We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Guesthouse at Hestheimar

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Guesthouse at Hestheimar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse at Hestheimar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 102: English reviews
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

We talked about how great our stay at Hestheimar was for the rest of our trip. The cottage is perfect with big windows to enjoy the views. You can go down to the stables to pet some adorable Icelandic horses. We woke up one morning and they were right outside our cottage but I think they had got lose so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kdmontgo
Hestheimar851, Owner at Guesthouse at Hestheimar, responded to this review

Hi :) Thank you for this super sweet review ! We really appreciate it and it is so nice for us to hear that you liked the cottage, the horses, riding and everything else... Glad to hear that you even did see the northern lights, we will try to book them again for you next time :) Always welcome back,...

Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Super Food, horses and proff trainer!! One week in the generous, proff, friendly, service minded hands of Lea and Mati. Very recommendable for both Friends, lone travellers and groups - perfect guesthouse stay too, Even if you Don't want to ride.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina Kirstine B
Hestheimar851, Owner at Guesthouse at Hestheimar, responded to this review

Dear Nina, yes, it was a great week! A lot of fun, education, good dining and laughter! Thank you for your visit and this sweet review. Hope to see you again soon here in Hestheimar, always welcome back. Your hosts, Lea and Marteinn.

Amarillo, Texas
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

I've stayed in hotels, cabins, and other guest houses in Iceland. But this has been my best experience. The room is clean and welcoming, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the estate is gorgeous. This also has the best shower and bed that I've encountered in Iceland. Plenty of outlets in the room too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hayesie82
Hestheimar851, Owner at Guesthouse at Hestheimar, responded to this review

Hi! :) What a superb review! Thousand thank, we are deeply touched. Always welcome back to Hestheimar, hopefully very soon. Best regards from the owners, Lea and Marteinn and the Hestheimar´s Team.

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 29 March 2016

This was far by the best place we stayed at in whole Iceland. The cottages are great! You have everything you need, a comfortable bed, quiet, and a tremendous view. Can´t wait to stay there again. Do not forget to plunge into the hot tub!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edgang
Hestheimar851, Owner at Guesthouse at Hestheimar, responded to this review

Dear Edgang, WOW! What a sweet review! Thank you so much for it and for choosing Hestheimar. We are deeply touched and are looking forward to you next stay here in Hestheimar. Always welcome back. Your hosts, Lea, Marteinn and the Hestheimar´s Team.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

My friends and I spent 9 days in Iceland in October. We toured the Golden Circle during the day and ended our night at Hestheimar Horse Farm. The drive up is really beautiful - through lovely farmland. We stayed in a quaint little cottage overlooking the horse farm. The cottage had a nice little kitchen so we bought food from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robin F
Rochdale
Reviewed 5 November 2015

I absolutely love this place and I have just come back from my fourth visit. I recommend it to everyone. The location is fabulous, a great base for visiting the golden circle, south west waterfalls, glacier and black beach. The views are amazing, and the bedroom accommodation is very clean. The owner Lea Helga has met me three times and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LouiseTab
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Travelling as a Vegan can be difficult especially in Iceland although this hotel was brilliant at catering for alternative diets. They made a real effort to provide for me and made some delicious food. I had spaghetti and tomato sauce with mixed vegetables. They even baked me a vegan chocolate cake which was just amazing. For breakfast soya milk was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam P
The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Pros: The view. Free parking. Cons: Sofa bed very uncomfortable, the worst ever! Dirty cutleries and oven. No towel racks. Very unstable and unusable WiFi. Very unfriendly owner who handles situations poorly. The price. Poor value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WEWEWEA
Hestheimar851, Owner at Guesthouse at Hestheimar, responded to this review

Hallo. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our farm. We are very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay here in Hestheimar. The fact is, however, that you booked a TRIPLE room, but we upgraded you, without extra charge to one of our COTTAGES. You were not pleased with the sofa...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 October 2015

The cottage was cute, nice, and clean. It’s like a miniature house. It would be a great option for a family of four or for travelers who will be cooking all their own meals. It comes with an equipped kitchen. We arrived by 8pm, but there wasn’t really anyone around to assist us. Definitely arrive early. They also stopped serving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank farandfamiliar
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

I came to Hestheimar for a riding course. First of all, the course exceeded my expectations. The teaching was excellent. Horses were picked according to personal needs. The horses were very friendly. The course was very well planned and offered us many experiences from riding classes to trail riding in the beautiful Icelandic nature to the Golden Circle tour. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odelai

222 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (125)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
9.9 km away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
355 reviews
17.3 km away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,432 reviews
32.1 km away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.5 km away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
528 reviews
27.6 km away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
548 reviews
11.4 km away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
2 Hot tubs. One outside the main building, the other by the Guest house. Great view over volcano Hekla and Eyjafjallajokull. Only 1 hour's drive from the capital, Reykjavik. Free Wi Fi. Free parking. Great location in South Iceland. Horse rental open all year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Guesthouse at Hestheimar

Address: Asahreppi Hestheimar, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Price Range: $121 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse at Hestheimar 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse at Hestheimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse At Hestheimar Iceland/Hella
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Guesthouse at Hestheimar staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Guesthouse at Hestheimar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All cottages are wonderful!”
 of 5 bubbles 606icelandic, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have great views”
 of 5 bubbles LouiseTab, 5 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Cabins are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles MisterP801, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Pay extra for one of the cottages”
 of 5 bubbles KirstyPn, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't hesitate to book the cottages! with their own kitchen you can save money skipping the bfast, lunch and dinner! :)”
 of 5 bubbles mpauls, 20 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay