We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Winema Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulelake
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Winema Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Winema Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Alexandria, VA
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The lodge is one of two choices for Tulelake, although it is not in the town itself but rather by itself about five miles away on one route to Lava Beds National Monument. If you are visiting the monument, the lodge is a suitable but simple choice – just don’t expect fancy or modern or air conditioning. Free wifi and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RichT529
Verna H, Manager at Winema Lodge, responded to this review

There are a few restaurants near by. There is Mike & Wanda's In Tulelake, Capitain Jack's in Newelle, Pappy Ganders & Villa Nueva in Merrill.

Dothan, AL
Reviewed 1 August 2014

You should know this isn't a standard hotel, it's something more along the lines of a B&B. Many previous reviewers state that it is like staying with a member of your family. I agree, staying with grandma is usually associated with a rundown, dingy place with poor HVAC--however, generally Nana doesn't charge me by the night. So what is it?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xrayd0ct0r
Verna H, Manager at Winema Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. We would have appreciated you bringing theses issues to our attention while you were here. We did have a huge wedding party right before your arrival and we were still trying to catch up with the small staff that we employ. There is no excuse for the lack of...

Louth
Reviewed 19 July 2014

a great motel! The owner was friendly and welcoming. Rooms were spotless, well equipped and a quiet location with great views. Wifi was available in the main building. Good relaxed breakfast set us up to explore Lava Beds and the rest of the Tulelake area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou L
Cleveland, United States
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Winema Lodge. It is in a great location for exploring Lava Beds National Monument or birding in the Tulelake area. We planned our own birding loop of Northern Central California and found this place on Trip Advisor. We stayed June 26 and 27, 2014. We found interesting birds around Tulelake (not to mention two...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ann M
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I recommend choosing Winema Lodge as the place to stay while exploring Tulelake for great bird watching. I spent hours just birding from the lawn. Owls hooting at night, Quail running around during the day and raptors on the wing were very entertaining. The lodge is an interesting place. It is very close to the lake and refuge visitors center....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susie H
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My family of 5 (including triplet 10 year old boys) stayed here July 26, 2013 for 1 night. Like everyone else we were here to see the Lava Beds (fantastic). Verna kindly waited up for us (we arrived at 10 pm) and gave us a corner room (very large) with all twin beds (kids didn't get the floor for once)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheri C
San Jose, California
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Verna is very pleasant and helpful---can't ask for a better host. This is the closest place to stay if you're going to visit Lava Beds National Monument. Decent breakfast. Rooms are comfortable and clean, and fairly priced. We wanted to try Verna's home-cooking but with the long summer days, we couldn't get back in time. The days are hot and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L X
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This place is clean & very quiet. In fact, there is virtually nothing else around for miles! We stayed for 2 nights as we explored the Lava Beds. The lady who runs the place is nice, but quiet & unassuming. She made us a wonderful dinner of taco salad our first night, & a great hot breakfast the next morning....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deedaree
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 11 July 2013

we stayed in the cinder block motel. This historic lodge is located close to the Lava Beds National Monument and Tule Lake Wildlife refuge. The room was clean, two beds, refrigerator, private bath, and a very important heater. Even though we were there the end of June, the nights get cold. Each stay comes with a continental breakfast, and Vera...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jan k
San Jose, California
Reviewed 8 July 2013

While a cinder block motel room may not seem the ideal place for a vacation, you might find yourself eager to return. You are a 5 minute drive from a great bird watching local in either direction. But the hotel itself is run by a lovely gentlewoman named Vera, who truly wants your stay to be the best it can...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aliea58

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulelake
35.1 km away
Olympic Inn
Olympic Inn
#1 of 22 in Klamath Falls
851 reviews
32.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Klamath Falls
35.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Klamath Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 km away
Maverick Motel
Maverick Motel
#5 of 22 in Klamath Falls
714 reviews
40.1 km away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Klamath Falls
35.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 22 in Klamath Falls
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Winema Lodge

Address: 5215 Hill Rd, Tulelake, CA 96134-9760
Region: United States > California > Tulelake
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Winema Hotel Tulelake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Winema Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We like the rooms in the motel wing better than in the lodge. The lodge rooms are more large dormitory style rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles briano52, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lodge that has rooms for multiple people and shared bathrooms, the adjacent 'motel' rooms have private baths and are all the same.”
 of 5 bubbles backpackluxury, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“There is wi-fi in the lodge, but it doesn't reach the separate units.”
 of 5 bubbles Gorsefighter, 14 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Stay in Klamath Falls!”
  • Unisex Common Bathroom
  • Shower Stall
  • Toilet
 of 5 bubbles xrayd0ct0r, 1 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Motel rooms have double bed and a single bed, small refrigerator. Dogs are allowed.”
 of 5 bubbles 310annm, 6 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5