We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kona Reef Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
Panoramas (23)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kona Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 505: English reviews
Loomis, California
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Very friendly! Helpful staff. Brandon was very helpful before arriving and Tiere was SO helpful with all kinds of info at check in. We borrowed beach chairs for a few days. Could have borrowed boogie boards and snorkel gear if we wanted. All visitors we met were so nice and friendly. Nice BBQ area outside that we used twice. Refreshing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LOLorrie
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We first booked with a fellow named Cameron and not sure what happened to him but he never did get back to us after we send him so the money, luckily our bank returned our money to us. We then booked with Castle and we had a lovely condo with ocean view. The condo was more expensive than we usually...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank flamfam
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We booked a weeks stay at the Kona Reef and will never return! Our plane arrived late so were unable to check in until after office hours. We called the manager and were told our room was#D1 and were given a code for the lock box on the door. There was no light in the hallway so took us about...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Lynn H
williamstown.ma
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed for a month in unit e-23 and loved every minute. The unit looks over the pool area with an excellent ocean view. The surf was just loud enough. The unit was clean an well equipped with a comfortable queen bed. The bathroom was clean.the kitchen was good for cooking excellent meals almost every night. You could walk out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wino873
Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We chose Kona Reef mainly because of the (mostly) enthusiastic reviews on tripadvisor and we were very happy with our choice. We arranged our stay through a travel agent. The condo was quiet, attractively furnished and the kitchen was very well equipped. We were on the third floor (C21) but, because of the slope down to the ocean, we actually...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank happydancer
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We had stayed here for 13 days or almost 3 weeks. When it was time to go home, we asked a couple of days ahead if we could stay in the room until later in the day because our flight leaves at 12:05AM (morning) and we had no place to hang out. This was a Monday and restaurants are mainly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank andy a
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, I have reviewed our records and confirmed the details about your stay in December 2011. The unit was not going to be occupied that evening and your request for a late checkout should have been accommodated. When our occupancy permits we certainly do accommodate late check outs. I apologize that this was not made available to you and your...

Colorado
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We had an upstairs oceanfront corner unit with an amazing view. We saw whales right from the lanai and spectacular sunsets every night. Kona Reef is in a great location if you want to be walking distance into town, but not right in the thick of it. It's also a short drive to a great snorkeling beach - Kahaluu Beach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FOCO_10
Seattle
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We rented a first floor condo over Thanksgiving 2012 (Unit A5). It was a beautiful view and had been remodeled, but the unit had a horrible mosquito infestation. No kidding - the first night we killed at least 40 mosquitos, and on nights two and three at least 20 mosquitos each night. We tried to contact the owner for help,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeuxSeattle
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kona Reef Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, Due to our climate mosquito's can be a problem, the property management company does treat the grounds regularly and the units in our rental program. I know you rented the unit directly from the owner but as the onsite company managing this unit you could have contacted our front desk about this issue. I apologize that you were not...

Balmertown
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed in D6 for thirteen nights and enjoyed it very much. The condo has all the amenities that are needed for a stay such as ours. Very well equipped and nicely appointed. The view is truly spectacular and never tires. We look forward to returning to Kona Reef and hopefully D6. We also enjoyed the friendly neighbours and overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil V
Kelso, Wa
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in D-33, which is a top floor ocean front unit. The place had everything we needed (washer/dryer, sand chairs, beach towels, umbrella, boogie boards, snorkel gear, ice chests, well stocked kitchen) and was clean. They don’t do daily maid service, but they had extra towels and linens in the room. The only thing they didn’t have was a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank flyinprincess

528 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
View from Room (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
BBQ Area (6)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Oceanfront Condo Unit (52)
Viewed
Oceanview Condo Unit (56)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.5 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,740 reviews
8.3 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
7.0 km away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kona Reef is an oceanfront condominium resort adjacent to a sandy beach park in historic Kailua-Kona and near quaint shops and restaurants. One- and two-bedroom suites offer full-kitchens, FREE WiFi, and ocean or garden views. Amenities include an oceanfront swimming pool, jet spa, and a cabana with barbecue area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kona Reef Resort

Address: 75-5888 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1312
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $206 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kona Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kona Reef Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Reef Kailua
Kona Reef Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kona Reef Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Kona Reef Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A and F wings are ocean front away from the road. Grounds floors are less private as there is a public walk way in front.”
 of 5 bubbles A1765YTsusanh, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Read all reviews. Contact owner and ask questions. Top floor rooms are best.”
 of 5 bubbles MFP3, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front is the nicest but our room was poolside and it was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles MarieP945, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not all units appear to be equal -- ours was perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles ChezFit, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles LeonP703, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5