We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gentry House

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gentry House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 88: English reviews
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Hot off the plane from the best trip yet to New Orleans. We stayed once again at the Gentry House on St. Ann. Brian and Charlotte where at the gate to meet us with amazing smiles and warm hospitality. It’s like coming home from a long trip and feeling welcome even though you’ve just arrived as a guest. Everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christey O
Miami, FL
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This B&B is in a great central location, close to all the touristy stuff yet in a peaceful area, not too much noise. The parking situation however is not the best. At. all. You have to park blocks away from the B&B because there are only 2hr parking spaces in front of the the room. So unloading and loading the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DIORLOU
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Four of us stayed in Saint Louis apartment and the place could even fit more, at least one person or a couple (we were two couples staying there so one bed was empty). Brian and Charlotte both welcomed us as soon as we got there, showed us around. We were pleasantly surprised how spacious it is and everything looked much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anam_vu
Largo, Florida
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My three friends and I stayed in the St. Louis room this past weekend (8/2/13-8/5/13) and I have to say, the experience was amazing! You can't beat the price for the location (just blocks from Bourbon St!), plus you get a fully-functional kitchen and delicious croissants delivered every morning. I would HIGHLY recommend this for anyone traveling to NOLA in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 63jessicaa
Bowling Green, KY, United States
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed in the Toulouse #3 apartment and found it changed the entire NOLA experience for us. It felt as if we actually were living in the Quarter. The owners were perfectly lovely and helpful and even brought breakfast pastries each morning. The Toulouse apartment is cozy, but you must be able to negotiate the steps to get into it....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jack M
Fountain Valley, California
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at The Gentry House July 5 - July 10 2013. It was perfect location. We stayed in the largest of the rooms - The St. Ann - It was roomy and the temperature of the rooms was excellent. The croissants each morning was lovely. My only complaint is the beds were not very comfortable. The queen bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KellyLininger
GentryHouse, Owner at Gentry House, responded to this review

We really enjoyed having them as guests, and the opportunity to share with them our enthusiasm for New Orleans ... even in July. We sure wish that one mattress would do for all ... we chose "hard" because that's what most seem to find most comfortable (at least judging from the comments we get), and because it's what we use...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 29 June 2013

It was cozy, in the perfect location, and it felt like old New Orleans! Loved the fresh croissants in the morning, and the little courtyard. It was in walking distance of everything in the French Quarter. I loved it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lcjeffery
St. Paul, MN
Reviewed 22 June 2013

It was several years ago now that a group of us rented this place (TripAdvisor won't allow me to choose a date that's more than a year in the past..but it was more like 3 years ago.) We felt at home and really enjoyed our entire stay. Great location. Great price. Great croissants in the morning. A lovely courtyard. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grinchers
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Visited New Orleans for the first time, and stayed at the Gentry House so we could be in the French Quarter. Brian was a wonderful host with many tips and of course hot croissants in the morning. Courtyard is attractive and staying in a 150+ year old building was great. If you are driving you will have to park a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margot S
New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I managed to get a reservation here during a fairly busy week when most other places seemed booked up for a holiday and several conferences. I'm so glad I came! My boyfriend and I stayed in both the Toulouse and the St. Louis suites, which are almost identical. The price is quite reasonable compared to some other hotels and B&Bs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank threestudies

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#37 of 162 in New Orleans
520 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#63 of 162 in New Orleans
1,448 reviews
French Quarter
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
#137 of 162 in New Orleans
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#122 of 162 in New Orleans
290 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
603 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Gentry House

Address: 1031 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gentry House Hotel New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gentry House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Gentry House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to the gated area of the address; we rang the doorbell of the facility next door by accident!”
topshelfmischief, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“No need for transportation. Owers happy to setup tours and/or cabs.”
jevette, 27 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The St louis has one one AC that cools the entire unit so keep the bedroom doors open to cool off the room.”
BonieryB, 13 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Just take a look on their website and ask them if you have any questions. Toulouse sleeps up to six but only has 1 bedroom, so it's good for families/good friends. It was nice that it's on the top floor too.”
N5968LPsarahs, 17 Mar 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the #2 apt and it could sleep up to 5 or even 6. Just remember there is only 1 bathroom.”
janiceAlberta, 9 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5