We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kanaloa at Kona

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Kanaloa at Kona
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

781 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 698: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great unit super value- listen and watch the waves from the lanai and master suite. Clean, new carpets, well maintained by owners. Will be back again! Ceiling fans in all rooms keep the condo comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank t0psy2
Webster, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

terible cleaning fees smelled smoke all evening just to keep it cool on first floor somebody singing or radio till 11 pm not a modern place would not recomend it to my worst enemy main office air conditioned of course

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronson2016
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We stayed at the hotel for two nights 08/06/2016 our room rate was $159 and then we were charged a cleaning fee of $159 ! This was in the very small print of the conformation that was sent to us under "general information: "A MANDATORY DEPARTURE CLEANING COST WILL BE ADDED TO ROOM COST AT DEPARTURE BASED ON THE CATEGORY...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
Stephen H, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Aloha, It is disappointing that this experience affected your recent stay at Kanaloa. There are a number of companies that rent units for owners of Kanaloa At Kona. The cleaning fee you were charged is common for vacation rentals in Hawaii. Some companies provide a discount for shorter stays. Castle Resorts and Hotels is the onsite rental management company and...

Reviewed 24 October 2016

Booked this condo at a reasonable rate- Was not told we had to go to a different location to get the condo key-was not told it was extra daily (25$) for the air conditioning, the ad said it came with. When we finally paid the extra-plus house cleaning fee of 200 we walked into a 3rd floor condo -carrying 8...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darci R
Hilo, Hawaii
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Our room at Kanaloa was lovely. The Lanai looked right out onto the ocean. It was very clean, the kitchen was well-stocked and the staff was friendly. If you arrive after business hours, be sure to have the phone number with you so you can let them know you are there (choose the option for Security and someone will come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Gosh Condo 3502 totally exceeded our expectations. We stayed there for 2 weeks to watch the Iron Man and was so happy in this condo. It has a lovely entrance and for a 1 bedroom it was very spacious indeed. Loved the extra day bed, beautiful space and myself and hubby where able to have a bathroom each, wonderful. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PrincessPink653
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely large condo with everything we needed. So much room, helpful attentive staff. Lovely ocean view. Great place to stay if going for the Hawaii Ironman. 10 km from downtown Kona. 2 km walk to a smirking beach full of turtles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank floodnik
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Second time here, but first since Castle Resorts and Hotels took over. Castle has improved the organization with better information, faster service if problems and the grounds are beautiful. We had 2 bedrooms, a large loft, and 2 baths. It was very clean, no bugs and well supplied with towels, sheets and kitchen utensils. Sadly no air conditioning, although I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harold C
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2016

I'll start with the positive. Large rooms, close to the ocean. Nice grounds and pool. The bad. Our room stunk. Sign at the door said please take shoes off and the kids asked if that was to protect floor from shoes or our shoes from the carpet. I thought they were joking but it was a fair question. I hate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterBarras
Colton Oregon
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Air conditioning not working when we checked in, kitchen way less than clean. Moved us to another unit and all was well. Fabulous views from the lanai. Would definatly consider this rental on future visits. Koan is spectacular. Too many activities to fit into one week...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorisweetcheeks

663 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (464)
Viewed
View from Room (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (139)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Fairway View 2 BR (50)
Viewed
Ocean Front (58)
Viewed
Ocean View with Loft (53)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
9.0 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,631 reviews
4.8 km away
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Castle Kona Bali Kai
#15 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
401 reviews
5.8 km away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $198 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kanaloa at Kona staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Kanaloa at Kona staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“high rates for cleaning $69 one night”
 of 5 bubbles ronson2016, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had the sea shore view, which is rocky with great surf to watch.”
 of 5 bubbles haroldc718, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to request clean...”
 of 5 bubbles Lorisweetcheeks, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean front - the only way to go in Hawaii!”
 of 5 bubbles BonnieV23, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get an ocean view room.”
 of 5 bubbles 791jakes, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay