We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clarion Hotel Richmond Central

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 193: English reviews
Start your review of Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I pulled up to this property I almost drove away. The exterior of this hotel need remodeling. I walked in and this hotel is old and raggedy. I was tired of driving and decided to stay. Front desk staff accommodated me accordingly. Went to my room it was decent but old it did have a walk out balcony. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank England I
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear England I: Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. Your opinion is greatly appreciated. It actually touches on areas we thought was resolved. Years ago, before this new management team took over, we got tons of reviews saying our building appears old. It is old. It was built in the 70s. The bricks started to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My visit here was very pleasant. the staff was very nice and they had a nice place where you can make some tea in the lobby. They also had vending machines all over the hotel and a business center. Only a 10-minute drive from the Richmond Coliseum.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisyann L
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Daisyann L: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate this great review and hope to see you again soon. Yours in hosptiality, Shawn T. Guest Relations

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights here at a bridge tournament and will never come back. The room rates might be low, but there are good reasons. The hotel is very near a major highway and noise is an issue. The plastic keys we got on checking in did not work in the room door, so we were moved to another room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandy H
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Sandy H: Thank you for your starightforward & honest review. Your opionion is greatly appreciated. We are sad to learn that you have issues with our hotel and our restarunt, City Wraps. We do aplogize for not meeting and exceeding your expectations. Sincerely, Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

Pelham, New Hampshire
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Advertises 2 restaurants and a lounge, when we arrived only 1 restaurant was open with a very limited menu, and no liquor license so why advertise a lounge. We tried calling room service 4 times and they never answered the phone. Room was very outdated and there was no hot water for the shower, don't stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jlmaille
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear jlmaille: We are sorry that you feel that our intentions are to deceive our guest into thinking that our hotel has multiple restaurants. That is not our intention at all. Nacho Mama's Bar & Grill left us back in October of 2015, and City Wraps came in months later to replace Nacho Mama's to ensure our guest had a...

Pensacola
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Do not stay here! There are bed bugs. At 3:00 am I had to call the front desk because we were awakened by bedbugs biting. We killed one running down the side of the the mattress and it was full of blood. (Photo Attached). The front desk attendant came to room and witnessed the bugs. He stated he would give...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary T
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Mary T: Thank you for taking the time out to review our property and for making us aware of this. The room is closed pending treatment. We apologize for what you had to endure. Please contact me with your reservation details so I can ensure you were fully refunded for your stay. Sincerely, Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

Germantown, MD
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Elevator smells of cat urine, hallways smell like a cross between people urine and caustic chemicals. Highway noise all night. No shower pressure at all. Appears near deserted when you pull in, needs maintenance. Generally a sub par hotel experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lellis34
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear lellis34: Thank you for staying at our hotel and providing us with valuble feedback. We aplogize for the smell. It comes from the hyrdaullic oil in our elevator system. Our front lot remains empty most of the time, unless there is a function in the banquet halls. Our guest park in the back, and in the parking garage. I'm...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

There are many nice elements to the property. Its location is well chosen, very near The Diamond,. Easy access off I-64. There's a tiki bar, balcony rooms, gym, significant business facilities. Room is nice enough, comfortable. Big screen TV, micro and fridge. Bedding is fine. Pillows and pillow top mattress.. excellent. Pool looks like it could be gorgeous in season,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RBerkowitz
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear RBerkowitz: Thank you for taking the time out to review our property. We greatly appreciate all of the postivies in your responses and will work on the negative 'cons' in your response. Sounds like you stayed in building A. One that may take a while is the elevator. The smell is not cat urine, it is actually hydraullic oill....

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

So I cashed in a few Clarion Rewards points for a weekend in Richmond, Virginia. This hotel is centrally located right off of the highway. The staff was courteous and friendly. We had a first level handicapped room with the wide doors a spacious handicapped bathroom for wheel chair access. Our room had 2 Double beds vs 2 Queen beds....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Howard D
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Howard D: Thank you for staying with us and for using your Choice Rewards points with us. I'm sorry to hear about the sink in your room. If you have not reported that to the front desk yet, please contact me with the room number so I can submit a maintenance request. The restaurant is open every morning for...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Stayed here one night while passing through on my way to Baltimore. Booked through Choice Hotels website for about $72. I saw that my card was charged before I even checked in. When I finally arrived to check in on the 26th, they informed that the reservation was for the previous night, and that it was a "no show charge"!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Singleton80
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Singleton80: Thank you for staying at our hotel. It was nice to meet you and your cute dog. We were happy to still accommodate you with no extra charges under the circumstances. I apologize for the hot water. I will speak with our team to ensure our hot water is working properly for all of our guests. I do...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I was in Richmond for work. I was staying there over the weekend. My room number was 145 and I really enjoyed it. The room was spotless and well appointed.The shower worked very well. The front desk staff is very professional in what they do. I also like that the room has both an interior and exterior door. Very unique...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael M
Shawn T, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Dear Michael M: That is wonderful! Thank you for staying with us and for this great review. We are sorry about the arguing guests. Please come back to see us again soon. Please follow us on Facebook @clarionhotelcentral. Feel free to let our guest know on Facebook how great your stay was. :) Shawn T. Guest Relations Manager

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
12.7 km away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
5.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#39 of 81 in Richmond
214 reviews
6.6 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#33 of 81 in Richmond
126 reviews
12.6 km away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Clarion Hotel Richmond Central....Close To Everything...Far From Ordinary! Richmond's most centrally located hotel is just off I-95 & I-64 in the heart of Virginia's state capital. Closet Hotel to Greyhound Bus Lines, The Diamond and Race Track. One of the city's convention properties, we are just minutes from the Greater Richmond Convention Center. The historic and financial districts (including numerous Fortune 500 companies, Virginia Commonwealth University, Virginia Union University and the vast array of 'Museums on the Boulevard' are minutes from our door! The Richmond Raceway Complex, home to twice yearly NASCAR races is within miles of our hotel, and we are within walking distance of the Arthur Ashe Center. Clarion Hotel Richmond Central offers 176 deluxe accommodations, including three suites. The Executive King building with 32" Flat Screen LCD and Mirco/Fridge. We unveiled our new 'queen/queen' guest rooms! ZODIAC Restaurant & Lounge is open for breakfast and dinner daily. Our parking is plentiful - and complimentary! High -speed wireless Internet access is free and available property wide. . Our flexible meeting space can accommodate groups up to 600! At Clarion Richmond Central- memorable guest experiences happen daily! ** On To Richmond!' ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Richmond Central

Address: 3207 North Boulevard, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Holiday Inn Central)
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: $75 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Richmond Central 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Hotel Richmond Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond
Central Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Hotel Richmond Central staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
York Haven, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel Richmond Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the C block are farthest away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles SandyH365, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you care about your health, stay at a different hotel”
  • Bedbug after it was killed on the side of the bed in room 114
 of 5 bubbles T4332WVmaryt, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“avoid building next to freeway”
 of 5 bubbles 417maryellenm, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the four-story annex, not on the ground floor rooms near the pool, which was loud with lots of foot traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles Chaz343, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try a room closer to lobby area for a good Wi-fi signal”
 of 5 bubbles Jazsi1, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5