We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 June 2016

The accommodations were average..no complaints. I'm out of town for business every week, for the week. The best part of my stay was finding the very competent, witty, friendly, and entertaining bartender Debra. She was very hospitable to everyone, while also being very engaged and interested in conversations...along with being very skilled at pouring and mixing drinks.. always with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swadey8
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Swadey8, Let me start by agreeing with you that Debbie is one amazing bartender. I am overjoyed that you were able to take in the city of Lowell while enjoying a nice cocktail with Debbie. The hotel and its staff appreciate all of the amazing comments that you left for us. Rest assured that Debbie heard all about your...

Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a night during our road trip, the location was great, the canal view was exceptional, the lobby was very modern and clean, the rooms were spacious & fairly clean, but a bit dated and the air conditioning in some rooms was a bit noisy, but not really worth a complain and I would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angee A
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Angee A, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. We appreciate all of the great comments you left for our housekeeping team. They work tirelessly to ensure that the public space and rooms are flawless for any incoming guests. Your comments have been passed to the team and surely they will not forget...

Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

The bartender, Debbie went above & beyond for us & our son's family. The bar was well stocked with a variety & she knew how to make excellent cocktails too!! The room was average. We attempted to turn the faucet on when we arrived & we couldn't. We felt like it would break if we tried harder. They sent up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane P
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Diane P, First, I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff members. Your words have already been passed on to their managers and the other team members for valuable feedback. Our staff members try to exceed guests expectations and it sounds like Debbie and our maintenance department tried to live up to our standard....

Reviewed 16 June 2016

Pros: location, view of canal, outdoor terrace on canal. Cons: dirty carpet, rooms seemed like a college party room, fan and air conditioner in room did not work, no fan in bathroom to take care of shower steam, no fridge in room, no coffee maker in room, no notice of free continental breakfast (though there was one ), weak wifi,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank History U
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear History U, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about our hotel. Our guests absolutely love the patio room with a canal view while on property and hopefully you were able to enjoy them as well. Unlike many hotels, we do convert our upper floors to be dorm rooms during the school year for UMass Lowell...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

So this is the only hotel in the area and you (and I) don't have a choice of options in Lowell. So, suck it up and stay here though this place is a grade A dump. I didn't have a choice as this was booked for me. Cleanliness: Nope. Stains on carpet, dirty bathrooms and here's is the best part...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DocMetrics
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear DocMetrics, Let me start by apologizing for the bad experience you had with our property. I am deeply concerned as to your encounter with our staff members and the manner in which your situation was handled. This is not the way that the UMass Lowell Inn and Conference Center operates and I would appreciate more feedback from you. I...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 June 2016

I would find alternatives if you can. The room was pretty dirty and I had significant problems with water pressure. Bugs everywhere (mainly spiders, I had one unfortunate encounter with one crawling around in my bed). The shower curtain had mold spots on it, just an overall unpleasant experience staying there. The staff was fairly inconsistent (a few that were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ashtonbl
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Ashtonbl, First, I would like to thank you for your honest feedback about your stay. It is imperative that management see reviews like yours to know where we can improve and how our employees can do better. I am sorry to hear about the cleanliness issues with your stay. This is not the standard that the UMass Inn and...

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

It was the only hotel I could find for a grad weekend in the Boston area-- and what a pleasant surprise! Very clean facility, towels in great shape, I had a room with a river view, Continental breakfast in a modern, updated, bright and pleasant atrium. Book with confidence-- and what a great deal!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariam Y
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Mariam, Thank you so much for taking your time to give us some feedback on our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. Our housekeeping team works night and day to ensure our facilities are in the best shape possible. I will send along your great remarks to our team. Once again...

Greensboro, NC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I thought I was taken back in time to my youth hostel years!! This place it totally run down. not even your average 2/3 star hotel. I had to stay there because they chose for me. their breakfast is a joke though enough for most palates. You really feel you are a student!! The room was huge but very very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmagoestothebeach
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Emmagoestothebeach, Thank you for your feedback of our property. I'm greatly disappointed we did not live up to your expectations while you stayed at the UMass Inn and Conference Center. I noticed that breakfast is a hot topic for you. Our breakfast is a limited continental Monday to Saturday but we do offer a full brunch on Sunday from...

Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Located right in the middle of downtown and restaurants and tourist spots were all within walking distance. Room and hotel restaurant had a nice view of the canal and old city mills. The front desk office manager Eric was very pleasant and accommodating even when there was a fumble in our booking. I would definitely recommend this place for family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soscia L
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Soscia L, Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel. With our great location, our hotel has become a hot spot for the adventurous that like to go into downtown and I'm glad you were able to enjoy it. I appreciate all of your kind words and feedback about your stay! Without your feedback, our staff...

Milton, Delaware
Reviewed 4 May 2016

This is an unusual place. The first two floors are a public hotel, with guest bedrooms, conference rooms, bar, gym, etc. The upper floors are a university dormitory. The accommodations were a tad tight by major chain standards, but in the dorms, unless they pack 3 to a room, surely they are roomy! The bed, TV, internet, heating and A/c...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Original_Shrut

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowell
3.3 km away
Courtyard Boston Lowell/Chelmsford
4.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chelmsford Inn
5.6 km away
Radisson Hotel and Suites Chelmsford / Lowell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Fairfield Inn Boston Tewksbury/Andover
5.4 km away
Residence Inn Boston Tewksbury/Andover
5.3 km away
TownePlace Suites Boston Tewksbury/Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, located in the heart of downtown Lowell, overlooks the Concord River and city canals. Just minutes from major intersections, the hotel is centrally located near historical landmarks, major event venues, galleries, shops and a bustling downtown ... more   less 

Additional Information about UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center

Address: 50 Warren St, Lowell, MA 01852-2224
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Lowell
Price Range: $162 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Lowell Hotel Lowell
Lowell Doubletree
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Portland, Oregon
9 months ago
over a year ago
Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view is nice”
 of 5 bubbles AmbasadorKosh, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to not have a room facing the water.”
 of 5 bubbles gustavh2017, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No opinion.”
 of 5 bubbles traintraveller81, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“First floor but down the corridor away from the front desk, as the lobby area can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Olympia_Deb, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask if there are refrigerators in the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles J1455WSyvonnec, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5