We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,800 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,381: English reviews
Start your review of Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
 Click to rate
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed two nights here while traveling to Hilo from the Kona coast. The hotel itself is obviously an older property but there were renovations underway and some updates had already been completed. The hotel had a large, updated "traveler's hub" where you can use new model computers to book flights and print boarding passes which we really appreciated. We also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dtoliphant7
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nicely located in the heart of Kailau-Kona - lots of good restaurants near by. Small beach. Rooms are decent size but the overall hotels needs to be renovated. First room we had was musty and damp, with lumpy beds and noisy because of elevators. Second room was better but noisy as it was at the front to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CL_travels2008
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We are so sorry that you did not have the most positive of experiences at our hotel. The musty smell in the first room was mainly due to the recent shampooing of its carpet. The room should have been properly aired out prior to the next guest's arrival. As for the second room, we have your room information from...

Kihei, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I never write reviews, but it was the worst run hotel I have ever been to. I was sitting at the pool restaurant and an unknown child vomited in the pool, then behind my chair, and along the walkway. I told our waitress and she hardly cared and continued on her way, then told the bartender after 10 minutes. She...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mauijulie
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We're sorry that the unfortunate incident with that child ruined your pool experience. I would like you to know that the incident was reported shortly after it happened. However, it took a few extra minutes to get the maintenance person there, with the correct equipment and proper cleaning agents. The cleanliness of our hotel and its amenities is of...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel location was perfect. Close to downtown, waterfront, shops and most you'd want to do. Nice grounds. Terrific service from the staff. The coffee shop in the hotel by the ABC store is as good or better than any on the waterfront. However the hotel restaurant was so expensive I wouldn't dare even try it. $26.00 US for the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry O
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We thank you for the great feedback provided about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know everything worked out for you. The $25 cost for the extensive all you can eat breakfast buffet is really a great price for all that is available to our diners. The view of Kamakahonu Bay and the beach area...

Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for 4 nights. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is right on the water and has great snorkeling right in front of it. The pool is nice, but there is not a lot of seating. The nice thing is that security come around to make sure only hotel guests are using the pool facilities. Easy walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arbourvista
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback with us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay. We will soon be having some renovation work done around the pool deck that will be increasing the size of the seating area, something our guests have been indicating they'd like...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had relatively low expectations-it's an old property after all and we read the reviews. The hotel is ok. The bathroom fixtures are already wearing after what appears to be a recent renovation. The room was pretty clean and the bed ok but it smelled musty. The view of a flat roof and the rooms across was pretty terrible unless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rumalu
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We were saddened to read your feedback about your expectations and eventual stay at our hotel. We apologize that we unable to provide you with more to make your experience more positive. I would like to share with you that our hotel receives a renovation or "refresh" every 6-7 years. It's been that long since the last project, and...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were here for an event so spent 7 nights at this hotel and the entire time the staff were friendly, helpful and always smiling. The rooms are of a good standard, nothing expectational but in good condition and provided everything we needed, there was the bonus of a deck and large opening doors was good to get a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZer_on_tour
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for pointing out some of the great benefits of planning a stay at our hotel. Besides the great location and tons of activities nearby, we do have some of the most helpful, friendly, sincere staff on the island. They are true ambassadors of the aloha spirit. We are very honored by your recommendations to others to schedule...

Harbor, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are so happy with our choice! We have been to Kona many times, watched the triathlon start and finish here and decided it looked like a good place to celebrate our 30th anniversary. So many good reasons to stay here: very friendly, helpful staff from the front desk, house keeping, bar attendants, and more. As a side note -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FromtheCoast187
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Our congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary! Thank you for choosing to stay with us while celebrating this monumental occasion. We are pleased to know that you are having an enjoyable visit and that you're finding our hotel to be the ideal location for this visit. We do have microwave ovens available for a nominal fee of $10 per day....

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to this hotel several times in the past, and Marriott has improved some of the rooms and provides a reasonably priced location in downtown Kona near the harbor. Swimming pool is ok as long as there are not too many kids to compete with, and the views towards the ocean are ok, though towards town it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 479casimirk
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for being a returning guest to our hotel. We appreciate the feedback you've provided to us and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed another great stay with us. We hope to see you again soon and until then, we bid you a fond, aloha! Mahalo, Jak Hu General Manager

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights while travelling around the Big Island and were very disappointed. We tried to check in early but they said we'd have to come back at 3. No worries there. When we returned at 3 our room wasn't ready but they told us they'd give us a nice upgrade. When we came back two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ryan G
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, I apologize for the situations you encountered during your visit to our hotel. When we make a commitment to our guests, it is our obligation to follow through and provide it to them. Unfortunately in your case, we failed to do so. I have mentioned this incident to our Front Desk managers to follow up on and identify what...

1,651 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1430)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (168)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (334)
Viewed
Bathroom (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (226)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (146)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Other (420)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (221)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.2 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,740 reviews
33.6 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $245 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
69 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (69)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If wanting to do a luau, book it with your room as a package deal as the savings are significant.”
 of 5 bubbles dtoliphant7, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request a room away from elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles CL_travels2008, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Doesn't really matter. Town side or other side. Neither has a full view of the ocean but both have partial views.”
 of 5 bubbles terryo687, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“partial ocean view to avoid noise on town side”
 of 5 bubbles 479casimirk, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view from thee West tower. East tower has road noise on the mountain side.”
 of 5 bubbles jtudbury, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5