We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
901 Bank St, Richmond, VA 23219-3505
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Preferred Hotels
FindHotel
US$166
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-06-19
Hotels.com
Travelocity
SnaptravelUS$203
View all 22 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (117)
Room & Suite (79)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21-12-30 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Commonwealth
Updated 21-12-30 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 90 in Richmond
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
You may think you know The Commonwealth, as it has been a landmark hotel in Richmond for over 100 years. And much of what we have been known for—excellent service, spacious suites, and a location that can't be beat—remains. But we have totally reinvented ourselves, and now offer a uniquely Richmond experience. From the tattooed entrance doors on our suites (did you know that RVA is the 5th most tattooed city in America?), to furniture and art hand crafted from some of the area's most talented artisans, to java from Richmond's own Carytown Coffee, The Commonwealth will surprise and delight you at every turn. All guestrooms feature: Handcrafted furnishings and artwork from local Virginia artisans and artists; Beds with Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, luxurious cotton sheeting and your choice of pillow firmness; 50” flat screen TV with HD programming; Complimentary high speed wired & wireless internet; Clock radio with bluetooth music streaming; Refrigerator/freezer & microwave
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
540Reviews5Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 402
  • 82
  • 28
  • 16
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jamila C wrote a review May 12
2 contributions
Just wow! I stayed here with a friend who checked in yesterday and this place is great. There’s construction in the area and being a downtown area with one-way streets, parking can be a challenge. However, Mariah, the young lady at the front desk helped me find wonderful parking directly across the street. Not only was she a huge help in that moment, but she is very knowledgeable about the area’s dining and entertainment options. She wrote a list of highly-rated and popular restaurants that she’d personally visited for us to check out during our stay. She’s truly an asset to The Commonwealth with her bubbly demeanor and willingness to help. The other staff I encountered were very kind as well. Lastly, the rooms were impeccably clean, the shower amazing, and the bed provided a night’s rest that makes me want to put my own bed up for adoption. All in all, this was a wonderful visit to Richmond and this property was a huge part of it. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Kathryn wrote a review Nov. 2021
Fredericksburg, Virginia22 contributions30 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
My husband and I just returned from a fabulous 1 night stay at The Commonwealth for a date weekend staycation and we had a fabulous time! We decided to book at The Commonwealth due to the great reviews, location of the hotel and we wanted to stay somewhere historical with some charm. Everything was great from check-in to check-out! There is construction around one side of the building and we weren't quite sure at first what to do with our car when we pulled to the front to check-in, but the amazing staff let us know that we could valet our car or find street parking for free since we were there no a weekend. We opted for street parking for convenience and found a spot a block away. The staff at The Commonwealth are absolutely fantastic. They are honestly some of the nicest people I've encountered at a hotel! Every single person we met at the front desk and valet were so hospitable, kind, helpful and full of fantastic recommendations. A+ service! One thing to note that I noticed in some reviews before checking in is that the size of the elevators are really tiny. This is a super historical 100+ year old hotel, so the hotel has some quirks like that, but it's all part of the charm! My husband, me and a luggage cart were able to fit in there without a problem. Our room was really great. We booked a 1 bedroom king suite and it was beautiful! We had a great view of the Capitol grounds on the 9th floor, it was very spacious, clean and quiet. We loved it! There were a few things in the bathroom that could be adjusted just in the shower with some wear and tear, but nothing bad. The location of The Commonwealth is unbeatable -- we were walking distance to all of the great restaurants, coffee shops, Shockhoe neighborhood and Capitol Grounds -- we even did a ghost tour on the Capitol grounds and it was so convenient to be right across the street. Overall, we had a fabulous getaway at The Commonwealth and would absolutely stay here again! Thanks for a fantastic time!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and with windows with a good view of the state capitol grounds.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded Nov. 2, 2021
Thank you, Kathryn C, for taking the time to rate and to write such a wonderful review about The Commonwealth. We appreciate all of your feedback as every observation helps us to improve upon our product and services when needed. We hope you will choose to stay with us again soon for another much deserved staycation - our staff will look forward to welcoming you home. Thank you for being our guests!
Read more
christianodew wrote a review May 10
1 contribution
We were in Richmond for my son's graduation from The University of Richmond. Mariah, Kenny and Sara were so welcoming and friendly and really made our stay at your lovely hotel even more enjoyable. Sara was a wonderful host in Rueger's and Mariah provided helpful recommendations and Kenny alway greeted us with a smile. Lovely hotel and Lovely staff!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Marguerite S wrote a review May 4
West Columbia, South Carolina98 contributions22 helpful votes
Beautiful old, restored building with a lot of history. The rooms are all suites with more than adequate space for business and personal comfort. Keurig in the room was an asset for me! Very comfortable bedding. Separate thermostat in bedroom and living room let us each be comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you, 401marguerites, for taking the time to rate and review The Commonwealth. We appreciate all of your kind words and positive feedback. We hope you will choose to stay with us again soon - our staff will look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for being our guest!
Read more
Chelsea H wrote a review Apr. 2022
1 contribution
Booked this hotel on a whim & looked VERY nice from the photos which is why we booked it. (Also the price was indicative of a higher quantity stay.) We received a complimentary upgrade to a suite upon arrival—off to a great start—get to the room, it’s next to the elevator, okay maybe we won’t hear it. The room was odd. Felt large in an awkward way, dark painted walls, small window in bedroom, lots of marks on the walls and stains on the carpet, a locked door from the other side that we ended up blocking with a chair because-strange. Just not worth the price paid at all. Upon checkout, the front desk lady had her leg propped up on the table in a “stretch” position just super unprofessional. This place served its purpose for the night, however, we would not go back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Location- great Lower your luxury expectations
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you, Chelsea H, for taking the time to rate and review our hotel. We apologize that you were not happy during your stay with us but we sincerely appreciate all of your candid feedback and the unprofessionalism that you experienced has been addressed. Every one of our guests' comments are taken into consideration as they help us to improve upon our product and services - thank you for providing yours. We hope you might reconsider staying with us in the future but thank you for being our guest.
Read more
Travelingman500 wrote a review Apr. 2022
1 contribution
Great location, friendly staff. Room was nice. Internet could have been better, but didn't really need it, so not a big deal to me. Anything I needed, staff was able to assist with and had a smile on their faces.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you, Travelingman500, for taking the time out of your day to rate and review The Commonwealth. We appreciate all of your kind words and positive feedback. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to downtown RVA - our staff will look forward to it. Thank you for being our guest!
Read more
wyattmessinger wrote a review Apr. 2022
1 contribution
Strong smell of bleach from bedding (sheets and pillowcases) that resulted in a terrible headache and made bed unsleepable. I ended up sleeping on the couch. Smoke detector started beeping at 445am and stayed on throughout the rest of the night. Both issues raised with the front desk in the AM and zero follow-up communications or discount/refund offered. Would not book at The Commonwealth ever again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you, wyattmessinger, for taking the time to rate and review our hotel. We are so sorry to hear that you were not happy during your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and we apologize that in this case, we did not exceed that goal. We would love to speak with you in more detail regarding your experience and will be contacting you directly to do so. Thank you for being our guest.
Read more
gsiegal wrote a review Apr. 2022
arlington va4 contributions
We recently spent two nights at The Commonwealth. We found the staff to be very friendly and accomodating and stayed in a large room with a comfortable bed and a big bathroom. We had an inside room so it was dark during the day, but we were out most of the time so that didn't bother us. The location was great, very walkable to the Canal Walk and other areas.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you, gsiegal, for taking the time to rate and review The Commonwealth. We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future - all of our staff will look forward to it! Thank you for being our guest.
Read more
Joseph B wrote a review Apr. 2022
1 contribution
Great location with a surprisingly spacious room. I received great service from the staff and valet service. I was a bit Disappointed the restaurant was not open but there are plenty of local options available for walk in dining and a few delivery options
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you, josephbY3533BM, for taking the time to rate and review The Commonwealth. We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future - all of our staff will look forward to it! Thank you for being our guest.
Read more
SSW wrote a review Mar. 2022
Alexandria, Virginia29 contributions5 helpful votes
We booked a suite at the Commonwealth Hotel. It was one of their most expensive rooms. When we arrived our room was an interior room with very dirty windows overlooking an airshaft and some old rusty air conditioning equipment. We asked for a different room and were told they were none available. Maybe the rooms facing the Capital are pleasant but this room was dark, the interior lighting was poor and the dirty windows windows made the entire place seem dingy. If you go make sure you do not have an interior room.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure you have a room overlooking the Capital! Interior rooms are dingy. See pictures below.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tiffany Smithson, Sales at The Commonwealth
Responded Mar. 30, 2022
Thank you, Susan W, for taking the time to rate and review our hotel. We appreciate all of your candid feedback as it helps us to improve upon our product and services. We sincerely apologize that you were not happy during your stay with us. Unfortunately not all of our rooms have a view or even an abundance of natural light but we are sorry that you found them to be dingy. We hope you might consider staying with us again in the future - our staff would look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for being our guest.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$189 - US$261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
commonwealth park hotel richmond, commonwealth park richmond
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaRichmond
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Commonwealth
Which popular attractions are close to The Commonwealth?
Nearby attractions include The John Marshall House (0.5 km), St. Paul's Episcopal Church (0.2 km), and The National (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Commonwealth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at The Commonwealth?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Commonwealth?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Commonwealth?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Commonwealth?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Tobacco Company Restaurant, Secret Sandwich Society, and La Grotta Ristorante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Commonwealth?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Commonwealth located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Richmond.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Commonwealth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Commonwealth?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Commonwealth offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.