We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

882 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 857: English reviews
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

As a independent travel agent I think it's a great idea to share my experience good or bad, especially when you are traveling with children. We stayed at this location for one night so we wouldn't have to travel in rain. The valet attendant wasn't friendly and didn't bother to assist us with luggage. The front desk attendant was attentive... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
Brittany C, Manager at Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback and for your work as a travel agent! We encourage guests to tell their stories in order to encourage and inspire. We appreciate you sharing info about the details of your stay and would like to apologize for the issues you experienced and the follow up thereafter. Please do not hesitate to call the... More 

Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2016

I booked a two bedroom suite for a three day get-away for my family for spring break. The suite was huge.....and in good shape. The property was nice with a pool and outdoor sitting area. Several issues - there was construction right outside our windows that woke us up at 7 am one morning and by 7:30 another morning......which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank KellersGeorgia
Brittany C, Manager at Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback on your recent stay. We apologize that you were disturbed from the construction in the neighboring area. The hotel was not aware that there would be any construction of that nature to disturb our guest and we are genuinely sorry about your being disrupted and I can understand how that could put a damper... More 

Thornton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2016

This Residence Inn was pretty nice for the money. Breakfast was yummy, especially the waffles and there was a huge variety of other food items. Duane was on top of everything. Our room included two separate bedrooms, but only 1-1/2 bathrooms. Four of us had to share the shower which worked out okay, but we would have preferred two showers.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ybyrd
Welsh, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

The staff is cheerful and considerate of your wishes. The breakfast was delicious. Duane was our cook. He made sure we were taken care of. Restful suite fully equipped. Good shower. Located in the wear house district close to the bigger attractions. Easy distance from the WWII Museum, a world class exhibit.

Helpful?
Thank chip_kyle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Friendly service and clean room. However the bathroom is a little cramped, but most of all, it's tricky to fit 3 adults in the room. I was traveling with my two daughters who added themselves to the trip at the last minute. I called the facility before we arrived to see if we could get a bigger room. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
Brittany C, Manager at Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings from New Orleans Residence inn! We are so glad that you were able to join us with your family here in New Orleans! Please let us know the next time you are traveling to New Orleans so that we can introduce you to some of our more spacious two bedroom suites. I know your family had to build a... More 

Scotch Plains, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2016

It pains me to have to write this, because the property itself was good and Duane indeed was quite attentive at breakfast every morning. But since my stay and check out last week, this hotel has run my credit card a half dozen times with unauthorized charges and credit holds unconnected to my actual stay, amounting to more than $3,000.... More 

Helpful?
Thank efnj2016
Vanessa J, General Manager at Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. This has also been a deep concern for the hotel and we are keen to have it resolved as this is not par for the course. We understand your frustration and aim to make it right. Please feel free to contact me directly. With gratitude, Vanessa More 

Hurleyville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Took a family vacation for the first time with our 1 year old daughter. We chose the Residence Inn for the 2 room suite with 2 bathrooms and kitchen area in the room because of the baby and several family members. The room was great. Front desk staff and food service staff was great. Night front desk clerk Ms. N.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank George G
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Wonderful location and very pleasant stay near World War II Museum, great restaurants - (several within a block or two (Peche and Cochon in particular) and walking distance to French Quarter. Hotel was clean, well-maintained and inviting, staff very helpful and Duane's breakfast was a great start each day!

Helpful?
Thank Joe A
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2016

This was our first time at the Convention Center Residence Inn and we were pleasantly surprised. We had 5 in our party and stayed in a 2 BR 2 BA apartment which was comfortable, clean and full of amenities. We had a rollaway bed for the 5th occupant which was pretty comfortable. The grounds of the hotel were very nice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MickNKeef
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2016

I am a frequent traveler and usually I am pleased with the hospitality found in Marriott hotels no matter what location. HOWEVER, I was extremely disappointed with the customer service I experienced here in New Orleans. From the first day to the last, I was appalled by the cold indifference from the employees. When I asked for extra blankets for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nmeyer505
Brittany C, Manager at Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. We value your feedback and would like you to know that we are truly disheartened that you were delayed in receiving additional blankets and that you were not contacted about your lost sentimental item that you left during your stay. I know how it feels to lose something and want someone to... More 

197 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#57 of 161 in New Orleans
750 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Arts District / Warehouse District

Neighbourhood Profile
Arts District / Warehouse District
Once a thriving industrial zone, today this district is home to a buzzing arts scene with an amazing assortment of galleries, boutiques, and studios having moved in and set up shop throughout the disused warehouses for which the area is so well known. Much of the art you'll come across here is local in scope, ownership and inspiration. However, among the many old brick warehouses are modern structures of steel and glass housing large-scale cultural institutions of national prominence such as the National World War II Museum, the Contemporary Arts Center, and the Ogden Museum of Southern Art. Just as eye catching as what’s on view inside the galleries and museums is the chance to see your ship come in at the Julia Street Cruise Terminal, which serves as a wistful reminder of the city’s historic maritime prominence.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Address: 345 St. Joseph Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Price Range: $125 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
West Brooklyn,IL

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The wifi is faster and works better on the condo side, rather than the hotel side of the property.”
 of 5 bubbles lhoaas, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go to the evening get togethers.”
 of 5 bubbles debtedho, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 134...ground floor...very noisy from the people who were staying in the floor above us...”
  • inside area leading into suites
  • second bedroom...could not open the door all the way?!
  • second bedroom...small window
  • view from living room
  • one of two bedrooms...no window in room
  • bathroom
  • living room
  • living room couch...very uncomfortable
 of 5 bubbles g00dtravel2, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles Sabafaisal, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floors away from the elevators”
 of 5 bubbles wlbjayhawk, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay