We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel St. Helene

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel St. Helene
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 256: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel St. Helene
 Click to rate
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Centralized location was able to leave my car parked at the hotel the entire time. Room was nice and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful when asked questions and accompanying to the best they could. My only complaint I was not able to cool down the room. Guest don't have that opinion.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blpayette
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read that you had a pleasant stay and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I apologise that you found the temperature of the room uncomfortable; unfortunately, the heating/cooling system is one of the quirks that accompanies this historic structure which we are unable to update.

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel was comfortable and quiet - though a little lacking in character and amenities if that's important to you. Bland but comfortable. Quiet location near Omni and in the heart of the French Quarter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. While our amenities are minimal, our surroundings more than make up for it, after all, if someone comes to the French Quarter and spends their whole stay in the room they'd miss out! Regards,

Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Pros: the location of this hotel was amazing. In the center of all sites and excellent walking distance to all walking area. Cons: I had a poor experience staying at this hotel. The AC wasn't working and the room got very hot. To a point where I had a big headache and had to take a Tylenol. I understand this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iginzburgg
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The lack of customer service you described is appalling and unacceptable. Even if we were out of ice packs, an agent is more than capable of putting ice in a rag and plastic bags as a make-shift solution. I am sorry that this was the experience you had with us, and know that it is...

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 26 December 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here on vacation and overall had a decent stay. The hotel is centrally located and is within walking distance of many of the French Quarter's sites. Pros: - Location - The hotel's a historic monument Cons: - First Aid Kit lacking. I sprained my finger while walking around and hoped that the hotel would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dustythoughts
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read that your stay was mostly pleasant, but your encounter with our desk agent is unacceptable. They should have provided you the same care (more I dare say) as the hotel across the street. The heating/cooling system is an unfortunate matter as well, as it is a very old piece of...

Youngsville, Louisiana
Reviewed 20 December 2016

My wife and I stayed here in a street side balcony suite while on a trip to see the French Quarter Holiday Home Tour. It was 80° when we got there, but it dropped to 50° overnight. We put the heater on in the morning and went out for lunch, when we got back to the room it was 58°...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdd7372
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear jdd7372, your feedback is greatly appreciated as we are always seeking ways to improve. What you have described is unacceptable; our agents should have assisted you with your thermostat from the outset and there is no reason for them to call your room if your room was not the offender. So on behalf of myself and my staff I...

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Bed and room were comfortable though bath area was small.. A|C fan rattled. No parking or valet or bellman. Parking in a lot was over $50 for 24 hours. Parking Wifi but no usb or other electronics connections. Better bring your own. Glad we got a first floor because no elevator. Staff was very nice and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you Frank C for your feedback. We are delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful as they strive to provide excellent customer service, so we appreciate you acknowledging our success. With only 16 rooms Ste Helene is too small to support it's own parking facility or a bell staff. Regards,

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel St. Helene for our 1st wedding anniversary. After reading some of the previous reviews we were concerned about the noise and temperature. But we had no interfering street noise and the room was nice and warm. Our only complaint is that the matress wasn't particularly comfortable. The hotel was a perfect blend of restored and original....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizhartleyrn
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Your feedback and kind words are greatly appreciated. We strive to provide excellent service for our guests and so we are delighted to read in your review that our staff met your expectations. We certainly look forward to your return! Regards,

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We stayed at this hotel in November and the weather was perfect for exploring. Not too hot or cold. Not too many tourists (so keep that in mind when booking). The location of the hotel was perfect! It was right in the middle of the French Quarter, steps away from everything - Cafe du Monde, Bourbon Street, Galleries, Jackson Square....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hg4986
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Dear hg4986, Thank you for your feed back. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please contact me on your next visit to New Orleans. It would be my pleasure to assist you! Kind Regards

Kountze
Reviewed 6 December 2016

The room was smallish but PERFECT. Everything I wanted to experience for my first trip to New Orleans! The hotel was the perfect distance from Bourbon & Jackson Square. Out of the crowded area but close enough to walk without getting tired HA Will stay again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z6823OAashleyb
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you! Your feedback is greatly appreciated; we are delighted to hear that your stay was pleasant and memorable. We certainly look forward to your return. If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Adored the room, the cleanliness, and the proximity to everything. The hotel is conveniently located on one of the safest street blocks in the Quarter, close to the Cathedral. Walked to beignets every morning and was easy to drop back to the room when we needed to. The "pool" is more of a very large fountain in the back -...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccape8
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review

Thank you! Your feedback is greatly appreciated; we are delighted to hear that your stay was pleasant and memorable. We certainly look forward to your return. If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#104 of 162 in New Orleans
449 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
2,175 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#115 of 162 in New Orleans
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#17 of 162 in New Orleans
1,128 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#45 of 162 in New Orleans
1,530 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel’s location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Café du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O’ Brien’s, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem! This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River. Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with:-LCD flat screen TVs-Ebony stained hardwood floors-Wireless internet in guest rooms and public areas-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-IPOD docking stations-All-marble bathrooms with standing showersOur French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area or the historic French Quarter. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helene

Address: 508 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: $193 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Helene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel St. Helene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ste Helene Hotel
Hotel Ste Helene
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel St. Helene staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St. Helene staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The balcony can be loud - there was a truck that unloaded stuff every night at 3 AM...bring earplugs or request a courtyard room if that would bother you.”
 of 5 bubbles hg4986, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 302, a balcony room, was a nightmare.”
 of 5 bubbles shallowgal, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 206 small but nice”
 of 5 bubbles 729daand, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want peace and quiet, don't book the street balcony room”
 of 5 bubbles Sanmanz, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Again, street side was very noisy. Have enough alcohol, though, and it probably won't bother you.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesjJ9292ZS, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5