We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 210: English reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The hostel was located conveniently off the train from the airport. 20 minute walk to Pike Place and the big sights. Bathrooms were all singles and did get full at night and in the morning, which was a little annoying. The bedrooms were nice and well equipped, but were pretty tight. There was construction outside our window, but that is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. I hope you enjoyed your trips to Pike Place Market and the other attractions in our city. The train you took to get to the hostel from the airport also continues on to Pike Place Market, the Capitol Hill neighborhood, and the University of Washington. There are also a number of buses that use...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I was alone in downtown Seattle before heading back Edmonds. Had a real wonderful suprised staying here .. friendly staffs, simple warm breakfast, nice people around, comfortable bed (compared to the rate are paying which is really good). Two thump up!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KikiW4
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and were able to utilize our offerings before you going back to Edmonds. Thanks so much for your very kind review! We'll see you again soon! Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

South Jersey
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Stayed here with my Boy Scout troop after spending a week and a half in Olympic National Park. The staff here were REALLY friendly and helpful, offering advice and tips for any and all questions having to do with Seattle. Walking tours started daily from the front door of the building. The train station is only half a block away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikebickerson
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your well thought out descriptions of the hostel offerings and the neighborhood. I couldn't have said it better myself! It was wonderful to have your scout group here and we were happy to help any way we could. I'm so glad that the kids were able to meet folks and scouts from other countries and...

Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Get the train from the airport, get off financial district/Chinatown stop, hotel less than 100 yards from station. Range of accommodation- from dorms to rooms for 3 (family). Shared facilities- clean + plentiful. Breakfast from 0600-0900, early start is good for tours/visiting. Multiple Asian eateries within 2 minutes of front door, convenience store around the corner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plutoquinny
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great directions and description of the facilities. That about covers it! I'm so glad that you had a wonderful stay and were able to utilize the nearby transportation options to experience the city. In addition to the convenience store around the corner, there is a large grocery store one block away, Uwajimaya, that offers just about...

Juneau, Alaska
Reviewed 23 July 2016

The staff is incredible. the WIFI is outstanding. there is a community tv in the common areas. A wonderful kitchen to cook if you want to. also right in ChinaTown. Close to the main train to get to and from the airport. I enjoyed this stay. Be aware that it is downtown Seattle...keep track of your surroundings. overall yes indeed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dylans111
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Great advice about downtown Seattle and the staff will be pleased to hear that you had a great stay! Hopefully you were able to make some new friends while hanging out in the tv room and kitchen. At the moment, the Olympic Games are being played on the tv and it's creating quite a fun atmosphere. Thanks so much for...

Reviewed 16 July 2016

this hostel was literally the worst hostel i've even been in US. i landed Seattle a bit late, around 10:30 and checked in at this place around 11PM. i wish it wasnt too late and i wasnt too tired so that i could go somewhere else. there were bunch of drunk and homeless people right at the entrance. as soon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maya Z
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

I am so so sorry that you had a difficult experience when you arrived and that you felt unsafe while you were here. We try our best to make everyone feel as safe and comfortable as possible as we know that the appearance of the neighborhood can be unsettling to some of our guests. Unfortunately, in Seattle and other major...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 July 2016

This is definitely the worst HI hostel I've ever stayed in, and it ranks in the bottom three of all of the hosteling experiences I've ever had worldwide. I gave it two stars only because the staff were great. The place is dirty... The carpet is gross in the rooms, the blankets are literally threadbare, the toilets have muck on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NikkiTex
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you had a poor experience here. We do take guest feedback such as this very seriously and housekeeping has been made aware of the cleanliness examples you mentioned. We have also ordered new blankets and mattresses for the beds. Please feel free to contact us directly at lydia@americanhotelseattle.com if you do wish to discuss this...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 30 June 2016

This was a fairly decent hostel for the price, really notable for the excellent service provided by everybody who was working there. Staff genuinely went out of their way to make visitors stays the easiest (and funnest) possible. The hostel itself seems fairly typical for a youth hostel, a bit of grit and grime on it, but overall clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Montravelguy
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad to hear that you found our hostel safe and clean and our service excellent. It's what we strive for and I'll make sure to tell the front desk and housekeeping teams. I am so sorry about the noisy and smelly roommates. It is sometimes part of the hostelling experience, though we do have ear plugs and air...

brisbane
Reviewed 5 June 2016

I was surprised what this Hostel offered for the rates they charged us per night. All the positives of this hostel are: Very friendly and helpful staff. Very near train and public transport to all areas of Seattle and the airport. It is at the beginning of China Town. Free breakfast and huge kitchen where you can make you own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ron k
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. I will certainly pass along your observations to our hardworking staff. Best of luck and travel safe.

Bangalore
Reviewed 16 May 2016

I stayed in a shared, male dorm. The dorm was clean, bed comfortable, comforter cozy and bathrooms sufficient and hygienic. The free WiFi worked well throughout and the staff's level of friendliness and helpfulness was outstanding. The location itself was very convenient for the budget traveler (in Chinatown and barely a minute from the Light Link Rail).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hitesh S
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your supportive comments and observations. We wish you safe travels.

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Square Hotel
Downtown
Panama Hotel
Panama Hotel
#84 of 102 in Seattle
149 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#6 of 102 in Seattle
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
2,457 reviews
Hotel 1000
#10 of 102 in Seattle
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostelling International Seattle, Seattle’s premier hostel, which is conveniently located at the historic American Hotel in the International District of downtown Seattle.Renovated in 2009, Bicycle rentals, Common rooms, Computers (to check e-mail and the web, print boarding passes, etc.),Credit cards accepted,Discounts to Seattle attractions,Grocery store (one-block away), kitchen (self-serve), laundry, & library/game room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel

Address: 520 S King St, Seattle, WA 98104-2834 (Formerly American Hotel)
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > International District
Price Range: $98 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bozeman, Montana
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private Room, or 4 bedroom dorm room.”
 of 5 bubbles RockingTravelQueen, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a private room with 3 or more travelers.”
 of 5 bubbles louiseo937, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Best views, Best Quality, Low Noise, Convenient Transportation to and from Sound Transit Link's International District/Chinatown Station.”
 of 5 bubbles DennisAlabaso, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Best location ever just north of Downtown Seattle and south of the SeaTac International Airport.”
 of 5 bubbles DennisAlabaso, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Book EARLY as possible for best prices.”
 of 5 bubbles F3180DLjamesc, 11 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay