We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Puffin Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Puffin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Puffin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 282: English reviews
Connecticut
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The Puffin Inn has 3 types of rooms to accommodate different tastes and budgets. They also have a free breakfast. We stayed in the Moderate room which was fine for the night. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean. Two most important things. The main Inn looked a lot nicer. The lobby is beautiful with high ceilings, a fireplace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ConnWay
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your visit to Alaska! I'm glad you took advantage of our complimentary breakfast. We do have different types of rooms available that are better for certain customers depending on the length and nature of their stay. We're always happy to work with our guests and find which option suits them, so I hope...

Monroe, Washington
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I picked this hotel for a 1 night stay because it was near the airport, had a shuttle service, the desk clerk was very pleasant and it was reasonably priced. I don't think it was even 5 minutes before the shuttle arrived to pick me up so if you arrive in the cold winter months you won't freeze. They run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tambobamba
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm so glad we could accommodate you during your layover! We know airports can be a hassle, so we make getting there and coming back as convenient as possible for our guests. As for our rooms, I certainly don't mind you using all-caps to describe your appreciation for our towels! We also do indeed offer free Wi-Fi, so I encourage...

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

My disappointment was with the location and the size of the room we were given . I had my elderly mother with me and I was told by the front desk clerk that we would have to walk across the driveway to our room that was located on the second floor. Apparently that section of the hotel was an old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo L
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had trouble with the location of your room, Ricardo -- I completely understand that the walk is difficult for your mother. Our staff have no problems accommodating our guests in any way they can, and if you ever need a room with a specific location, just let us know and we'll do our best to help you....

Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Basic is the bestI can say but its close to the airport and relatively inexpensive. Its really an old strip hotel without big name branding. TV and HVAC work, water is hot and the spaces are clean. Don't expect more than that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VaTechDad
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us. However, I'm disappointed we couldn't impress you a little more on your visit. We're happy to offer boutique and deluxe rooms with added features, if you think those would be more to your liking. I hope you'll give us another chance to let our quality shine through on your next trip to...

Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We have had several one night stays in Anchorage this month as we have been traveling to different parts of Alaska. Our 1st 3 stays were at the Puffin Inn. Each time we were pleased with the room and the shuttle to and from the airport. Breakfast was fairly standard but adequate. For our 4th stay we booked at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avidNHtraveler
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm so glad we could help accommodate you on all four of your visits to Anchorage! Our front desk staff are always happy to work with you on short notice, and we had no problem price matching you for your first three stays. I hope you'll continue to choose us on any future visits, and wish you well in all...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Very disappointed, after paying over $180, to get such a shabby place. Very tired and grotty. Similar to some of those small-town motels so common in the US. Large rooms, but tired decor, shabby. Desk staff who looked totally disinterested. I will certainly avoid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pratt_warren
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had issues with your room. Our inn has a small-town feel, and that comes through in the style and decor of our rooms. However, if you ever have problems with your accommodations, we want you to feel free to contact our front desk. Speaking of, I apologize if our team members weren't their usual excited selves. Regardless...

Richmond, Canada
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I booked on Expedia at a good rate. It seemed the most reasonable price for accommodation and since we were only spending one night, the room didn't seem to matter much... but in fact it did. When we checked in they noted "you booked on Expedia" and then it seemed we were limited to a choice of the rooms that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richmonite
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had trouble with your room. While we're happy to accept bookings that come in through Expedia, I would encourage you to book with us through our website. The information there is always up-to-date, and we can accommodate you quicker and more comfortably than we can through a third party. As for our front desk hospitality, what you...

Boonsboro
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Stayed at this hotel in July and would not recommend it. If you are staying on the upper floor the floors are thin and you can hear considerable amount of noise. Front hospitality is a little below average. Hotel is suitable for short stays only.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roge D
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry you had issues with noise. You can always contact the front desk with any noise complaints you have, and we'll try to make sure our other guests are reasonably quiet. As for the service, our front of house staff is usually very kind and accommodating, so I'm disappointed they weren't up to par on your visit. I hope...

tucson
Reviewed 31 July 2016

I arrived into ANC late at night but the shuttle was there quickly and zipped me over to the hotel. The shuttle driver was really nice but neither of the other two customers tipped him. The room was comfortable, clean and functional, the front desk staff was friendly and knew their jobs. I had a buddy coming in at 4am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael n
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm so happy to read that we made your stay as comfortable as possible, Michael! Thank you so much for this amazing review -- I know I speak on behalf of the whole team when I say I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Reviewed 29 July 2016

I stayed in the annex building. The room was very nice and clean. In fact everything was really quite spotless including the parking lot where they had a guy with a bag and pincers going around cleaning up any tiny bit of trash that might have gotten loose. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, Paul! I'm so thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
1.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.2 km away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#52 of 72 in Anchorage
84 reviews
0.2 km away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#40 of 72 in Anchorage
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#34 of 72 in Anchorage
221 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
0.3 km away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether your vacation brings you to Anchorage for one night or many, Puffin Inn offers convenient access to area attractions such as Chugach State Park, the Seward Highway and the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. Our hotel is also minutes from metropolitan entertainment in downtown Anchorage and a short drive to Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport.Puffin Inn offers special conveniences to enhance your stay. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport, a business center, an exercise room, laundry facilities and pet-friendly accommodations. Guests also enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily in our lobby breakfast area. Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Rest assured that you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging. Puffin Inn offers a variety of lodging options suitable for any traveler. Our lodge has 85 guest rooms and suites separated into 4 room styles: Deluxe, Moderate, Boutique and Original. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Puffin Inn

Address: 4400 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517-2914
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range: $55 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Puffin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Puffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puffin Hotel Anchorage
Puffin Inn Anchorage, Alaska
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Puffin Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Ephrata, Washington
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Puffin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book on line to get the lowest rates”
 of 5 bubbles C6729OTbarbaras, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the "large rooms."”
 of 5 bubbles Foxsan, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Away from Spenard Road”
 of 5 bubbles rafterflyfisher, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for main building away from road.”
 of 5 bubbles jadstrim, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure your next to elevator”
 of 5 bubbles ferguson88, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay