We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rippon-Kinsella House

Overview
1317 N 3rd St, Springfield, IL 62702-3837 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
40
20
3
2
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
40
20
3
2
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews house is beautiful great hosts model ships b and b lincoln's tomb wonderful stay lincoln attractions would stay again roger
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 79 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2017

The owner and innkeeper make this beautiful house magical. The history they know of the area and the house it self really allow you to feel part of its history. They are so passionate about what they do it is almost impossible not to feel...More

Date of stay: June 2017
1  Thank Brian V
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I wanted to go on a weekend getaway for our 1 year anniversary. 10/13-10/15. So we decided to check out a bed and breakfast for the first time. It was a terrible experience. The outside of the house at first look was...More

Date of stay: October 2017
2  Thank Elena S
Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded November 12, 2017

O.k.......I surrender. Yes, we have some "material" laying in the backyard, but the front yard is beautiful. Again, who are these people? Do they exist only to make other people's lives miserable? How pathetic. However, the place does NOT smell terrible, and the carpets are...More

Reviewed September 18, 2017

The owners of the Rippon-Kinsella house seem to be a nice couple. However, the website photographs do not represent the property. I understand it is going under renovations and it is an old home with many antiques, but there is an undefinable odor about the...More

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank cationista
Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded September 27, 2017

I replied earlier that I was going to hire an innkeeper because of my friend's dementia, but I have decided to close the B&B and rent the guestrooms to boarders. So all of you "keyboard warriors" won't have us to kick around much longer. You're...More

Reviewed August 28, 2017

Photos of the property must have been taken many, many years ago. The outside needs a lot of work...broken fence, weeds instead of grass, power cords, ladders, tarp on roof....and that is just the beginning. Going inside, the first thing you get is an odor....More

Date of stay: August 2017
1  Thank nicole b
Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded August 30, 2017

Some people just can't be pleased. It is an 1871 Victorian and we are working on it! We'll try to do better on bathroom maintenance, but we don't reuse paper cups. Give me a break. Dave Ridenour Proprietor

Reviewed August 26, 2017

Trash all over the yard, can't even get to backyard, fences broken, rooms very junky and place has odor that bother ladies when we walked in. Could not stay there but they charge your credit card anyway. Watch their 48 hr policy to cancel as...More

Date of stay: August 2017
1  Thank geraldl366
Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded August 30, 2017

This is getting ridiculous. Who are these people? There is NOT "trash all over the yard." We are building a brick patio in the backyard and it does look like a construction site. We are putting a new rubber roof on the the flat roof...More

View more reviews
About
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
3
Location
United States > Illinois > Springfield
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
3
Location
United States > Illinois > Springfield
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 38 nearby hotels
Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
476 reviews
1.19 km away
Homestyle Inn & Suites
52 reviews
1.23 km away
Carpenter Street Hotel
271 reviews
1.25 km away
State House Inn - a Red Collection Hotel
1,010 reviews
1.88 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 517 nearby restaurants
Cook's Spice Rack & Chili Co
50 reviews
1.29 km away
Sportsman's Lounge
20 reviews
1.47 km away
Sam's Italian Pizza
28 reviews
.65 km away
Jungle Jim's Cafe
35 reviews
1.41 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 112 nearby attractions
Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum
4,085 reviews
1.67 km away
Lincoln Tomb & War Memorials
1,705 reviews
.29 km away
Old State Capitol State Historic Site
811 reviews
1.94 km away
Edwards Place Historic Home
81 reviews
.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Rippon-Kinsella House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"This was not a hotel, but a Victorian home."
cationista
Sep. 18, 2017
Read review
"This entire property should not be rented to the public."
LBW314
Aug. 5, 2017
Read review
"Book before Fall, 2016 as the hosts will be closing the door to guest forever."
ronalda333
Jul. 20, 2016
Read review
"The Captain's Quarters is best suited for early risers since the unique Italianate windows do not lend..."
crasch1
Jun. 20, 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing