The Commonwealth
Each room is named and tagged with a tattoo.
Traveller (131)
The Commonwealth is across the street from the VA Statehouse.
Room & Suite (82)
The Commonwealth
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#7 of 88 hotels in Richmond
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
You may think you know The Commonwealth, as it has been a landmark hotel in Richmond for over 100 years. And much of what we have been known for—excellent service, spacious suites, and a location that can't be beat—remains. But we have totally reinvented ourselves, and now offer a uniquely Richmond experience. From the tattooed entrance doors on our suites (did you know that RVA is the 5th most tattooed city in America?), to furniture and art hand crafted from some of the area's most talented artisans, to java from Richmond's own Carytown Coffee, The Commonwealth will surprise and delight you at every turn. All guestrooms feature: Handcrafted furnishings and artwork from local Virginia artisans and artists; Beds with Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, luxurious cotton sheeting and your choice of pillow firmness; 50” flat screen TV with HD programming; Complimentary high speed wired & wireless internet; Clock radio with bluetooth music streaming; Refrigerator/freezer & microwave
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

901 Bank St, Richmond, VA 23219-3505
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 89 out of 100
89
Richmond Intl Airport (Byrd Field)
10.8 km
See all flights
Main Street Station
9 min
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles739 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Commonwealth Hotel emerges as a favored choice for its central location, offering easy access to nearby parks, eateries, and historical landmarks. Guests have called out the hotel's clean and spacious rooms, with a modern touch as particularly impressive, though some have experienced maintenance issues. The unique and whimsical atmosphere is often noted with delight. While praise is frequent for the friendly and helpful staff, the value is sometimes questioned due to high parking fees and occasional cleanliness oversights.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
739Reviews5Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 542
  • 104
  • 42
  • 29
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Michael P wrote a review Aug 2022
Fairfax, Virginia5 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The stay at The Commonwealth harkened back to a time when a hotel and its entire staff took great pride in making sure that each guest was provided with a superb experience in which every want or need was accommodated when possible. From the booking with super staff member Mariah, to the suite size, to the view, to the lovely breakfast, to the efficient check-out, every aspect of the stay was first class. Highly recommended. And by the way - the elevators were just fine - why people thought they were too small should travel more. ;-)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded Aug 16, 2022
Thank you, Michael P, for taking the time to rate and review The Commonwealth. Wow! We appreciate all of your kind words and positive feedback. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you back to downtown RVA - our whole staff will look forward to it! Thank you, thank you, for being our guest.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris K wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
In town visiting for NYE. Extremely nice room and amazing check in experience. We had some appetizers at the restaurant before going out and the food was great!
The valet service was the only part that was somewhat frustrating. The morning we left there were 6-7 families waiting for the one valet driver to get the vehicles. The valet ended up walking everyone over to the garage where the vehicles were kept and we retrieved our own cars which defeats the purpose of valeting a car. My truck was also never locked when the first Valet parked it.
Other than that our stay was amazing. Will definitely stay again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChristinaN2060, General Manager at The Commonwealth
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Thank you Chris K for taking the time to stay with us and review us. We are so happy you celebrated New Years Eve with us! I'm very sorry our valet got frustrating on your departure and sets will go into place to ensure that doesn't happen again. We hope the next time your plans bring you to Richmond you will come back and stay with us again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
melissabalt wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Commonwealth is located in a beautiful historic building that has been stylishly updated. Our room was clean, spacious, and very comfortable. There was a stain on the upholstery of the couch and a smudge on the headboard of the bed that probably can be cleaned with some elbow grease, but overall it was very clean and smelled nice. I didn't hear any noise from neighbors and the windows have triple glazing, so it was a very quiet stay. The bed linens were very nice and I appreciated that they had both down and synthetic fill pillows. The refillable soap dispensers in the bathroom were also a plus in my book. Speaking of the bathroom, it was huge. Overall the stay was very nice. The staff we encountered were friendly, but busy. When the batteries in my remote were dead, I had to lug my babies with me down to the lobby to fetch new ones because no one was available to deliver. And when we were ready to leave, we called ahead for the valet, but he didn't get the message so we had to wait a bit for our car. Otherwise, excellent accommodations!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded Jun 30, 2021
Thank you, melissabolt, for taking the time to rate and review The Commonwealth. We appreciate your candid feedback as it helps us to improve our product and services, especially as we recover from the pandemic. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future - our staff will look forward to it.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tmh1757 wrote a review Feb 2020
Williamsburg, Virginia1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was recommended to stay at The Commonwealth by colleagues from work and it was by far, the worst experience I have had staying in Richmond. The rooms are depressing and dark, I had one of the "Roomy Suites" which felt like a cave. Had to turn every light on in the room to feel somewhat comfortable. The hallways are very dark in color and the artwork is like graffiti. They truly need to brighten it so that it feels more neutral and bright. The service was subpar, no bell service available to carry my luggage. The food, by far was the worst because a frozen meal from the grocery store would have been more appetizing. I got sick in the middle of the night from the food. They were kind when I checked out to take the food charge and the parking off but, would not be returning to this hotel in the future.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChristinaN2060, General Manager at The Commonwealth
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review us and stay with us. I would love the opportunity to learn more about your stay and the meal you had. My direct line is 804-418-3465 and my email is christina.norton@smi-hotelgroup.com . I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the hotel. We all work hard everyday to ensure a great stay is had by all. I look forward to hearing back from you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
zander783009 wrote a review Mar 2021
Hampton, Virginia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our suite, especially since we were upgraded for free. It was really cool reading about how long the Reuger had been around. There was great customer service all around, & although we didn't dine at the restaurant, we certainly will next time because it smelled divine! There was so much beautiful artwork around the hotel as well - such a nice touch!

Keep in mind valet parking is $28 a night, but it is right in the heart of downtown Richmond (GREAT location), so not a terrible price at all. Our room had a pretty great view of the Capitol, but was kinda blocked by some trees (which I'm sure are beautiful in the spring!).

Overall we loved our stay & can't wait to visit again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christina Norton, General Manager at The Commonwealth
Responded Mar 12, 2021
Thank you for telling the world about us. We are so happy you stayed with us and enjoyed everything. We hope the next time your plans bring you back to Richmond you will come back and stay with us. Safe travels back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
e50gdj24lj wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The drop-off, valet and check-in were all smooth. Location is right next to the capitol building and there is a quiet dead-end to drop off your luggage and hand your car off to the the extremely kind valet.

Building is old and traditional but nicely decorated. Room was very clean and comfortable. Bathroom excellent and clean. Great bar downstairs.

Could be better, but still decent value overall:
Our room faced a brick wall. Internet a bit slow. Temp hard to regulate. Food a bit subpar.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChristinaN2060, General Manager at The Commonwealth
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to stay with us and review us. I hope the next time your plans bring you back to Richmond you will come back and stay with us again. Safe travels back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scenic314845 wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were AMAZING. Desk, valet, housekeeping staff were very accommodating Please be sure you are taking care of them. They are priceless

Unfortunately there were “signs” the room wasn’t very clean. There was an empty miniature liquor bottle (I guess empty) under the heater, trash in the cabinet, Bobby pin on the floor, 1/4 roll of toilet paper with no “spares”. Just seemed dirty. The beds were made, towels replaced but to find things that we found around the room was unnerving, especially in the current pandemic environment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christina Norton, General Manager at The Commonwealth
Responded Mar 9, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to stay with us and review us. I will ensure I speak to housekeeping regarding your room. We all look forward to your next stay with us. Safe travels back to Richmond
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kat B wrote a review Feb 2020
29 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautifully renovated old hotel. It has a lot of the simple ammenities that travelers need such as USB and outlets on the lamps both in the rooms and in the lobby. Our room (a suite) was clean and quiet. The sleeper sofa was comfortable. It is nice that the bathroom is in between the bedroom and living/office area so you don't have to walk through the bedroom to use it in the middle of the night. Thanks to Tanya for the great recommendation of The Tobacco Company Restaurant. We felt very comfortable walking in the area, even after dark.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Clean and quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christina Norton, General Manager at The Commonwealth
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to stay with us and review us. We are so happy you found us and enjoyed your stay. We hope the next time your plans bring you to Richmond you will come back and stay with us again and hopefully grab a bite to eat in Ruegers located in the lobby. Safe travels back to us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bpsu8fe0wv wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I am often for Richmond for work and always look forward to my stays at The Commonwealth. I tend to work in the (next door) General Assembly building and I truly could not be closer to it. The staff is flexible with holding my luggage and pulling my car up from valet (quite affordable btw!) even after i have checked out. It's a small and charming hotel that I will come back to.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChristinaN2060, General Manager at The Commonwealth
Responded Jan 15, 2020
We are so happy you found us and continue to stay with us. We look forward the next time you come to town for work. Safe travels back to Richmond
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sailorgirl222 wrote a review Sep 2021
Raleigh, North Carolina68 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was just in Richmond for one night to attend a comedy show at the Dominion Center, so I wanted a hotel within walking distance. This hotel fit the bill! It was very close to the venue and we were able to walk there which was a plus. You can tell that the hotel is quite old, but it has been nicely renovated and looks very modern and clean. Check-in and check-out were a breeze and every staff member I encountered was very friendly and accommodating. The elevators a very small (it's an old building) and the hallways are quite narrow, but the room was large enough for two people and had everything we needed. My only complaint was that I found hair in the shower after we arrived. I did let the staff know and they offered to give me a new room (which was nice but not necessary) and they gave me free valet parking for the trouble which I really appreciated. They seem to really care about their guests and want to make sure they are well taken care of. If I am in Richmond again, I will definitely stay here and I will recommend the property to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded Sep 21, 2021
Thank you, Sailorgirl222, for taking the time to rate and review The Commonwealth. We appreciate your candid feedback and apologize for the issue your experienced. We assure you this is not the norm for us and that we really do care about our guests and every aspect of their stay with us. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when you travel to Richmond again - our staff looks forward to it. Tell your friends!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from panthers_eaglesfan
Richmond, Virginia4 contributions1 helpful vote
sally5353, We look forward to seeing you soon! Our check-in time is 3:00 pm, and check-out time is 12:00 noon. Let us know if you have any other questions.
alex80G7194DH asked a question Apr 2016
Ashburn, Virginia11 contributions9 helpful votes
Where is the free parking for the hotel? Is there a garage in it, or a lot adjacent to it?
Answer from Susan O
Floyd, Virginia31 contributions11 helpful votes
There is no free parking for this hotel. I parked on the street (for free) and had to move the car by 08:00. The hotel has valet parking only, under the hotel, for $20 each night.
Answer from
Richmond
We offer valet parking only, we charge $20 per vehicle per night with unlimited in and out privileges. Around the Convention there are paid parking decks which you can use or leave you vehicle in our parking deck and walk down to the convention center, it is about 6 blocks from the hotel.
148Laura asked a question Mar 2015
Suffolk, Virginia32 contributions14 helpful votes
Is this hotel within walking distance ( safely) to the amtrak station?
Answer from
Richmond
Dear 148Laura We are located 7 blocks from the Main Street Amtrak train station, however the walk is little uphill to the hotel. It is a safe area but you have to be aware of your surroundings just like any place else. Please let us know if you have any more questions or concerns. You can call the hotel directly at 804-343-7300. Sincerely, Anshu Kapoor
jllawther wrote a tip Jan 2024
Manassas, Virginia11 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take advantage of the valet parking!"
Read full review
Fada C wrote a tip Dec 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The elevators are smallish, but the cart and two folks can get into it. "
Read full review
Susan K wrote a tip Sep 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring good walking shoes"
Read full review
BBenfield wrote a tip Aug 2023
Maryland29 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Valet parking us an extra $33 Front desk not accommodate at all."
Read full review
Dillard’s wrote a tip Aug 2023
Waynesboro, Virginia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Expect a very small elevator. I’ve never seen elevators this small. Two people at a time."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Richmond area.
PRICE RANGE
C$286 - C$382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
commonwealth park hotel richmond, commonwealth park richmond
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaRichmond
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Commonwealth - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Commonwealth
Which popular attractions are close to The Commonwealth?
Nearby attractions include Virginia Capitol Building (0.2 km), The John Marshall House (0.5 km), and St. Paul's Episcopal Church (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Commonwealth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Commonwealth?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Commonwealth?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Commonwealth?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Commonwealth?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Tobacco Company Restaurant, Secret Sandwich Society, and La Grotta Ristorante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Commonwealth?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Commonwealth located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Richmond.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Commonwealth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Commonwealth?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Commonwealth offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Richmond HotelsRichmond Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RichmondHotels near The Commonwealth
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars