We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bienville House

Certificate of Excellence
11/07/2017 12/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Bienville House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,617 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bienville House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,540: English reviews
North Adams, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was older but the service was great and it was close to everything. The front desk representatives and the breakfast attendant were great. I would not recommend the attached restaurant, Latitude 49?29?. The food was terrible.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanielC4002OQ
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your visit. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Bienville House!

Tampa, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

hotel was nice and clean, common areas like elevator and hallways were pretty run down but room was nice and clean. They happened to put us in ADA room so very spacious. Room wasn't service during our stay and they came in to drop off fresh towels at our request while out. We came back and door had been left...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kristic728
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and the Bienville House. We are truly sorry that you did not receive the kind of service we are capable of providing and which you deserve. There is no excuse for your room not being cleaned properly each day of your visit. Your comments regarding...

Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great stay in an old historical building that has been converted to a hotel.The hotel is in an excellent location that is close to everything, The Riverwalk. Bourbon Street, Frenchman Street, and all of the French quarter.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharoll2017
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your visit. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Bienville House!

Minneapolis
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was over priced for the experience. French Quarter has become a disappointment. Interesting things to do in New Orleans but stay someplace more reasonable. There are places nicer than this all over the country that are more reasonable. parking is poor and very very expensive. Music is unimpressive. Streets are dirty. Street music is kids beating on plastic buckets....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P756SSthomasj
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We're very sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay and accommodations. It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize. We value your patronage and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Close to French Quarter which was nice, but I was not impressed with the room for the price per night. Nothing fancy. Front desk people weren't the nicest either. Big difference in attitude between the morning crew and the evening crew.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and the Bienville House. I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. We greatly value your...

Burley, ID
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at Bienville House for 4 nights in April, 2017. Had a King Sun room that opened onto a small courtyard. Room was somewhat dated, but clean, good sized and comfortable. Staff was very helpful and friendly, and housekeeping did a good job. It is located about 4 blocks toward river from Bourbon and 3 blocks from Canal Street on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wkentf
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your visit. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Bienville House!

Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was beautiful!. The hotel was walking distance to all the French Quarter activities, the river, streetcar to Garden District. Will definatly stay here again! The staff was very friendly and helpful and became friends!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dljones46
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

At the Bienville House, we strive to treat our guests like family and are pleased to hear you had such a wonderful experience! We hope to see you again soon!

Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first trip to New Orleans to celebrate our 40th anniversary and we wanted a truly elegant, historical hotel. We got what we wanted in the Bienville House. The location was perfect for the French Quarter. Only one block away from the Mississippi River which was great to catch the trolley or just sit on the Riverwalk and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Road T
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bienville House and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. Please return soon to the Bienville House for another great trip!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My room wasn't cleaned on the first day. There were no windows in the room so felt very enclosed and dark (lighting wasn't that great). The Breakfast was poor with little selection (literally just toast and cakes but who wants a cupcake in the morning?!!!) I left my money in the bedside table and $100 was taken. I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaZzzzzzzzzzzz
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear about your experience. Please email reservations@bienvillehouse.com with further details of your situation.

Milwaukee, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the second year in a row going to the French Quarter festival. My sister recommended this hotel. The room was so nice. I loved the balcony overlooking the pool courtyard. The location was perfect to access everything within the French Quarter.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F5251KIsandram
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bienville House and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. Please return soon to the Bienville House for another great trip!

664 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (377)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (135)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (272)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (36)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (92)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Sun Deck Room - Two Double Beds (38)
Viewed
Superior King Salon Room (30)
Viewed
Superior Room - Two Double Beds (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/07/2017 12/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
1,225 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
2,233 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4,383 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
606 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
3,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: $201 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bienville House staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Bienville House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe rooms have windows”
Fredotty, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a balcony”
jayzee42, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Enjoyed our "Sun" room - good sized and direct access to courtyard with outdoor tables and chairs.”
wkentf, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room with a window if possible.”
RoadT448, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The single elevator can be slow; may want a lower floor room if you prefer not to wait very long or willing to take the stairs.”
MelissaC722, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Cancelon
Hotwire.com
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates