We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carpenter Street Hotel

Expedia.comUS$87*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Carpenter Street Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 222: English reviews
Start your review of Carpenter Street Hotel
 Click to rate
Lakeville, Minnesota
Reviewed yesterday NEW

An okay or average hotel located in downtown Springfield close (walking distance) to major sites (such as Lincoln Museum, State Capital, etc) and restaurants. Rooms were clean but nothing special nor was the complimentary breakfast special. Check in was easy and staff friendly. Certainly an okay place to spend a night or two especially considering the reasonable room rate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
Cove, Arkansas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was a standout for unexpected reasons. It's close to the hospital and has discounts for family of patients there. The rooms are average in size and decorations. The breakfast is typical hotel fare. What made it stand out is the awesome customer service. My mom was very ill and scheduled for a 5 am surgery. They let her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debducttape
Vicky Rodriguez O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review regarding your parents recent stay with us. We really try to meet our guest requests and are happy that we were able to assist your elderly parents.

Flora, Il, ISA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were very clean and the elevators were nearby as was the usually hard to find ice. The staff was polite and helpful both on the phone and at the motel. This is the place to stay if you or loved one is in Memorial Hospital. They give a hospital discount. most importantly was the excellent shuttle service from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerald K
Vicky Rodriguez O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay.

Effingham, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

rooms are very clean beds are soft and you get free wifi with your stay and nice room size. this hotel is about a block from St.johns hospital so its very close to stay if you have loved ones at the hospital.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jheitkamp2017
Vicky Rodriguez O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us and are happy that we were able to meet your needs. Should you return to Springfield we would love to accommodate you again.

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

excellent place to stay and a decent breakfast bar. Friendly help. My only complaint, mattress was too hard. A reviews length is not important. What is important is to give a review that is honest, period

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David T
Vicky Rodriguez O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to post a review. We agree, the importance in a review is honesty so that we can improve and meet our guest needs. I'm sorry that our mattress didn't meet your comfort needs.

Yakima, Washington
Reviewed 22 March 2017

My son was on spring break and on our way to the Ark Encounter and when I noticed that our path would take us through Springfield, I knew my 4th grader would appreciate seeing Abe Lincoln stuff. I went online and booked the package with tickets to the museum, which was a great bargain. When we arrived, we received our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelswithkid_1
Vicky Rodriguez O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the Abe Lincoln sites. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and we would be more than happy to accommodate you upon your return to Springfield.

Marana, Arizona
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I live out in the country and my car broke down. This hotel is right next door to the hospital I work at. They give the nurses a discount when we need to stay there when the weather is bad, icy roads, car problems etc, so that we can come to work. It is very comfortable and clean, with kind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dovemountainhomes
Vicky Rodriguez O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate it. We are happy to extend that discounted rate to the hospital employees and you are correct, we do have a discounted rate for families with loved ones in the hospital and our complimentary shuttle runs Monday - Friday from 5 a.m. - 10 p.m. however,...

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Took a chance and so glad we did. This clean and updated hotel is right where you want to be if you're doing a Lincoln trip to Springfield. Easy walk to all the Lincoln tourist's stops. I usually judge a place by the linens and cleanliness, Carpenter Street Hotel did not disappoint. They even have a shuttle to take you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charline G
Vicky Rodriguez O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all of the wonderful Lincoln attractions. We would be happy to have you return to our hotel upon your return to Springfield.

Illinois City, Illinois
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Reservations was very nice to deal with on the phone..stayed Feb. 2017. Check in was quick and easy, the girl at the front desk was so friendly and nice. .the hotel was clean as was our room.....on second floor,clean and quiet...the temperature in the room was perfect and the heater wasn't noisey.. comfortable bed also........ reasonable price also. Would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgb50
Vicky Rodriguez O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that everything went well. We strive to give our guest 100% satisfaction. Should you return to Springfield we will be very happy to have you return to our hotel.

macomb, il
Reviewed 21 January 2017

This was close to Memorial Hospital. It was a little tricky as our GPS did not take us straight to the hospital, but we did manage to locate it only a few blocks away. The staff was very friendly upon arrival. They offer breakfast and transport I believe at 5am, however we needed to be at the hospital by 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyfamilyMacomb_Il
Vicky Rodriguez O, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. We do transport to the hospital and start at 5 a.m. till 10 p.m. so I'm sorry you missed out on that. I am very sorry to hear that you missed your wake up call twice, that is definitely unacceptable and I didn't hear about this till now. We are...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.8 km away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.7 km away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 km away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
8.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
5.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Candlewood Suites Springfield
#6 of 38 in Springfield
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our downtown boutique property is located in the growing Springfield Medical District, only one block from the St. Johns Hospital campus. Our hotel is also in close proximity to the following local attractions: Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum Illinois State Capitol Lincoln Home National Historic Site Dana-Thomas House by Frank Lloyd Wright Abraham Lincoln's Tomb Illinois State Fair Feel at home in our stylish guest rooms, with contemporary boutique-style décor and furnishings. Of course a flat-panel HDTV, 1-cup coffee maker, refrigerator/microwave, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and expanded cable television are included in all rooms, along with these other full-service offerings: Complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily Complimentary hotel-wide wireless high-speed access Complimentary weekday shuttle within 5 miles radius, upon availability ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carpenter Street Hotel

Address: 525 North 6th Street, Springfield, IL 62702
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Price Range: $132 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carpenter Street Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carpenter Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#12 Business Hotel in Springfield
#14 Family Hotel in Springfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carpenter Street Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Carpenter Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great view of St.Johns”
jheitkamp2017, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All of the rooms are good.”
DontBuyWyndham, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Second floor facing away from 6th Avenue was very quiet.”
336carold, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Request first floor”
prairielady2015, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't take a room ending in 05 (205,206) unless you want to hear the ridiculous elevator bell ring all night.”
115jaym, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$87* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$87
Booking.comUS$87
TravelocityUS$87
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates