price.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 11 January 2013

ok..i see all the bad reviews here.now i stayed here for a week in march,1 night in dec,and 3 nights during jan.for the bad review people let me explain this.hotels in new orleans are $200-300 a night,this place is $55.let me tell you what to expect the rooms are small and not super clean,drunks/bar people,some less fortunate people walking around...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank dennis t
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. We look forward to hosting you again. We love our neighborhood and our guests, and are glad you enjoyed yourself.

Somerset
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Simple backpackers room with small bathroom. That’s it. No more. Coffee is provided in the morning... The whole place is barely surface clean. The décor was predictably shabby, off white, chipped corners & grime. Bed had a roll-together mattress. There were odd & unidentifiable stains on the linen bedframe & the sack-cloth base had been torn at sometime. A rug...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fred0976
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review

We are absolutely the best deal in town for the area. We are happy you stayed with us. Thank you!

Bath
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This was much better than I was expecting having read some of the reviews online! Staff here were cool, really helpful and laid back guys/girls. Location is excellent, I liked this area a lot, about 7(?) or more blocks south on Ursulines you've got the Croissant D'or patisserie for breakfast - fantastic! My only complaints are that my room smelled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BathJack
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you loved the location! Hope you stay with us again :) Thank you!

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (63)
Viewed
East Facing Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Viewed
West Facing Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#106 of 162 in New Orleans
115 reviews
Historic Streetcar Inn
#134 of 162 in New Orleans
490 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#94 of 162 in New Orleans
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#101 of 162 in New Orleans
310 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel 504
Hotel 504
#115 of 162 in New Orleans
301 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#103 of 162 in New Orleans
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Treme

Neighbourhood Profile
Treme
That sound? That flavor? That certain je ne sais quoi that lets you known you’re in “Nawlins” and nowhere else? It’s all good and in broad abundance on the streets of Tremé, where so much of what’s considered to be the very best of New Orleans culture and tradition is, put simply, just how people go about their daily lives in this historic part of town. As one of America’s oldest African-American neighborhoods and among the nation’s first established residential areas for free people of color, Tremé’s significant heritage and contribution cannot be understated. This is especially the case when considering some of Tremé’s most famous residents, most notably jazz great Louis Armstrong. For full flavored food, funky and jazzed up music, and vibrant street life presented with homegrown pride, you can’t beat a visit to Tremé.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Address: 1317 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Price Range: $119 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Empress Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel New Orleans
Empress New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Empress Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Empress Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make a reservation”
 of 5 bubbles sandraestevez600, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“any room there is worth the deal you are getting”
 of 5 bubbles U6984JVrebeccam, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just never stay here; there ARE no good rooms.”
  • Not one shelf to put anything on. No hooks to hang anything up.
  • No surfaces to put anything on except the chair.
  • This speaks for itself. Disgusting.
  • The TV was so tiny, you couldn't see it from the bed, which was the only place to be.
  • Where the bed bugs live. Horrible, horrible.
 of 5 bubbles TucsonConnie43, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No elevators to the 2nd floor”
 of 5 bubbles sweetheart2u, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“It seemed like most of the party's were on the bottom floor.”
 of 5 bubbles gg1229471, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5