Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Traveller (2496)
Fitness Center lap pool
Pool & Beach (639)
view
Room & Suite (591)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Surrounded by white-sand beaches and black-lava landscapes, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is perfectly situated for all kinds of island adventures. The spirit of Hawaii, from its long-held traditions to its inspired art, informs every detail of our idyllic retreat.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Saltwater pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Golf course
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese

Location

72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 42 out of 100
42
Keahole Airport
11.1 km
See all flights
Kamuela Airport
39.2 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles3,800 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a prime location, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is lauded for its comfortable rooms boasting stunning views and top-notch amenities, which include multiple pools and luxurious spa services. Guests have called out the high level of cleanliness across the well-maintained grounds. While the hotel's inviting atmosphere, complete with private bungalows and live music, impresses many, some have noted the high price point, feeling the value doesn't always match the cost. Although service is generally seen as professional and friendly, a few travelers have experienced inconsistency and delays.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Lavish

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
3,800Reviews145Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,200
  • 334
  • 146
  • 73
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CB92630 wrote a review Jan 2020
Seattle, Washington21 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Four Seasons Hualalai in September 2019. This property is beautiful and only 2 stories tall for a very private feel. It is spread out beautifully so most every room has a view of the water and has privacy! The rooms are very large and appointed perfectly. The ground floor rooms have a connecting private outdoor shower and the 2nd floor rooms have amazing views! The bathroom is huge with large separate tub and nice powerful shower. There are 3 wonderful pool areas and the pool attendants come around with frozen snacks for the kids and frozen alcohol drinks/pops for the adults. Since this is the Four Seasons, there is no additional charge for a cabana set-up by the pool or on the beach or for a chair and umbrella like you find at other hotels! The meals at all the restaurants on the property were very delicious! If you want just a small snack or easy breakfast and latte, you can order and eat outside of the Trading Co/Store near the gym/tennis courts. They also sell wine and snacks. Tip: The Island Gourmet grocery in the Waikoloa area (about 10minutes) up the road has a large wine selection at much lower prices and prepared food and groceries. The inside/outside gym is very, very well equipped and there is a lap pool near the gym area. The Spa is beautiful! They have cold/hot plunge pools, sauna, steam rooms that you can use regardless of getting a spa service. The entire staff constantly greets you as you are walking around the property. You just feel happy at this place! I think of all the Four Seasons in the Hawaiian Islands, this is the best of Maui, Oahu and the Big Island. (haven't been to FS on Lanai)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SHinsch, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Aloha CB92630, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. It seems you had a fantastic time and we are so honored to have had the opportunity to provide this for you- we know you deserve it! We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon in paradise. Sebastian Hinsch Resort Manager sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill N wrote a review Feb 2020
Los Angeles, California66 contributions103 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at many of the high end resorts on the big
island but this is the prettiest property of them all. The grounds are both lushly landscaped and incredibly maintained. I love the beaches even if they are not swimming ones. There is something mesmerizing about watching the constant ebb and flow of the waves as they sweep over the lava rocks. The staff meets the usual incredibly high standards of every Four Seasons I have stayed in, a lot of energy, genuinely warm smiles, an attitude of what can be done to make our stay even better and an appreciation of having the best job in the world at the best place in the world. We were a bit disappointed in the room. We paid $1,500 a night for a room that was oceanfront. It seemed smaller than its advertised 635 square feet and did not have a feel of being a luxury room as one would expect. It was dark and not furnished to the chain’s standards. Timely housekeeping was an issue as well. Be forewarned that you have to get to the beach or pool by 7:30 to choose your chair or you may be disappointed. They have a policy that outlaws holding chairs but it is ignored. Numerous times I saw people claiming the “best” chairs at 7:00 am but not occupy them until 11:00 or 12:00. There are 4 excellent restaurants open for dinner which I thought was a strong point. I hate being at a secluded resort where you keep going back to the same restaurant or two with the same menu. Even still, you need to make advance dinner reservations as the restaurants seem to fill up quickly for the prime hours.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SHinsch, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Aloha BillN494, Thank you for the kind words regarding our scenery, restaurants, and especially our team members. We are looking into the issues you raised and appreciate you taking the time to show us room for improvement. If you would like to provide additional information please feel free to contact me directly. Sebastian Hinsch Resort Manager sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Diana K wrote a review Apr 2021
4 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I have stayed at many 5 star hotels around the world, but Four Seasons Hualalai will always be one of our favorite resorts. We stayed here a few years ago and they make you feel special as soon as you step foot into the resort. They welcome you with the warmest aloha greeting, a refreshing drink, and whisk you to your room in golf carts. Not all 5 star hotels are the same when it comes to service, or even among Four Seasons, but service at FS Hualalai is top notch. Every staff member you come across at the resort greets you with the warmest smile and makes you feel right at home.

The property itself is stunning with amazing views of the ocean. One of my favorite things to do was to eat breakfast at the restaurant and enjoy the amazing view every morning. They have multiple pools at the resort including a swimmable pool filled with various tropical fishes. We loved lounging next to the pool and enjoying the relaxing atmosphere. My husband was surprised that on our first night, he walked by the pool and asked for a quick towel from a pool attendant in a 20 second interaction and the next day, they greeted him, “Mr. Liu,” as if they had been serving him all day before - most places don’t even remember your name. The rooms itself were very spacious and clean and some have outdoor showers.

Out of all the places we could choose from, we chose Four Seasons Hualalai as our first vacation spot after getting vaccinated. We are so excited to be back on Monday and will be staying for a week. We booked a suite with oceanfront views and can’t wait to see the room. I hope we will experience the same kind of 5 star service we experienced the first time around. I will update this post after my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sebastian Hinsch, Owner at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded May 4, 2021
Aloha Diana! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are ecstatic to hear that we were your first vacation stop! We'll be sure to share your feedback with the team, who strive to facilitate special experiences for our guests time and again. Even if it is a 20-second interaction. Sharing the Four Seasons hospitality is key and we are glad that you genuinely feel that as soon as you check-in. Were so glad that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back so soon (and ocean FRONT)! I hope to see you around the resort to say "Aloha!" over the next week! Sebastian Hinsch Resort Manager sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jordan wrote a review Dec 2020
New York City, New York1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited this property for a three night stay just two nights after they opened back up. Was immediately blown away by the friendliness and attentiveness of staff. We booked through the Amex Fine Hotels and Rewards program and received a room upgrade on arrival as they had availability.

The room was incredible - outdoor shower (only on lower level rooms!), fantastic bath products, extremely comfortable bed, modern interior design, great lanai with ocean view.

We were slightly disappointed to find out that two of the pools were closed due to ongoing renovations (they said they would be open by 12/9), including the Kings Pond which is stocked with tropical fish that you can snorkel with. The management at The Four Seasons responded quickly and provided us with some extra accommodations to make up for this. They also arranged a very late checkout as we had a 930pm flight home the last night, very thoughtful.

The poolside/beachside service is impeccable - attentive staff to keep your drink fresh, and ensure you are comfortable. They even brought over a towel to rest my elbows on when I wanted to read in the pool, true luxury. The resort was overall very quiet, the hotel wasn't that busy just a few days after opening, but the staff said they expect a full house in just a few weeks.

The restaurants, while expensive, all delivered delicious food. We did drive into Kona (about a 20 minute drive) for one dinner to save a little money, as the meals add up.

I also played golf at a course nearby, as the full rate for playing the on property course is about $350 - there are others in the area for about half that cost I recommend. The Hualalai course did look immaculate though.

Lastly I highly recommend going over to Kukio Beach for snorkeling. Its a 15 minute walk or 3 minute golf cart ride. You can request a ride by talking to the concierge. All snorkel gear, drinks, snacks at the beach are provided by the hotel, and the area is full of beautiful fish and even sea turtles to swim with. Cannot miss!

Even with the covid precautions, the Four Seasons Hualalai makes you feel like you are in paradise. Will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Request room with outdoor shower ahead of time.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sebastian Hinsch, Owner at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded Dec 15, 2020
Aloha! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay! We'll be sure to share this with the team who work very hard to ensure our guests have a fantastic stay time and time again. We appreciate the kudos on the beach and pool service and hope to see you again soon for a King's Pond dip! Sebastian Hinsch Resort Manager sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James S wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I have been to Hawaii several times now, and I really can't imagine visiting Hawaii without a stay at Hualalai. No other resort offers this combination of service, setting, quality of facilities, and serenity. Yes, it is expensive and I understand that it is a bit of a splurge to stay here for a lot of travelers, including myself, but if you are on the fence at all you will not regret choosing to stay at the Four Seasons.

When we arrived we were warmly welcomed with leis and fruit juice before the bellman drove us to our room on a cart and helped us with all of our luggage. The room has a modern feel to it with touches of Hawaiian influence throughout. You could see the ocean from our room, making for a beautiful view. There is a chromecast connected to the TV which is nice if you like to watch something other than regular TV.

The resort itself is fantastic. There are several pools, each with a unique setup and vibe. We never had issues finding a chair at the pool. The golf course was in immaculate condition. There were no ball marks on the greens, all of the tee boxes were perfectly level with perfect turf, and the fairways were in great shape.

The only thing to be mindful of is that the resort is fairly remote. The nearest town/shopping/restaurant that is not on the resort is a 20-30 minute drive in either direction. This was not an issue for us, as there is plenty to do on the resort and we liked the on-site restaurants as well as the general sense of seclusion that you have while on property, but if you plan on exploring other areas, just make note of this during planning.

The thing that really sets the Four Seasons above other resorts is the service. Throughout our entire stay, every time we needed something there was a friendly face there to help. They really do go above and beyond here and provide hands down the best service we have received at any resort. We never had to wait for help with chairs at the pool or to make a food/drink order, the golf staff was incredibly friendly, and there are regularly people walking the resort refilling water, offering popsicles or smoothie samples, or even to clean your sunglasses. The staff really do make you feel like you personally are the most important guest at all times, and this is ultimately what will keep us coming back for years to come.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Graham Williamson, Other at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded May 5, 2022
Aloha! Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to review your wonderful stay! We'll be sure to share this with the team who work very hard to ensure our guests have a fantastic stay time and time again. We appreciate the kudos from your welcome experience to the wonderful round of golf it seems you had. We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come. Mahalo, Graham Williamson Resort Manager 
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fancypants2008 wrote a review May 2022
Houston, Texas465 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent service is the one thing I have grown to love when staying at Four Seasons Resorts. The Hualalai did not let me down. From the moment we stepped off the airplane and were met by the airport greeter, every need was handled. Once we arrived at the resort someone was waiting for us at the entrance ushering us to the couch for a personalized check-in experience with welcome drinks waiting. We were instantly impressed with the VIP service.

My husband and I stayed 4 nights in a Deluxe Beachfront suite. The second floor offers the best views of the ocean but the first-floor units have easier access to the pools due to the walkout patio. My preference was the 2nd floor to enjoy looking out over the water. We stayed in the Beach Tree crescent and after visiting the other pools, we liked our pool the best. It's the biggest and is deemed the quiet pool. This means, no splashing, no swimming laps, and rowdy/loud people are not permitted. Perfect for our style to relax and take in the ocean breezes.

The resort grounds are beautiful and so unique. Built on a lava field with plenty of lava rock used throughout the property pathways, golf course and outdoor showers. My husband and I commented on the variety of trees, flowers, plants, etc... Simply beautiful gardens everywhere you look.

Throughout our stay, we enjoyed the attention to detail from every department. The turn-down service always made sure our room was refreshed and ready for the evening replenishing our ice, water bottles, stemware, towels, etc... One evening, they noticed my sunglasses were dirty so a lens cleaner was left under my glasses (very thoughtful). The pool team always made sure we had what we needed and were very attentive to everyone. The housekeeping staff came through for us when we needed a rain poncho last minute but couldn't find one in any onsite shops. They miraculously found one for us the night before we needed it for an early morning tour the following day.

My one and only complaint about this report is the spa design and how most of the couple's relaxation areas and massage rooms are completely outdoors. It was too hot for us to enjoy a massage outdoors. Luckily one of the rooms with A/C was available so we had our treatment there instead. I realize most people enjoy the outdoor massage but it wasn't for us. Just thought I would share that bit of info for future travelers to make an informed decision before scheduling an appointment.

If you are reading this review, you already know it's expensive but it's worth the splurge.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Graham Williamson, Other at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded May 30, 2022
Aloha, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we will pass your sentiments on to our staff. We agree they really make this place so special. We appreciate your feedback will take your experience into consideration when creating these experiences for our guests. We hope we get the chance to extend our ho'okipa to you again sometime soon. Mahalo, Graham Williamson Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SusanHines wrote a review Apr 2021
Hansville, Washington, United States33 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We selected FS Hualalai to get back to travelling, and it did not disappoint. From the moment we drove up and were quickly checked in by a friendly person in a gorgeous setting, we had an idyllic time. Yes, it's expensive. Yes , it's worth it. The room was comfortable and beautifully appointed. It was clean and comfortable and suitable for its surroundings. The landscaping and pools are glorious, and even though there was construction going on, it was pretty much invisible and they must have been using elf tools it was so quiet. Every staff member was warm and authentically welcoming and concerned about us. Little touches like water and towels as we went off property, or suggestions for little things like more tea bags made us feel truly welcome. The setting was amazing- I saw spinner dolphins off the beach and walked the shore line every day, and felt like I was in paradise. The only drawbacks were the food- while breakfast and the pool food and in room dining were very good, I was slightly disappointed in the two main restaurants. The menus and food were just OK but still very expensive. For the price point , I expected WOW. I got WOW on every other front. I would ( will) go back in a heartbeat.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sebastian Hinsch, Owner at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded Apr 27, 2021
Aloha Susan, We are absolutely honored you chose to stay with us! We will be sure to share this feedback with the fantastic team that makes this magic happen time and again for our guests. It sounds like you were able to enjoy the little touched that we strive to share with our guests. The Hawaiian Spinner Dolphins are such a treat to see! We very much appreciate you taking the time to give us a review, and we hope to see you again soon in paradise! Sebastian Hinsch Resort Manager sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lws07 wrote a review May 2022
Los Gatos, California670 contributions133 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such an beautiful hotel and grounds, I had a hard time believing it was real- I had to keep pinching myself. The room itself is very true to the pics you see online. I went right after spring break and thought things we pretty peaceful and quiet. Not a lot of screaming kids by any means.

Some useful tips that may help others that I didn’t see in other reviews: the room has reusable metal water bottles that guests can refill at these little huts in front of their rooms. The hut also has free to use washer & dryer machines along with tide pods, etc.

The fitness center has many machines and airy areas to use them in, with good ventilation for COVID precautions.

A rental car is a must if you want to see the further away areas of the island like the volcanoes national park or Mauna Kea . I saw that Uber did have cars nearby though, so that could work for shorter trips. If you need to pack food for a day trip, you can ask the hotel via chat on the iPad to coordinate a food pick up from the Trading Post or any of the other restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Pretty easy to eat here if you are vegan, all the restaurants have vegan options.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Graham Williamson, Other at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded May 12, 2022
Aloha, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear you had an overall positive experience with us here at Hualalai. We very much appreciate you choosing to spend your vacation with us and we hope to see you again soon in paradise!  Mahalo, Graham Williamson Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MuyFun wrote a review Feb 2021
Newport Beach, California89 contributions121 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was thrilled to be able to take a vacation given the COVID mess. I realize the property has only recently been reopened. The service was not nearly as good at the many other four seasons properties I have stayed at in the past.

The room was an ocean view that with tax and other fees was $2K/night. Way overpriced given the level of service.

1. Room cleaning was bad. Sand on the floor, carpet not vacuumed daily. Coffee and creamer not restocked.

2. Getting into the restaurants at dinner was not easy with long waits.

3. The concierge screwed up the billing for the day trips (Entire excursions were billed to one party in our group).

4. Room service food was delicious. I was happy about this because I had to eat room service several nights because the restaurants were full.

5. Poolside service was hit and miss. I expect more from four seasons.

6. The beach was very rocky and when the high tide came in at night, the walkway on the property would be covered with sand. Only cleaned up intermittently.

7. Resort is being rebuilt. Lots of construction noise.

8. Spa was nice with great massages

9. Gym was open

I'm giving them a break for what should be a 1-star review - due to the COVID closure. I can say with confidence that I will NEVER stay at this property again. My expectations for a four seasons property with a room this expensive were not even close to being met. The four seasons should change the name until they get it together.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sebastian Hinsch, Owner at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded Feb 24, 2021
Aloha, I want to thank you for sharing your experience with us, I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not equal to your past Four Seasons experiences. We are addressing these issues within the team and appreciate you taking the time to show us room for improvement. If you would like to provide any additional comments please feel free to contact me directly at any time. With Aloha, Sebastian Hinsch Resort Manager sebastian.hinsch@fourseasons.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
F A wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto, Canada67 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really do not see how anyone can give this resort anything less than 5 stars. Have stayed at Four Seasons all over the world and this far exceeds the level of service and amenities of any of them. Have visited all of the Hawaiian islands and the location of this resort and the available activities on and off the property is the best of any of the Hawaiian Islands.
Restaurants have a great variety of food, service is impeccable, breakfast buffet is superb.
The pools and beach areas are gorgeous, never crowded. Yes it is not a true sandy beach for swimming, but you can see sea turtles right on the beach and breaching whales and Spinner dolphins just offshore. And the protected area is fun to swim in. Snorkeling in Kings Pond is a must-do. The other pools are perfect for swimming and family activities.
The sports centre is immense- huge well equipped gym, tennis courts,bocce ball, ping pong.
Rooms are large, clean, excellent house keeping service. Our room was always cleaned by the time we finished morning activities.
They will arrange a wide variety of off property activities. Ali'i snorkeling trip, and any of the Hawaii Forest and Trail tours have to be tried.
The Big Island has to be experienced it is so different from any of the other Islands (even though it is hard to want to leave the beautiful resort)
This was far and away our best sun vacation ever.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: ground floor, poolside adjoining rooms are a great option for families
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SHinsch, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Aloha, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We are honored to have been given the opportunity to provide such a memorable experience for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon in paradise! Sebastian Hinsch Resort Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kailua-Kona area.
PRICE RANGE
C$1,942 - C$2,771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
four seasons resort hualalai at historic ka`upulehu hotel kailua-kona, 4 seasons resort hualalai at historic ka`upulehu, four seasons kailua-kona, kailua-kona four seasons, four seasons hawaii, four seasons hualalai
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
249
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Four Seasons Resort Hualalai - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Which popular attractions are close to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Nearby attractions include Makalawena/Pu'u Ali'i (6.3 km), Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay) (2.5 km), and Kiholo Bay (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Conveniently located restaurants include ULU Ocean Grill, Hualalai Grille, and Residents' Beach House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Four Seasons Resort Hualalai have airport transportation?
Yes, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Four Seasons Resort Hualalai offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
All Kailua-Kona HotelsKailua-Kona Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kailua-KonaHotels near Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars