We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612
Special Offer
Member Rates
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Kona Brewing Company
    0.3 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 1 week ago
Great Location and definitely an Upgrade from the standard Courtyard
This hotel is much better than most Courtyard's by Marriott. It... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,715 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,301: English reviews
Austin, tx
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is much better than most Courtyard's by Marriott. It had beautiful lobby areas with historic Hawaiian pictures, a great view of the ocean and a sandy beach lagoon right on the property. While all beaches in Hawaii are public, the convenience of this city located beach would be especially good for families with small children. It was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missy_Robbins
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We appreciate your comments about the positive experience you had at our hotel in Kona. We are very happy to read that you found so many notable things about the hotel, our surroundings and our friendly staff. We hope that you will be back soon for another visit. Mahalo, Jak Hu General Manager

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there on points 5-9 January 2016. The room was a little dated, but the staff and the stay was fantastic. Obvious that in Hawaii you are not going to spend a lot of time in the room, but it was a good hotel in a great location on the big island. We checked out early in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeRedmond2911
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the great feedback you've provided to us about your recent stay. You'll have come back in the near future to check out the upgrades we will be outfitting our guest rooms, public areas and lobbies with. I'm sure you'll like what we've done. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us. Jak Hu General Manager

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a week at the King Kamehameha in January with a room overlooking the cove. From our balcony, we had an ever changing backdrop of activities to watch when we were not out on the beach ourselves. We went snorkeling, parasailing & paddle boarding, all within easy reach of the hotel. The staff was extremely polite and friendly. Service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you're stay with us was an outstanding experience for you. We invite you to come back and visit us again in the near future and allow us to be your hosts once more. Mahalo, Jak Hu General Manager

Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staying here for a few days before boarding Kona Aggressor II. Nice rooms with a great historical location. Several stores (including an ABC) in the hotel. Breakfast buffet had a good variety. Hotel staff very professional. Pool bar with a view of the bay. Many shopping options within a short walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScubaTraveler42
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Very glad you had the opportunity to experience what so many of our guests rave about. The location of our hotel cannot be beat. It's proximity to shopping, dining and activities makes it such a popular destination. Happy to know you had a wonderful stay we hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Jak Hu General Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice little place right next to everything. Stores and resturant are all within walking distance and super close. Had to fly in for quick business trip and this place was booked for us by one of our pilots. The ladies at the front desk were nice. The decor is old and out dated but a lot of Hawaii hotels are....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
J-HuGeneralManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and your stay. I'm happy to let you know that we'll be beginning very shortly, an upgrade to all of our guest rooms, lobby and public areas. Every six to seven years we refresh the hotel and update a few things that bring a more modern feel to the hotel....

Eagle
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and very good Marriott hospitality. Spacious, inviting, plenty of beautiful people, be sure to visit the beach hut. All of Kailua is within walking, plenty of bars and shopping and of course the bay is right there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Idahotraveler88
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Mahalo for your feedback. Were you visiting a guest here? Aloha, Jak Hu General Manager

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was absolutely positively surprised by this hotel. This place is located right at the historic Kona Pier/Kamakahonu bay at Kailua village which besides being a tourist attraction on its own, is a location that is sooo convenient to everything you want to do. Rooms are nice and comfortable. The beds and linen are the of quality expected from a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tabamoura
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We are so happy to know that we did not disappoint you! Thank you for your seal of approval and positive feedback about the service, the surroundings and our awesome staff. They are what truly makes our hotel such a great place to stay at. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Jak Hu General Manager

Hauser, Idaho
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed January 6-9, 2017. Hotel had a very strong odor of carpet cleaner, very harsh on someone with very mild asthma.. Seafood buffet dinner at Honu was OK, service was terrible. Rooms are extremely small for even 2 people with no room in the bathroom to hardly stand. Amenities in the room were subpar. Room service was non-existint. Hotel did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pcmusselman
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, I am sorry that you had such a disappointing stay at our hotel recently. We did have our carpets cleaned over a month ago, but the products used were fragrant fee because we do realize that some guests are very sensitive to chemical residue odors. I am surprised with your comments as you are the first to report the...

Bellingham, Washington, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got a good deal on a 10-night stay here just before Christmas 2016, via Costco Travel. The beach is small, but kid-friendly with gentle wave action--not the case in many places around the island. While snorkel enthusiasts would not be impressed, you can still see a lot of pretty fish around the rocks just offshore, and it's a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We appreciate the feedback you've shared with us regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a enjoyable stay and many conveniences located within close proximity to us. Sharing information about the snorkeling and other fun things you came across will be very helpful for others who...

LaSalle, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overall a decent hotel, reasonably priced and in a very handy location. Great: One of the few hotels on the island that is attached to a beach! Pleasant little public beach in front of the hotel where you can rent paddle boards and other fun stuff. Good: Location! Walking distance to a ton of restaurants. We traveled with our two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LT080868
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback about your vacation with us. Mahalo, Jak Hu General Manager

1,589 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1370)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (329)
Viewed
View from Room (144)
Viewed
Room/Suite (217)
Viewed
Bathroom (72)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Other (401)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (219)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (54)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.2 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,086 reviews
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,683 reviews
33.6 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel and restaurants newly renovated in 2011. All 452 rooms have been upgraded which feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen television and complimentary in-room safe. You’ll experience a brand new hotel from the moment you step into the new lobby. You’ll also find completely renovated corridors, business center, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool and a 24-hour complimentary guest fitness center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $253 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
60 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (60)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Reserve a full ocean view it is worth it. Splashes and Quinn's are across the street for meals.”
 of 5 bubbles 805PaulM805, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay for ocean view unless you want a view of traffic or the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanO713, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have balconies and partial views of the ocean, but there are some which face the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Missy_Robbins, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any room with a west or southwest view.”
 of 5 bubbles johnpY91SZ, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a western facing room on 4th floor or higher on the west tower so you can see the Sunset over the ocean from your balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles tabamoura, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5