We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prytania Oaks Hotel

Traveller (91)
Room & Suite (29)
Traveller (91)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (6)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Meeting Rooms
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
96
94
33
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
96
94
33
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden district french quarter high ceilings hardwood floors streetcar stop within easy walking distance charming hotel checking in old world charm bourbon st charles trolley block cereal cruise
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 237 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Our room was very very musty smelling. When we first opened the door it was overwhelming! However, after leaving the door open while we were there and lighting a couple candles, it got better during our stay (four nights), although not great. We spoke with...More

Thank MichelleandJoe64
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Oaks HotelResponded October 10, 2018

Dear Guest, I thank you for your review. I appreciate all you had to say and I do recall speaking with you and your husband last Friday evening regarding the mustiness as well as all the foodie options our City has to offer. You even...More

Reviewed October 9, 2018

I made a reservation on Booking.com for this hotel. i had to cancel my trip after few days i d booked! i was lucky my cancellation was free... but it s not well say but the hotel can take a pre-payment for all the nights...More

Thank Julien B
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Oaks HotelResponded October 10, 2018

Dear Readers. When a guest books via a 3rd party, such as Booking.com, the terms of the reservation are always stated somewhere within their booking site pages. It is the guest responsiblity to read every drop down box, read all "small print" to understand what...More

Reviewed July 22, 2018

The reality vs. the description are two different things. The room was shabby, the curtains were stained and dirty from leaky, moldy windows (if you have allergies or asthma, you are going to be triggered HEAVILY), and there was no excuse for the level of...More

1  Thank midnightrose01
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Oaks HotelResponded July 25, 2018

Dear Guest, I am extremely upset with this review as it clearly shows we failed you miserably. I am so very sorry. To say I am mortified is an understatement. Had I known, this would have been remedied while you were here so you can...More

Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

Spent three out of four nights with no ac temp reaching 90 according to the extremely nice maintenance man Mr Mike. On sight staff exceptional, apologetic and embarrassed about how we were treated by Dori Schumann the General Manager. The first morning after an unbearable...More

3  Thank nmickan56
Response from Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Oaks HotelResponded July 25, 2018

Dear Readers, There was much more to this stay than the guest communicated. She did not advise that Entergy, the power company to New Orleans, was experiencing Outages due to the extreme loads so early in the season. The power company was not prepared for...More

Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

I did my research ahead of our vacation and found this charming hotel in the Garden District with parking for an unbeatable price. A lot of people have mentioned it was a little confusing having to check in across the street, but due to researching...More

Thank KMB_GA
View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Meeting Rooms
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style
Best Value
,
Romantic
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Hotel Style
Best Value
,
Romantic
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
16
Price range
US$138 - US$188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District / Lower Garden District
Hotel class
Hotel Style
Best Value
,
Romantic
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
16
Price range
US$138 - US$188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District / Lower Garden District
Photos
Traveller (91)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (6)
Nearby
Garden District
Head to the Garden District for the full-on New
Orleans experience replete with quaintly clanking
streetcars, proudly grandiose antebellum mansions,
picture perfect avenues lined with live oaks loaded
down with Spanish moss, and a wealth of beautiful
churches and many more architectural marvels. Even a
brief excursion here makes plain why it’s called the
Garden District. So, when you visit be sure to give
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 170 nearby hotels
Prytania Park
852 reviews
.08 km away
Historic Streetcar Inn
788 reviews
.20 km away
Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL
1,146 reviews
.38 km away
St. Vincent's Guest House
593 reviews
.40 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,144 nearby restaurants
Surrey's Juice Bar
710 reviews
.32 km away
Seed
355 reviews
.23 km away
Slice Pizzeria - St. Charles
296 reviews
.21 km away
Houston's
375 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,132 nearby attractions
Magazine Street
1,045 reviews
.20 km away
Southern Food and Beverage Museum
109 reviews
.57 km away
McKenna Museum of African American Art
11 reviews
.51 km away
Coliseum Square Park
5 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ryann i
November 17, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Versace2016 | Reviewed this property |
You would need to take a taxi from the airport to get to the hotel. I believe it costs about $40. Once you get there you can take the streetcar north and south thru the city.
1
Vote
cortlandma
October 20, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dori S | Property representative |
The Prytania Oaks does share a very small parking lot with the adjacent business, however, the main parking lot is 1/2 block away located at The Prytania Park. Which by the way, is where you check in and register.
0
Votes
kennymo
June 22, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Fred1973 | Reviewed this property |
I'm sure they will. We called before we got there and told them we'd be arriving about 10 a.m. They offered to let us park (for free) and leave our luggage there while we saw the city. Turns out, our rooms were ready, so... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Try for a first-floor room. It's an old place, and the stairs might be a bit much with luggage."
tu2rgirl
Oct. 25, 2017
Read review
"we had the Charming Old World room which was a full sized bed and a bathroom. great for two people. but..."
amybL7775QN
May 23, 2017
Read review
"Ask for a room upstairs , less dingy."
550adriand
Apr. 10, 2017
Read review
"stay on the side of the building away from the street"
F5790RXsteveh
Dec. 21, 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing