We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Richmond Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Richmond Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Richmond Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,368: English reviews
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Visit Richmond often for business travel and have always stayed at this hotel because of its perfect location. They recently went from a Garden Inn to a full Hilton - and it shows! The staff is great, and it's always nice to see the same faces from my previous visits. My Honors goodie bag is always waiting too. Other hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gregory R
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Gregory R; Thanks for your recent visit and feedback on your stay and our recent renovation. We are glad you also were recognized as a valuable Hilton Honor's guest from our team, and with the welcome goodie bag. We hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, John and team

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 17 April 2016

I attended a conference and the hotel was across the street. We had a king size bed that was very comfortable. I didn't like the pillows, they were too big; I just didn't like them. We had wi-fi access. Valet parking is convenient, you can take your car out whenever you want. We didn't need to use our car while...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cahurricane
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to our Hilton and your feedback. We are glad to hear the majority of your stay went well, as well you utilized our complimentary shuttle service while here. We'll thank the drivers, they do often give some tours of the area as requested and most have attended the Richmond Region Tourism classes on the...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 17 April 2016

There is only one reason to pay this much for a hotel: location, location, location. You are in downtown Richmond diagonal to convention center. Nice hotel, clean room, above average gym, decent indoor pool and hot tub, coffee make and fridge. Sign up in advance for the HHoners and you get a couple free bottles of water. Breakfast AND parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vtmathteacher
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear VT Math Teacher; Thank you for your recent visit to Richmond, the Teacher Conference and our Hilton. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel, the surrounding area, and our staff. We hope to see you back soon ! Sincerely, John and team.

Moseley
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Had a two queen beds room on the fifth floor and with the hotel fully booked it was still quiet. Room was comfortable. Everyone with the hotel was pleasant. Did not have any food or drink there so cannot comment on that. Exercise room and pool area looked inviting but we didn't utilize them. Valet parking is efficient, and $23,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MoseleyPaddler
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for your visit and noted "Fine Place" review on Tripadvisor. While you didn't visit our outlets for food or drink, I was glad to see you found Pasture on Grace St. Their pimiento cheese and crackers are awesome, as well other menu items. I always recommend the Grace St. Crawl; Start at Pop's, visit Julep's or Pasture, and finish...

Georgetown, South Carolina
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Great customer service, but it was very difficult to get a real person on the phone when trying to make reservations. Rates were very confusing and varied greatly for the same room. Parking is a real problem and it is best to park at the city garage. Rooms were very small for the high price. Bathrooms were barely room for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Robert; Thanks for your review and feedback. My apologies for the issues with reaching someone by phone, we did have some recent phone-in technology issues prior to your visit, that may have been the cause, since corrected. I sent a personal note should you wish to discuss further. We know our guests have choices in lodging, and do wish...

Maryland
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Great hotel and easy location. Regardless of how you approach the highway seems to be just a few blocks away. Room was good size and relatively clean. The upgrade from the Hilton Garden shows and everything is nice and new. Room service staff was great. Loved the call before they show up. Rest of staff were great as well. Had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leroyk
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear LeroyK; Thanks for your visit and comments to Tripadvisor. I was glad to see you enjoyed our location, the quiet interior room, and our staff. We look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, John and team

Wirtz, Virginia
Reviewed 10 April 2016

It was very cool to be in the old Miller & Rhoads building, but not worth the price "yet." I think that maybe once the entire hotel is finished it will be nice. My room was good, but again not worth over $200 a night. The bathroom was small. My toilet did not work well and ran all night. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Bill; Thanks for your visit, your post to Tripadvisor, and your response to my personal message. I am glad you enjoyed some of our features and amenities, however noted your other comments and will address with the team as we discussed. We do hope to see you back in the future, and do appreciate your Hilton loyalty. We know...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We had the best experience at this Hilton. Customer service was amazing from the front desk staff including and Kristen in the Executive Lounge. Even the valets were wonderful and friendly. We had a beautiful room that was new and comfortable. Shuttle drivers were incredible James and Vontrell. So convenient to take us to and from dinner. Other Hilton brand...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joan3boys
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Joan; Thank you for your visit to Richmond and stay with us. I was glad to see you enjoyed your visit and experience with us. I will share your review with the team here. We hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, John and team

Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 April 2016

I stayed at the Hilton Richmond Downtown for a family wedding this weekend. My room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was dreamy, shower head perfect, nice chaise lounge, refridge and small coffee pot which was not a Keurig type (much appreciated). Service at the hotel was pretty good although our waiter at breakfast was rude and his service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marge K
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback to Tripadvisor. I recall reviewing your comments on a Hilton survey as well, so myself or my team have responded by now. We appreciate your visit and feedback, and by listening to our guests make the necessary changes to our product and services we offer. I was glad the team was able to...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Last night I stayed in room 405. Stay away... from room 405. The room is gorgeous but it is literally directly over a bus stop. I now know the entire LOUD intercom call outs of the Richmond mass transit system. I basically could work for them. I swear, every 5 minutes a new bus arrived, followed by a LOUD announcement...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Johnny C, Thanks for your visit and note. I'm so sorry to hear the "sounds of the city" and specifically the bus noises impacted your stay, and a good nights rest. Yes, some of our lower exterior rooms on Grace Street can hear the sounds. I will send a personal note to discuss further, as GRTC unfortunately for safety...

249 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.8 km away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 81 in Richmond
1,750 reviews
0.5 km away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
974 reviews
0.8 km away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
0.8 km away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
753 reviews
0.1 km away
No photo provided
Richmond Marriott
#15 of 81 in Richmond
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: $213 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Richmond Downtown staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Richmond Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The second floor was nice and quiet. It also has the pool and workout area.”
 of 5 bubbles htgribble, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get an interior room for a quiet night sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles christinec871, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a corner room”
 of 5 bubbles Darrylswife0701, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on interior courtyard are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles eminva, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“7th floor is the Exec. floor but good luck getting it. Even with my diamond status, i rarely get up there.”
 of 5 bubbles 20165, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5