We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lakefront Anchorage

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lakefront Anchorage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lakefront Anchorage
See the most recent reviews
Showing 358: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 April 2016

The rooms are ok but what makes this place great is the staff. The staff at The Fancy Moose is awesome. Jason is the most professional, courteous, and friendly person I have ever met at any establishment and I travel a lot. If you are ever in the area stop in and visit you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank business70
Carolfraser, General Manager at The Lakefront Anchorage, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at The Lakefront Anchorage. We're thrilled you enjoyed the time with us. Your comments about Jason are spot on! He's a great bar manager and consistently offers amazing service to everyone! We'll be sure to share your comments with him and our entire food and beverage team! We look forward...

Loudoun County, Virginia
Reviewed 31 March 2016

My wife and I have been flying to Alaska for about 8 years now, sometimes I make 2 trips a year building things in Kenai, AK. My flight arrived about 2:12am, when I called, the woman at desk said driver would be there in 5 to 8 minutes I'm thinking he was there in about 6 minutes. The young man...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank donald6000
Carolfraser, General Manager at The Lakefront Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Donald; Thank you so much for your great review of your recent stay with us. We're thrilled the experience was worthy of a five star review from the minute you were picked up until you left. We think our bellstaff is the best in town - always willing to happily provide excellent service for all of our guests! We...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Excellent and friendly staff from Kelvin the shuttle driver to the ladies and gents up front. Have been coming here on business for over 10 years. It's been newly remodeled and the transformation of the rooms are beautiful and very modern now. Great job!! Clean rooms and facility. Great service in the bar and restaurants always. The gift shop also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ExoticFlyGirl
Carolfraser, General Manager at The Lakefront Anchorage, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of your recent stay with us at The Lakefront Anchorage. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Kelvin always always always provides incredible customer service to each and every one of our guests - I'll be sure to pass on your comments to him. We appreciate your comments on our remodel. We are...

Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

We checked in again today, for the second time in two days. As we are snowboarding, and only going out in clear weather, we did not have solid accommodation plans. So we came back to Lakefront today, and there were some of the same crew working the front desk as yesterday. Amber and Jeanette did a great job at making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeffnJazz
Carolfraser, General Manager at The Lakefront Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Jeff; Thank you for the great review of your recent stay at The Lakefront! We are thrilled to hear how great Amber and Jeannette are - we'll be sure to pass on your great comments to them. We hope your snowboarding adventures were incredible and look forward to seeing you again should your travels bring you back to Anchorage....

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

Very courteous staff and a beautiful property. Checked in early but found myself wondering the lobby for a while looking at all of the animals. I'll be staying here again. I watched float planes taking off and landing out my window. It was awesome!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drew C
Carolfraser, General Manager at The Lakefront Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Drew; Thank you for your great five-star review of your recent stay with us. We're thrilled you enjoyed our uniquely Alaskan lobby full of animals and stories of Alaska. Our location on Lake Hood - the world's largest float plane base is pretty incredible. We never get tired of watching the float planes take off and land. We hope...

Reviewed 24 March 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Lakefront hotel. We spent a night away from the kids to celebrate a special occasion. (They seemed to be family friendly too.) The room was very comfortable, and we received great service! Special Thank you to Kelly for his help with our bags, and to Avery for her help with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica D
Carolfraser, General Manager at The Lakefront Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Jessica, Thank you for your great review of your time at The Lakefront! I'm glad you had a great night away from the kids and enjoyed your visit. We'll pass on your comments to Kelly and Avery - they always always always provide great customer service to each and every one of our guests and we're always thrilled when...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

I spent 4 nights in March during the Itidarod. The hotel was clean, big rooms, had laundry facilities and a small gym. Very Close to the airport with a free shuttle. The Restaurant and bar had good food and friendly service, if there was a down side the restaurant was over priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROBMACRINER
Carolfraser, General Manager at The Lakefront Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Rob; Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us during the Iditarod. We love being the host hotel as we get to see so many travelers from around the world uniting in their love of dogs and the great event. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again during next year's race....

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 17 March 2016

The food at the restaurant was good and the rooms seem to have been upgraded. It is very convenient to the airport but you need car to taxi to get downtown. I did not stay at the hotel as I was working for there since it is Iditarod headquarters

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D H
Carolfraser, General Manager at The Lakefront Anchorage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Lakefront Anchorage. We have enjoyed being the home of the Iditarod for 29 years and enjoy all the volunteers that put the race together. We hope you choose to stay with us next time if you volunteer again in the future. Best Regards, Carol Fraser General Manager

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We've been coming here since before the name change, and it seems that the renovation was worth it. The new rooms (we stayed on the 3rd floor) had nice new carpet and a re-done shower/toilet room (that was badly needed). King bed room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Nice pillows. Bar and restaurant still good, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 99TravelinG99
Carolfraser, General Manager at The Lakefront Anchorage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your recent stay at The Lakefront Anchorage. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Our remodel has brought great reviews from our guests and we are excited to show off our amazing rooms and suites. We hope you choose to stay with us again should your travels bring...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel is located very close to the airport and offers a free shuttle. This is definitely the place to stay if you are here for the Iditarod. They are the headquarters and have an Iditarod shop and standings posted in the lobby. You can meet and talk to many of the vets and volunteers associated with the race. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelJewel87
Carolfraser, General Manager at The Lakefront Anchorage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay with us during the Iditarod. We're thrilled you enjoyed the time with us. We've been the home of the Iditarod for 29 years and really love the entire event and the visitors from around the world that it brings. The day of the mandatory musher's...

261 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#18 of 72 in Anchorage
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated lakeside property just one mile from the Anchorage Int'l Airport and 7 miles from downtown Anchorage. Fine and casual dining with award winning Seafood Tacos (voted #1 in Anchorage in 2013) and a large selection of Alaskan Brewing Company beers. All guestrooms are completely renovated with warm natural colors with an Alaskan lodge look and feel. The Deck at Lake Hood overlooks the world's busiest floatplane base with over 200 landings a day. The Alaskan themed lobby has numerous animal mounts including a polar bear, Kodiak brown bear, caribou and numerous king salmon displays! Complimentary 24-hour shuttle to the airport and scheduled downtown shuttle during the summer months. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lakefront Anchorage

Address: 4800 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517-3236 (Formerly Millennium Alaskan Hotel Anchorage)
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range: $119 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakefront Anchorage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Lakefront Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Alaskan Anchorage
Anchorage Millennium Alaskan Hotel
The Lakefront Anchorage Alaska
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lakefront Anchorage staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Lakefront Anchorage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a suite. It really is worth it at this location.”
 of 5 bubbles danpC146IH, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the views are the same for the most part.”
 of 5 bubbles royk760, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I'd stay on the lakeside of the hotel; we experienced a bit of road noise & "conversations" as folks congregated near the lobby entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles A6525FTjohns, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for lakeview room”
 of 5 bubbles burgundy2016, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lots of rooms and only 3 floors quiet hotel”
 of 5 bubbles pauline219, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay