We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel St. Helene

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel St. Helene
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 262: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel St. Helene
 Click to rate
Mamou
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The only complaint is that when I booked through booking.com and when I checked in I was not made aware of the $150 incidental hold on my card I have stayed at different hotels throughout the French quarter and this is never happened I was upset that I was not notified about this ahead of time other than that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwen L
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear Gwen L, thank you for your feedback. In your confirmation email it does notify you that an additional deposit is required upon check-in, however I am upset to read that you found our staff discourteous. That is unacceptable and will be addressed. I am glad to see that you found the property romantic and charming though. Regards,

Livingston, Louisiana
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I used to LOVE this hotel. I have stayed here a few times in the past & have always had a great stay. Not this time. Upon entering, there was a very strong, unmistakable odor of marijuana. First, the front desk person that checked me in did not know what he was doing. It took him about 15 minutes to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neworleanszombie
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear neworleanszombie, Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for your inconveniences and the conditions of your room. These issues have been addressed. Please feel free to contact me to discuss further. Regards,

Fresno, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Love this place! I got into NOLA way earlier than check in... and they gladly stored my bags while I wandered around the French Quarter. Even were going to call me to let me know room was ready ahead of check in! Great location.. can see Jackson Squate from balcony in 9ne direction and Napolean's (great muffalettas) in the other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KSBCompany
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear KSBCompany, Thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to New Orleans and that we were able to fulfill your expectations! Thank you for staying with us. Please come back to see us again! Trisha

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Two friends and I stayed this past weekend, and the hotel was charming and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately, they are located directly across the narrow street from the Omni, and our room faced the side of the Omni where the garbage trucks cleared their dumpsters at 3:30 in the morning. 2 out of the 3 nights,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie H
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear Julie H, I do apologize for the the street noise during your stay. This issues is being addressed. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss further. Thank you for your feedback. Regards

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for 3 days in this hotel. Nice, historical building, but not a lot of extra service. For example: no breakfast. But the worst part of the hotel is that it is very noisy. The first night I woke up 4 times because of noisy hotel guests returning to their rooms. I asked for and got another room, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoldTraveller
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can't believe the negative reviews I'm reading. This place was the best. I brought my husband to New Orleans for his first visit, and this place was wonderful. Beautiful, great location, wonderful staff. The only issue we had was the trash pick up in the morning, which isn't even their fault. I would, and have recommended this place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erika M
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear Erika M, Thank you for the wonderful feed back. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having to stay with us again on your next visit to New Orleans! Regards

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Centralized location was able to leave my car parked at the hotel the entire time. Room was nice and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful when asked questions and accompanying to the best they could. My only complaint I was not able to cool down the room. Guest don't have that opinion.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blpayette
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read that you had a pleasant stay and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I apologise that you found the temperature of the room uncomfortable; unfortunately, the heating/cooling system is one of the quirks that accompanies this historic structure which we are unable to update.

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel was comfortable and quiet - though a little lacking in character and amenities if that's important to you. Bland but comfortable. Quiet location near Omni and in the heart of the French Quarter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. While our amenities are minimal, our surroundings more than make up for it, after all, if someone comes to the French Quarter and spends their whole stay in the room they'd miss out! Regards,

Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Pros: the location of this hotel was amazing. In the center of all sites and excellent walking distance to all walking area. Cons: I had a poor experience staying at this hotel. The AC wasn't working and the room got very hot. To a point where I had a big headache and had to take a Tylenol. I understand this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iginzburgg
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The lack of customer service you described is appalling and unacceptable. Even if we were out of ice packs, an agent is more than capable of putting ice in a rag and plastic bags as a make-shift solution. I am sorry that this was the experience you had with us, and know that it is...

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 26 December 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here on vacation and overall had a decent stay. The hotel is centrally located and is within walking distance of many of the French Quarter's sites. Pros: - Location - The hotel's a historic monument Cons: - First Aid Kit lacking. I sprained my finger while walking around and hoped that the hotel would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dustythoughts
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read that your stay was mostly pleasant, but your encounter with our desk agent is unacceptable. They should have provided you the same care (more I dare say) as the hotel across the street. The heating/cooling system is an unfortunate matter as well, as it is a very old piece of...

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#105 of 162 in New Orleans
452 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
2,191 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#119 of 162 in New Orleans
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
1,164 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#48 of 162 in New Orleans
1,564 reviews
French Quarter
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
#136 of 162 in New Orleans
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel’s location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Café du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O’ Brien’s, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem! This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River. Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with:-LCD flat screen TVs-Ebony stained hardwood floors-Wireless internet in guest rooms and public areas-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-IPOD docking stations-All-marble bathrooms with standing showersOur French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area or the historic French Quarter. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helene

Address: 508 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: $195 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Helene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel St. Helene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ste Helene Hotel
Hotel Ste Helene
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel St. Helene staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St. Helene staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great all around”
 of 5 bubbles erikamT1421TR, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The balcony can be loud - there was a truck that unloaded stuff every night at 3 AM...bring earplugs or request a courtyard room if that would bother you.”
 of 5 bubbles hg4986, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 302, a balcony room, was a nightmare.”
 of 5 bubbles shallowgal, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 206 small but nice”
 of 5 bubbles 729daand, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want peace and quiet, don't book the street balcony room”
 of 5 bubbles Sanmanz, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5