We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dakota Cowboy Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Dakota Cowboy Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dakota Cowboy Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

A great find if you're looking for the best bang for your buck. The staff was extremely attentive, polite and helpful. The kids really loved the pool, the free wifi was great, and the room was freshly renovated and very comfortable. The staff was great in helping plan some of our days around Sturgis so we could see all that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amit S
DakotaCowboyInn, Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank You very much for leaving us a review, we work hard to give each and every guest our undevided attention while staying with us. Please come and see us again

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Custer for 3 nights after staying in Rapid City for 1, Custer was better for us because this hotel is centrally located. Rooms were updated, flat screens new carpet and paint. Everything was clean from the lobby to the grounds and comfortable beds, outdoor heated pool was nice to relax in. Walking distance to restaurants and gift...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derekcarlson398
DakotaCowboyInn, Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank You very much for leaving us a review, we are happy to hear you were able to notice all of the updates that we have made at our property.

Sherrard, Illinois
Reviewed 15 August 2016

old building floors slant, ok I can see they trying to fixit up. but room smelled! bed was hard like sleeping on a rock flat cheap pillows only sheet with blanket! blanket was very dirty. exit day we were so sore had to go to the drug store buy pain med. air conduction loud and drips. TV was unplugged I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcroyalstar
DakotaCowboyInn, Director of Sales at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank You

Arlington, Texas
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We did not have a room scheduled until late because of the lack of Internet service! This is an older hotel and it shows the rooms were adequate and the breakfast was good. People on duty were pleasant rates were reasonable! Located in an area with few up scale hotels!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CO55
DakotaCowboyInn, Front Office Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review

Grinnell, Iowa
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

I am in fact staying here right now. I am very disappointed in the bad reviews for this place. Yes it is no five-star hotel but you get what you pay for. Unfortunately I had to take a smoking room due to the fact I was able to bring my pets. Which is fine with me because I would not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linnypooh14
DakotaCowboyInn, Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, we will continue to provide the best customer service so our guests are always happy. Cleanliness is vital to lodging operations and we are pleased to hear that it showed, since you are still in house if there is anything else that we can provide for you please do not hesitate to...

Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

It was a great stopover for us before getting to our camping reservation at Custer state park. It's a cheap, no frills motel, so don't expect much. But the AC worked fine, there was free (albeit weak) wi-fi, and a fridge in our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
DakotaCowboyInn, Front Office Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

This place needs upgrading. No sink in the bathroom( it's in the room), no night lights even. Carpet ...old, very old. The beds are average, but comfy. The pool outside is a perk, especially if you have kids. The breakfast ..very poor. Everything is from a box and limited. Everything seemed clean, though. So, if you are just looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank manorama
DakotaCowboyInn, Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, we offer a continental breakfast with a variety of options and I apologize it was not adequate for your needs. The cafe next door offers more options if you are looking for something else but we will work hard to provide more options in our continental breakfast. I am happy to hear that...

El Paso, United States
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stayed in a smoking queen. It was one of the only rooms left and they let us smell it before we committed. The bed had no mattress pad and it itched. The place seemed clean and had good toiletries. The pool is in need of repairs but the water was clean. Upon leaving, I was standing in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
Fresno, California
Reviewed 21 July 2016

So my flight was delayed from Rapid City and I checked into the Dakota Cowboy around 9:30 p.m. I was greeted kindly at the front office, my room was clean and comfortable. As I headed out for a late dinner, I ran into the owner and asked him were I could get a bite to eat. He was friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yashpaulsangha52
DakotaCowboyInn, Front Office Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate the compliments and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we work hard to provide excellent customer service to each guest individually.

Reviewed 20 July 2016

Location is ideal for Crazy Horse and Mount Rushmore, and I'm sure for other tourist attractions in the area. It is Right next door to the Cowboy Café, which has great food. Our room was very clean and the staff is so friendly. The breakfast in the lobby in the morning is pretty good. We had no issues with our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carolyn B
DakotaCowboyInn, Front Office Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. If you are in the area again please come and see us again.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.9 km away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#17 of 17 in Custer
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
427 reviews
0.5 km away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
0.5 km away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Dakota Cowboy Inn

Address: 208 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1800 (Formerly Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Price Range: $102 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dakota Cowboy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Dakota Cowboy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Hotel Custer
Americas Best Value Inns Custer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dakota Cowboy Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Dakota Cowboy Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are much better places to say at less money! Just double check your reservation! In high travel season rooms get booked up quickly!”
 of 5 bubbles brlula, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in the older building. It has a ground floor entry and was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulJMK56, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for newer wing.”
 of 5 bubbles Tallytennis11, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good hotel for the price.”
 of 5 bubbles shortcutqueen, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book early, I only paid $120 for my room”
 of 5 bubbles yashpaulsangha52, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay