We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renfro's Lakeside Retreat

Save
Traveller (152)
Room & Suite (68)
Pool & Beach (7)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
Overview
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“kenai lake”(23 reviews)
“paddle boats”(21 reviews)
“fire pit”(28 reviews)
Public Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
226
30
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
226
30
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskenai lakepaddle boatsfire pitlake viewmoose passgreat rv parklife jacketscooper landingrv sitescooking utensilsfree kayakspiece of heavenbeautiful place to stayinternet accesslaundry facilitystayed nightswonderful stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Renfro's was highly recommended to us by another campground operator and we were not disappointed. This is a clean, well maintained campground. The restroom and shower a clean and in excellent condition. Gary, the owner, will greet you on arrival and get you situated. We...More

Thank JKenC42
Response from Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside RetreatResponded 23 July 2017

I am pleased we exceeded your expectations and you found the r.v. park clean and well maintained. I am glad we were able to accommodate your needs. If you ever make it up here again, please stop by as it would be great to see...More

Reviewed 13 July 2017

The cabin was a perfect way to end our stay in Alaska. We actually wanted to stay an extra night. It was very relaxing with a perfect amount of amenities. Attention to detail was perfect. There was a light blanket to wrap in when chilly,...More

Thank Joseph J
Response from Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside RetreatResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review and express your appreciation! I am glad you picked up on the attention to detail and the amenities provided as it helps set us apart from the other lodging experiences....More

Reviewed 13 July 2017

Out cabin was nice, comfortable, and quiet. Enjoyed a kayaking trip on the lake with the resort's Kayaks. One of the most pleasant hosts ever. The pre arrival coordination was profession and excellent.More

Thank Charlie R
Response from Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside RetreatResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for the complements! I appreciate it! The kayaks have been a big hit and my hope is that others get to enjoy them in the future. Not many guests mention pre arrival information; I am glad you found it useful. Thank you for...More

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed two tranquil nights on Kenai Lake. The view out the front door is incredible. Enjoyed fishing and skipping stones on the lake. Had a fire in pit by the shore. Kitchen made meal prep enjoyable. Staff was very helpful.More

1  Thank Joe R
Response from Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside RetreatResponded 17 July 2017

Oh the view - never gets old! It sounds like you had some time enjoying some old past times like fishing, skipping rocks and an incredible fire by the lake. Thanks for branding us an Awesome Retreat! I will continue to do my best to...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Spent 1 night in the woods. Wonderful place. Very clean and peaceful. Thank you. Someone complained about Gary not mailing stuff for him. Sad this is an issue as this service is not offered. Nature and smiles are willingly granted.

Thank tween2
Response from Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside RetreatResponded 17 July 2017

I am glad you found it perfect for you! We strive and do our best to provide a clean and peaceful experience for all our guests! I will take nature and smiles everyday! Thank you for staying with us!

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Seward, AK
See all 13 hotels in SewardSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$76 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$76 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (152)
Room & Suite (68)
Pool & Beach (7)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jacqueline_Cheung
3 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Gary G | Property representative |
Thank you for your recent inquiry. We are 20 miles to the North of Seward where the Cruise Ship Terminal is located. Thank you, Gary
0
Votes
Snowstryder
11 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Gary G | Property representative |
Thank you for your recent inquiry. Unfortunately we are not wheelchair accessible in the cabins. Thank you for your question!
0
Votes
Yve S
12 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Gary G | Property representative |
Thank you for your recent inquiry. Yes, all our cabins are equipped with running water, electricity and individual bathrooms in your cabin that include a shower. Many also enjoy on demand hot water systems so you never run... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Spend the little extra for a lakeside cabin"
Read review
"Lakeside cabins cannot be beat!!!!!"
Read review
"Cabins on the water are a must- the view can't be beat!"
Read review
"cabins on the lake are ridiculous cool.. stayed in #2."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing