We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kona Seaside Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,061 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 875: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had mainland guests for the week to celebrate a graduation, and suggested this hotel to them. We told them that the rate was reasonable (and it included breakfast) and they could save $$$ instead of staying at the other hotels nearby. They were very disappointed for several reasons, but mostly because of the poor and negative attitude from the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Sherl W
kimiwoodd, Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry that you were dissatisfied with your visit. If you would like to dicuss your experience in greater detail please call me at 808 737 5800 x 223. Patti Woodd More 

Santa BArbara
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had to stay here overnight to catch our flight out. I wished we had stayed here a few days. It is nothing over the top great, but the hotel is across from water and some rooms have ocean views, it is clean and tidy with no weird smells like some budget hotels have, no mildew in tub, nice balconies,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank finbarsmom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is a bit dated in appearance, but was clean and the staff were very friendly. For the price we paid for a room I cannot complain. It is in a good location, a short walk down to the water and many restaurants. I did find it annoying that we had to get a new wifi password each time... More 

Helpful?
Thank RalphyandHuey
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Great place to stay central, clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again, if I just wanted a place to crash. Great internet access in the lobby, local restaurants and close to the pier. Only negative is local attraction knowledge from the staff. It is minor but we had difficulty finding tour information and went to another hotel tour desk which... More 

Helpful?
Thank mbsalert
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Great value if you want to be in the heart of Kona. Pool was nice to jump in after being in the ocean, my room had a ocean view but I think that is just luck!! Staff were really friendly and location great. If you want a flashy hotel, go across the road to the Courtyard, otherwise, this is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank keiran m
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

If you are looking for a basic bedroom, this is it. Clean, limited view, an excellent breakfast. However, parking is limited to non-existant. Arrived after a 10 hour flight to be told "no more parking"--found out a concert was nearby, so suggestion was to park in the public lot--which was full. Desk clerk was no help, even tho there were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mspeed
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

What is really great about the hotel is its location. It is very close to the oceanfront and centre of the village. There are many restaurants and shops very close to it, within couple of minutes of walking. One side of the hotel looks towards the pool and the street, the other side looks towards private gardens, shops and ocean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank omehes
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

OK, this is not a 5 star hotel, but what it lacks in amenities it makes up for in service and location. I stayed here on business for 5 days. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff is excellent. I found it convenient to everyplace I had to go. I would recommend this hotel for business travelers or... More 

Helpful?
Thank John-W010
Pinehurst, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

There are alot of good things about this hotel. I hate to pay a bunch of money just for a bed to sleep in. This place shows its age but is clean enough. It is located close enough so that you can walk to the shops on Ali'i and the pier is just down the street. We got up early... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom H
Longmont, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here because ratings were decent and price was OK for a slightly late booking. High, hidden fees for parking took away much of the price advantage. It was a very small room, which was OK, but the window box air conditioner was placed to blow directly on our heads. It was not pleasant at all! Toast or freeze........ More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ginakLongmont_CO

469 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Other (65)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (218)
Viewed
Deluxe Oceanview Room (56)
Viewed
Deluxe Oceanview Room (Alternative) (47)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Superior Poolview Room (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.2 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
98.2 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,624 reviews
9.8 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $185 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kona Seaside Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
Seattle, Washington, United States
4 months ago
5 months ago
over a year ago
philadelphia
10 months ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Kona Seaside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room in the upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles 96freddys, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get an ocean view room.”
 of 5 bubbles EarlC174, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floors may have less traffic noise as located on a busy intersection.”
 of 5 bubbles slwalker2016, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“South side has the better view.”
 of 5 bubbles E2279NHkevinr, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the fourth floor with a nice bayside view nearer the bay. Plenty quiet where we were.”
 of 5 bubbles 844bobbya, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay