We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (2367)
360
Panoramas (35)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#13 of 168 hotels in New Orleans
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Discover the enchanting allure of Hotel Monteleone, a historic treasure in the heart of New Orleans' French Quarter. With over a century of timeless elegance, our hotel offers a unique blend of classic charm and modern luxury. Enjoy lavish accommodations, indulge in culinary delights at the iconic Carousel Bar, and take in breathtaking views from our rooftop. Our team is dedicated to ensuring your stay is unforgettable. Immerse yourself in the soul of the city at Hotel Monteleone, where rich history meets exceptional hospitality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles10,615 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Nestled in the French Quarter, Hotel Monteleone charms guests with its historic elegance, which shines through in details like live music and festive decorations. Many visitors commend the hotel's prime location and the spotless condition maintained by diligent housekeeping. The Carousel Bar and rooftop pool stand out among its praised amenities. While service is generally lauded for being attentive, there are occasional reports of slower responses. Nonetheless, some guests consider the hotel overpriced, particularly noting the expensive parking and room rates that seem to outweigh the value offered.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Outstanding
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
10,615Reviews127Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7,375
  • 2,060
  • 671
  • 300
  • 209
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Alan A wrote a review Apr 10
Sacramento, California36 contributions6 helpful votes
After our first stay a year ago, we eagerly anticipated our return to the The Hotel Monteleone. We would not consider staying anywhere else now. The history, legacy, location, and staff are exemplary. I love the ambience of the hotel, which I might add, is maintained meticulously. As a Facility Manager, I notice the small details, and this Hotel passes with flying colors. The Lobby is comfortable and inviting, and a perfect place to just sit and watch the hustle and bustle of a 5 star hotel in action. We love the Carousel Bar and Lounge, and maybe one of these years we'll actually get a seat at the Carousel Bar! ( It opens at 11am, with a line waiting, and seems to never have an open seat. It deserves the popularity. One last thing, the Hotel is in a prefect location within the French Quarter, and is easily walking distance to two of our favorite restaurants. Cafe Fleur de Lis on Chartres for Breakfast, and Deanie's for Dinner on Iberville.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Monteleone, Owner at Hotel Monteleone
Responded 3 days ago
We're thrilled to hear that your return to Hotel Monteleone was eagerly anticipated and exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your kind words about our history, legacy, location, and staff. We take great pride in maintaining the hotel's ambience and attention to detail, and we're delighted that you noticed and appreciated it. We understand the popularity of the Carousel Bar and Lounge and apologize for any inconvenience regarding seating. We can't wait to welcome you back for another fantastic stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christine F wrote a review Aug 2023
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Everything about Hotel Montelone is wonderful! The lobby, the room, the pool, the bar, the restaurant ,the location, the gym, the staff! The carousel bar is adorable. All PERFECT!!! We absolutely loved it. Can't wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Monteleone, Owner at Hotel Monteleone
Responded Aug 16, 2023
Thank you for your enthusiastic feedback! We're thrilled that you found every aspect of Hotel Monteleone wonderful, from the lobby to the room, pool, bar, restaurant, location, gym, and our staff. We're delighted you enjoyed the charming Carousel Bar as well. We can't wait to welcome you back for another perfect experience. Your kind words mean a lot to us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Robert N wrote a review Apr 9
12 contributions3 helpful votes
Our annual association meetings were held at Hotel Monteleone this week. I was very pleased with everything, especially the staff. And I want to give a special mention to Earl Perkins in the parking garage. Tell him your need your car at a certain time and it will be there,
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Monteleone, Owner at Hotel Monteleone
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for choosing Hotel Monteleone for your stay! We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with everything, especially our dedicated staff. Earl Perkins in the parking garage will be thrilled to receive your special mention. Providing efficient and reliable service, especially with parking, is crucial for our guests, and we're glad Earl exceeded your expectations. If there's anything else we can assist you with or if you have any further feedback, please don't hesitate to reach out. We look forward to welcoming you back for future events at Hotel Monteleone!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
William W wrote a review Apr 7
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a pleasant stay at Hotel Monteleone. I booked two rooms. When leaving the room with my luggage, I noticed My eyeglasses, watch, and ring on the nightstand. Hands full, I called back to my wife and told her to grab the items before she came downstairs. She was on her way down as well. Thinking I'd said something else, she failed to grab the items. I called the hotel lost and found to inquire about the items and was told flat out that neither the housekeeper nor supervisor found anything in the room. This disappointed me because I am 100% positive that I left the items. While I understand that leaving the items was my fault. I expected the establishment to do the right thing and turn in the items.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: What your belongings.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Monteleone, Owner at Hotel Monteleone
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by the loss of your personal items during your stay at Hotel Monteleone. We understand how distressing it can be to misplace belongings. We conducted additional investigations and thoroughly checked with our housekeeping staff, but unfortunately, we were unable to locate the items you mentioned. We deeply regret that this is not the resolution you had hoped for, and we understand your disappointment. Please know that we take all guest concerns seriously. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused, and we appreciate your understanding. If there is anything else we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sophia G wrote a review Apr 7
1 contribution
Dwight and Michael as Concierge Gentleman made me feel both welcome and appreciated as a Guest. And my Daughter almost stole the pillows and she’s really picky. Also the Bartenders were attentive and kind. Come for the Ghosts, Stay for the Service. And Pillows.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Monteleone, Owner at Hotel Monteleone
Responded 5 days ago
We're thrilled to hear that Dwight, Michael, and our concierge made you feel welcome and appreciated during your stay at Hotel Monteleone. Ensuring our guests feel valued is a top priority, and we're delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your experience with us. It's wonderful to know that you found our pillows irresistible! Thank you for your delightful feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable stay filled with exceptional service and cozy pillows!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
S J wrote a review Apr 6
1 contribution
Stay at this hotel the customer service is horrible. The management is horrible. They have no consideration for their errors and floss room service is terrible. Food was cold. Every time ordered. The carousel bar is small only 10 people in it at one time I do not recommend this hotel take my advice please don’t waste your money.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel that’s the tip that I have for you choose another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Monteleone, Owner at Hotel Monteleone
Responded 5 days ago
We're deeply sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our hotel. Providing exceptional customer service is our top priority, and we regret that we fell short of your expectations. Your feedback regarding the room service and Carousel Bar is concerning, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience and address your concerns directly. Please reach out to us at your convenience so that we can discuss the details further and work towards a resolution that meets your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we're committed to making things right. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, and we hope to have the chance to regain your trust and exceed your expectations in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nina G wrote a review Apr 6
Germantown, Tennessee19 contributions19 helpful votes
The Monteleone is such a beautiful hotel with attentive staff, fabulous service and is so well appointed. The doorman went out of his way for us, grabbing me an umbrella so I wouldn’t have to go back up to my room to retrieve one. Kathy in Creollo went out of her way to make sure our breakfast was special and we felt welcome. My only complaint is that the showers in the newly remodeled Iberville rooms only have half the shower covered in glass. The other half is wide open, leaving me freezing in the shower, and unable to prevent water from completely soaking the bath mat, and eventually soaking the floor. I fear there will soon be water damage in every room! A sliding glass door would make it 100% perfect! The appearance is beautiful, but the design is poor.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is $48 per night. Ask for extra towels to mop up the water in the floor. Be sure to eat...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Monteleone, Owner at Hotel Monteleone
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Monteleone and our attentive staff! We're delighted that you enjoyed our fabulous service and well-appointed accommodations. It's heartening to hear that our doorman and Kathy went above and beyond to ensure your comfort and satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback regarding the design of the showers in our newly remodeled Iberville rooms. We're sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced. Your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an even more enjoyable stay in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Linda J wrote a review Apr 6
1 contribution
Friendly and helpful staff, very clean and comfortable rooms. Food is excellent with a super helpful and friendly chef. Wait staff is very attentive and the hotel's flowers and plants really make the ambiance. The hotel is right in the center of the French quarters and walkable to the river and aquarium.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Monteleone, Owner at Hotel Monteleone
Responded 5 days ago
We're thrilled to hear about your positive experience at Hotel Monteleone! Providing friendly and helpful service is our priority. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed our excellent food and found our chef to be super helpful and friendly. Our attentive wait staff takes pride in ensuring every guest feels well taken care of. We're delighted that you appreciated the ambiance created by our flowers and plants. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah S wrote a review Apr 3
1 contribution
We went to New Orleans for Easter weekend! We checked in to the hotel late after a long flight and immediately felt relaxed. We were in a large room overlooking the city in the newly renovated Iberville Tower. We started our first morning in the rooftop fitness center. What great views! Very clean facility. We met Lorna as she was stocking the fresh fruit in the center and she suggested we order some beignets for breakfast in our room. Our server was Patrick who was a joy to chat with. The beignets were amazing! Best I've ever had! For dinner, we really wanted to try GW Fins, a local seafood restaurant with amazing reviews, but they were booked.. until Joey the Concierge made a call for us! The Carousel was very busy but Delaney made us fabulous cocktails at the other bar. The next day, back at the fitness center, we met Earl who showed us a ballroom with exceptional views. He had plenty of historical information to pass on to us. Housekeeping was on point. We tracked down Lorna in the lobby and asked her to find out her name for us, it was Gabriella. Our last room service order came by way of Jeremy, he even poured the coffee for us. We had read good reviews on this hotel but were still amazed at the level of customer service. The room was so comfortable, we will definately be back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Monteleone, Owner at Hotel Monteleone
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for sharing your weekend experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you felt relaxed and welcomed from the moment you checked in. We're delighted that Lorna and Patrick made your breakfast experience memorable with their suggestions and service. And we're thrilled Joey was able to secure a reservation for you at GW Fins, ensuring you had a delightful dining experience. At The Carousel and our other bars, we aim to provide exceptional service, and we're glad Delaney crafted fabulous cocktails for you. Meeting Earl in the fitness center must have been a treat; he's a wealth of historical knowledge! We're so glad to hear that Gabriella and the rest of the staff maintained the high standards we strive for. And it's wonderful to hear that Jeremy provided attentive room service during your stay. Your kind words about our hotel and team mean the world to us. We're delighted you had such a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable experience at Hotel Monteleone!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
travelbunches wrote a review Apr 1
Marathon, Florida2 contributions
Great place, well run, fantastic staff, excellent food and drink. The pool was perfect. Great stay all around and appreciate all, waitstaff, bell staff, front desk, cleaning team, concierge, and door men, all fantastic. We appreciate your hospitality and will be back
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Monteleone, Owner at Hotel Monteleone
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed our well-run hotel, fantastic staff, excellent food and drinks, and perfect pool. Your kind words about our staff mean a lot to us. Providing exceptional hospitality is what we strive for, and we're delighted that we could exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Monteleone for another fantastic stay! If there's anything else we can assist you with or if you have any further comments, please don't hesitate to reach out.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New Orleans area.
PRICE RANGE
C$295 - C$483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
monteleone hotel new orleans, monteleone new orleans
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansFrench Quarter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
523
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Monteleone - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Monteleone
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Monteleone?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Monteleone?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Monteleone?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Monteleone?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Monteleone?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Monteleone?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Monteleone?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Monteleone offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Monteleone?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Does Hotel Monteleone have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Hotel Monteleone accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.