We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Expedia.comUS$67*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 360: English reviews
Start your review of Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
 Click to rate
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn Richmond South in Richmond, Va in November 2016 from Friday to Sunday. I booked the hotel through Priceline so I wasn't able to make any changes to my room once I got there. The woman who checked me in explained this to me. She was a little distracted but was a little helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeadBeachInCharge7
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments but sincerely apologize for the problems you had. We work hard to constantly improve our product and have gone through some positive changes since 6 months ago when you stayed. We are always working on the odor in our...

Spruce Pine, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very tired and just grabbed this place. I knew is was sketchy when they had the bullet proof glass /window to check in but $55 on Expedia. Otherwise $65. Basic room, smelly, the airconditioner was very loud, crummy TV, toilet had lots of trouble flushing, but got a good night's sleep. I would recommend Country Inn and Suites which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnbritt2013
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

I appreciate you sharing your experience including your concerns about your recent stay. We work hard to make this property and our guests stay better than they expect. I apologize for us falling short on your expectations. Our rates are a good value within our market and we constantly shop our competitors to keep our prices in the same range....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here 3 times for the NASCAR race every year. I never once felt unsafe. The hotel was full of other NASCAR fans which made it nice. The subway next door came in handy and the McDonalds is across the street. My rooms have always been clean!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lacey B
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. Your positive comments about our rooms, cleanliness, and location are appreciated. Even more the staff thanks you for continuing to come back and stay with us when you are in town which is a compliment to their efforts. Our new rooms continue to get...

Northampton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

This Red Roof is the older "motel" style. Rooms were old, but clean. All rooms are labeled "100% smoke free", but, once you open the door, you know that is not the case. We arrived late and found the smell of cigar smoke so unbearable that we could not stay. The only other room available was better but still not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianacal
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and my sincerest apologizes for not being able to accommodate you that evening. I am glad you gave us the chance to fix the problem but again apologize for not being able to satisfy you. I appreciate your comment on our clean rooms. With the updates to our rooms our...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at this Red Roof Inn on our way home from Florida. We selected Red Roof Inn strictly because of a low cost of this chain of hotels. It may not be suitable for everyone but it served our needs for a night on a long trip home. PROs Pet friendly, cheap, next to I-95 a gas station...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ganman55
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post your review. We appreciate you picking Red Roof Inns over all the choices there are today. Our rates are a great value if you are just traveling and don’t need all the extra amenities. When you travel with pets it makes it even a...

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

I pre booked this hotel because of great reviews. When we pulled in I was very skeptical... definitely old " motel" look. All rooms face outside and it seems a little sketchy. Open the door and step into the 21st century! Blonde wood floors,beautiful bed furnishings, new sleek desk and furniture. This is one of the best rooms under 100$...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori121499
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Red Roof Inns on your recent trip. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our new styles of rooms continue to impress guests especially with the wood floors. Our flat screen TV’s with HD channels and improved WiFi also adds to our value. We work hard...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The staff was nice at the front desk. I was traveling with two children. The price and the closeness to the event we were attending was right. However when we walked in the room it was cold. The fifth was discovered 1st in the fridge. The fridge was not clean droppings of ketchup and food crumbs was in the fridge....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 777Advisor777
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. We work hard to provide clean and comfortable rooms to all our guests with good service even when we don’t get it all right. I will share this with my team to make sure we are...

Reviewed 26 March 2017

Dirty sheets, and dirty room, noisy guests, thin walls, and unapologetic management. The room they gave me had dirty used sheets on the bed which were not even tucked in, and a half finished beer can on the dresser. The hallways were filled with what appeared to be homeless people, who made noise inside and outside the property until very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwardwilson21037
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. As we discussed on the phone this was unfortunately a terrible mistake and the room you were given had not been cleaned yet. At an inconvenience I agree, but a call to the desk would have corrected this error immediately. I understand that someone else was...

Reviewed 13 March 2017

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn in richmond-south, va, and it was great and wonderful. The stay was very comfortable. The front desk clerk Janet was wonderful and very helpful.I also love this hotel because its pet friendly and i can bring my dog with me and don't have to leave him at home when i travel. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking a moment to share your experience. I very much appreciate your comments on our rooms and service. We are happy that you decided to stay and gave us 5 stars for the experience. Your comments on Janet are appreciated as it is always great to see staff members get mentioned...

Reviewed 3 March 2017

After an awful experience on the way down to Florida, our return trip was so much better. The front desk service was quick and polite. Small room and beds, but it was spotless.. I actually tipped housekeeping!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry F C
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. It always makes my day when a customer gives us a try and agrees that we are a great value. I have been hearing a little more lately from guests that they really like our new style of room too. I very much appreciate...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
20.1 km away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#38 of 81 in Richmond
221 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Hampton Inn Richmond South
#28 of 81 in Richmond
398 reviews
7.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Richmond South
13.9 km away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Address: 4350 Commerce Rd, Richmond, VA 23234-2240
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: $100 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Richmond South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South Hotel Richmond
Richmond Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn - Richmond South staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Amelia Island, Florida
over a year ago
Pocomoke City, Maryland
9 months ago
Pocomoke City, Maryland
9 months ago
Levittown, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn - Richmond South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I thought staying in the front over the office was the safest place to be. I didn't have any problems.”
777Advisor777, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid this hotel”
Edwardwilson21037, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid, pick a different hotel”
ClemsonEngineer, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the back side of the hotel. They're quieter.”
PvtMudflap, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hotel is next to the highway, rooms towards the road are quieter”
N5712NXpauls, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$67* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$70
Booking.comUS$67
TravelocityUS$67
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates