We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rippon-Kinsella House

Save
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good25%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Pool
Fitness centre
Kitchenette
View all hotel information
Location and contact
1317 N 3rd St, Springfield, IL 62702-3837
3.7 km to Capital Airport
74 restaurants are within a 2 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
40
20
3
2
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
40
20
3
2
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaptain's roomhouse is beautifulgreat hostsinteresting antiquesknick knacksmodel shipsb and blincoln's tombwonderful stayone night staylincoln attractionswould stay againroger
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 79 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2017

The owner and innkeeper make this beautiful house magical. The history they know of the area and the house it self really allow you to feel part of its history. They are so passionate about what they do it is almost impossible not to feel...More

Thank Brian V
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I wanted to go on a weekend getaway for our 1 year anniversary. 10/13-10/15. So we decided to check out a bed and breakfast for the first time. It was a terrible experience. The outside of the house at first look was...More

2  Thank Elena S
Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded November 12, 2017

O.k.......I surrender. Yes, we have some "material" laying in the backyard, but the front yard is beautiful. Again, who are these people? Do they exist only to make other people's lives miserable? How pathetic. However, the place does NOT smell terrible, and the carpets are...More

Reviewed September 18, 2017

The owners of the Rippon-Kinsella house seem to be a nice couple. However, the website photographs do not represent the property. I understand it is going under renovations and it is an old home with many antiques, but there is an undefinable odor about the...More

Thank cationista
Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded September 27, 2017

I replied earlier that I was going to hire an innkeeper because of my friend's dementia, but I have decided to close the B&B and rent the guestrooms to boarders. So all of you "keyboard warriors" won't have us to kick around much longer. You're...More

Reviewed August 28, 2017

Photos of the property must have been taken many, many years ago. The outside needs a lot of work...broken fence, weeds instead of grass, power cords, ladders, tarp on roof....and that is just the beginning. Going inside, the first thing you get is an odor....More

1  Thank nicole b
Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded August 30, 2017

Some people just can't be pleased. It is an 1871 Victorian and we are working on it! We'll try to do better on bathroom maintenance, but we don't reuse paper cups. Give me a break. Dave Ridenour Proprietor

Reviewed August 26, 2017

Trash all over the yard, can't even get to backyard, fences broken, rooms very junky and place has odor that bother ladies when we walked in. Could not stay there but they charge your credit card anyway. Watch their 48 hr policy to cancel as...More

1  Thank geraldl366
Response from Dave R, Owner at The Rippon-Kinsella HouseResponded August 30, 2017

This is getting ridiculous. Who are these people? There is NOT "trash all over the yard." We are building a brick patio in the backyard and it does look like a construction site. We are putting a new rubber roof on the the flat roof...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Rippon-Kinsella House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"This was not a hotel, but a Victorian home."
Read review
"This entire property should not be rented to the public."
Read review
"Book before Fall, 2016 as the hosts will be closing the door to guest forever."
Read review
"The Captain's Quarters is best suited for early risers since the unique Italianate windows do not lend..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing