We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,057 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,021: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not your typical cookie-cutter hotel. I loved the decor throughout the room and public areas. I booked an interior room but upgraded to an external view room at check-in for a reasonable price - check-in girl was very friendly and helpful explaining the room options and hotel facilities available. The room itself was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom is tiny but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a great time at the hotel, it's beautiful, staff was always friendly and helpful. The only thing to keep in mind is it's an older building with wooden floors so it will creak.It's a brief walk to the French quarter and a quick drive to any other areas.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valarie S
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the amazing feedback! I love hearing that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was always friendly. Please come stay with us again next time you are in New Orleans. Kindly, Martha A,

Middle Village
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent stay at Old No 77. Would definitely stay in the future. Rooms were well maintained and clean. Staff was very friendly. Nice to see a coffee bar in the lobby making a great Americano and a very good selection of pastries daily.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D2231ZDwilliamb
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great feedback! I love hearing how much you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were so friendly. Please come stay with us again next time you are in New Orleans! Kindly, Martha A.

Playa Del Rey
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From the beauty of the building and rooms to the kind and attentive staff who made our trip to New Orleans so very special, thank you! Our pet chihuahua, D'Artagnan, felt very loved during his stay as well. The bar was our daily go to favorite place to prep and meet our friends for each day out. The restaurant was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank laral330
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback! We all loved D'Artagnan and would like to see him back very soon. I love hearing that our staff was kind and attentive. Please come stay with us again next time you are in New Orleans! Kindly, Martha A.

Pittsburgh
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Windowless room and rude unhelpful bar staff! The room was like a prison cell, we had no idea if it was day or night. Trying to get an evening cocktail at the bar proved impossible, staff were extremely unhelpful. I would not go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank beckycW3621EO
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

Let me start by saying thank you for your valued feedback. Our building is a converted warehouse so some of our rooms do not have windows. I apologize that the bar staff did not meet your expectations. Please give us another chance next time you are in New Orleans and we will make sure you have a wonderful stay. Kindly,...

Akron
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed one night, wish I could have stayed longer. Everyone was friendly and helpful, hotel has charm & style that fits right in in NOLA. Easy walk to conv center and french quarter. safe location. I you have the option for the queen room/no window or the deluxe queen w/window, don't bother with the upgrade. The "window" is almost not.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifercT1674FB
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the incredible feedback! I love hearing that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was friendly. Please come stay with us again next time you are in New Orleans! Kindly, Martha A.

Scott
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A/C was not working properly Phone did not work at all, had to use cell phone to call front desk Spider webs on ceiling Had to ask for tissue and soap THE room was very nice, just wasn't worth the money spent, especially under those conditions... no one tried to fix or compensate us for these problems...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanines777
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

Let me start by saying thank you for your valued feedback. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Please give us another chance next time you are in New Orleans and we will make sure you have a wonderful stay. Kindly, Martha A.

Barueri, SP
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very good in terms of location and cost-benefit; French quarter and its agitated life a few blocks away; The ONLY problem occured in the first night - neighboors of the upper floor had a dog. Solved next day;

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulo Augusto D
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great feedback! I love hearing that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to resolve your problem. Please come stay with us again next time you are in New Orleans. Kindly, Martha A.

Louisville
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

location location location! close to everything you would want to do in New Orleans, LA!! Friendly & knowledgeable staff, ready to answer any questions you have. Did I mention its a great location... We had a wonderful time exploring all there is to do

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jameswA1642FN
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback! I love hearing that our staff were friendly and helpful. Please come stay with us again next time you are in New Orleans. Kindly, Martha A.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Both great. All staff great. Don't bother with room service: it's the same menu in plastic trays and the restaurant's beautiful. No movies, just TV. Bed linen rough. CAREFUL! Tiny single window in some rooms: cell-like. I was there for three weeks. Short stays better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 79TGB79
MarthaArcher, Guest Relations Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

Let me start by saying thank you for your valued feedback. I love hearing that all of our staff were great. Please give us another chance next time you are in New Orleans and we will get you in a larger room with a window. Kindly, Martha A.

601 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (408)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (182)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (148)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
King Loft Suite (34)
Viewed
Premium King Room (32)
Viewed
Premium Queen Queen Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
1,155 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,244 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 161 in New Orleans
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Compared to the more evocative monikers of some other parts of New Orleans, the downtown’s humdrum title might suggest that this area is all about business and little else. But don’t let the bland name keep you away from the Central Business District. The CBD offers a wide range of fun things to do that would be touted as exceptional in less jubilant corners of the world. Bordered by the French Quarter, the Arts District and Tremé, with the river at its eastern extreme, this hub for sports, gaming, shopping, theatre, family-friendly activities, and amazing regional cuisine makes a smart base wherever your interests lie.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Compere Lapin
Compere Lapin
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery is a New Orleans' boutique hotel located just four blocks from the world-famous French Quarter and Bourbon Street and three blocks from the New Orleans Convention Center within easy walking distance of the city's top dining, shopping and nightlife ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery

Address: 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3209 (Formerly Ambassador Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Price Range: $151 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel New Orleans
Ambassador New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery staff and other travellers.
43 questions
Ask a question
Newark, Ohio
over a year ago
Miramar Beach, Florida
over a year ago
yakima

See all questions (43)

Questions? Get answers from Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a king size bed room window. HOWEVER...the window overlooked a wall! It let in a little light but not a lot.”
Photo_Life_Memories, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“close to the quarter without all the noise.”
, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Booked interior room, but was happy with it, kept the street noise out & also ensured a good rest. Didn't very much miss the window.”
kurt63mh, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you want a window, specify when you check in you want one with a view of the city, not a wall.”
Jason_33772, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay on top floor to minimize noise.”
JanetD848, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5