We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Puffin Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Puffin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Puffin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 282: English reviews
Charlton
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the Puffin Inn the last night of our Alaskan vacation - they allowed us to check in a few hours early AND check out later than normal at no extra charge. We stayed in the main building on the 3rd floor where the rooms were large, clean and very comfortable. Each room had a small refrigerator and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zojmn151
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Friendly staff, comfortable accommodations, great service — that's what we're going for, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review here on Yelp! Next time you visit Alaska, stop in and say hello! All the best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Phoenix, AZ
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in the main buiding of this hotel and it was clean and in good repair. I was told by friends that recently stayed here to stay only in the main building, not the other two buildings, which were considerably less desirable. Chico, the manager, is the best part of this hotel. He definitely knows what customer service is!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elledog1944
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We work so hard to provide all of our customers with a great experience, so I know Chico is going to be so excited to hear your compliments! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay in Anchorage. Next time you're in town, make sure to let us know. Cheers: Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Mishawaka, Indiana
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our group of six stayed at the Puffin Inn on our way through Anchorage to our lodge fishing experience in southwest Alaska. The folks at the front desk were most pleasant and accommodating throughout the stay. We had a room on the main building's corridor. The room appeared to have been recently remodeled (since our last visit five years ago)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jmtrout1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It's great to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating! I'm glad that you enjoyed your rooms in the main building. Even though our older buildings are not as up to date, they should be clean and comfortable. Hopefully, your friends found them that way. Thank you for your feedback here on TripAdvisor. If you're ever back in Alaska,...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed twice on our trip for connections in and out of Anchorage. It's only okay for the money. I don't know what the rate is for the main building, but it's probably the best place to stay at this Inn. We stayed in the middle bldg - it's clean and comfortable. BUT ugh, the ciggie pots outside the doors...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caro D
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback here on TripAdvisor, Caro! I will definitely speak to our staff about emptying the cigarette pots more frequently. I appreciate your thoughts and hope you give us another chance on your next trip to Alaska! Till then, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I came in on a late flight 12am. The shuttle driver and the front desk clerk were very nice,great conversation. When we arrived at the Puffin Inn it was close to 1am. We were told that we had room 1112. This room is behind the main building, not a problem but the laundry room is right there,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ebmorr
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Customer service is one of our top priorities, so I'm glad that we could put you in a room you liked better! Even though our satellite building are not as up to date as our main building, we work hard to make them all clean and comfortable. If you stay with us again, please let us know what type of...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Be aware when making reservations at the Puffin Inn that you may end up down the street in their less than satisfactory "Chandler Inn". I was terribly disappointed when I was handed my key and told to go down the block to a small building, rather than staying in the very nicely appointed hotel that I checked into. In the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Artistlin
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm disappointing to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. While the Chandler in is a bit older than our main building, we work hard to make sure the accommodations are clean and comfortable as ever. I will definitely take your advice and look into having the carpets steam cleaned. Thank you for the feedback and I hope...

Claremont, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My family and I stayed at the Puffin Inn for 2 nights on July 29-31. We were pleased with the lobby and our room. Both were very clean. We stayed in the newer looking part where the lobby is located. The hotel offers a free 24 hour shuttle to the airport, which helped us , because we were able to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarkS0421
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay with us, Mark! Great location, clean and comfortable accommodations — that's the game plan, so it's great to hear we're hitting our mark! Thanks for the feedback here on TripAdvisor and I hope you visit us again on your next trip to Alaska! All the best, Sonja, Puffin Inn...

Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I should of read The trip advisor reviews before making my reservations! Yes I made my reservations via an Internet site and like the reviewers said I was placed in a sublet Inn called the Chandler Inn down the street! The room carpet was filthy and the bed was horrible and in need of replacing. I did go to the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mary S
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear that our front desk staff was helpful, but very disappointed to hear that we didn't have an open room to put you in, Mary. When guests contact us directly, we like to explain that we also have adjacent properties with rooms, however this is impossible to do in the big travel sites. Thank you for the...

Dubai
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed there several times, it is a good hotel for travelers, close to the airport with free shuttles. You can catch the bus to the city center from the other side of the street (every 20 to 30 mins). The rooms are spacious, some a bit old but clean and practical, there is also a laundry available in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucioline
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It's so great to hear that you've been a returning customer, Lucioline. Great location, friendly staff, tasty breakfast — that's our game plan, so it's great to hear that we're doing a good job! Thank you for the feedback here on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you on your next trip to Alaska! Till then, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

stevensville, montana
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The photo and write up on their web site looked and sounded what we were looking for. They just show the main part, not the other two or three buildings they reserve also. Checking in they told us she had upgraded us to another room......well it was in another much older building and needed updating desperately, chipped paint, chipped counter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigcreek95
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad that we were able to upgrade you, but I'm disappointed to hear that you were unimpressed by our hotel. While our new building is the most recently upgraded, we work hard to make all of our rooms clean and comfortable. I really appreciate your feedback here in TripAdvisor. If you ever come back to Alaska, I hope you'll...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
1.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.2 km away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#52 of 72 in Anchorage
84 reviews
0.2 km away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#41 of 72 in Anchorage
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#34 of 72 in Anchorage
221 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
0.3 km away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether your vacation brings you to Anchorage for one night or many, Puffin Inn offers convenient access to area attractions such as Chugach State Park, the Seward Highway and the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. Our hotel is also minutes from metropolitan entertainment in downtown Anchorage and a short drive to Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport.Puffin Inn offers special conveniences to enhance your stay. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport, a business center, an exercise room, laundry facilities and pet-friendly accommodations. Guests also enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily in our lobby breakfast area. Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Rest assured that you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging. Puffin Inn offers a variety of lodging options suitable for any traveler. Our lodge has 85 guest rooms and suites separated into 4 room styles: Deluxe, Moderate, Boutique and Original. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Puffin Inn

Address: 4400 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517-2914
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range: $54 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Puffin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Puffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puffin Hotel Anchorage
Puffin Inn Anchorage, Alaska
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Puffin Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Ephrata, Washington
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Puffin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book on line to get the lowest rates”
 of 5 bubbles C6729OTbarbaras, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the "large rooms."”
 of 5 bubbles Foxsan, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Away from Spenard Road”
 of 5 bubbles rafterflyfisher, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for main building away from road.”
 of 5 bubbles jadstrim, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure your next to elevator”
 of 5 bubbles ferguson88, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay