We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Santana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Santana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,047: English reviews
st195js
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Just got back from Malta had a lovely stay at the Santana again where we was given an upgrade as the room we usually have was taken(thank you for the free upgrade) everything was fine no problems what's so ever the staff was very pleasant and attentive to our needs saw all our old friends and made new ones as... More 

Helpful?
Thank m1b1o1i1
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a short 4 night stay here, got a very good deal from Broadway Travel. We were on an all inclusive deal. The room was quite small but clean and comfortable, beds and pillows were comfy and a well equipped bathroom with a good shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was quite good, plenty of... More 

Helpful?
Thank taxigirl06
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is in serious need of redisign and refurbishment. A lot of thought needs to be looked in to here. This could make a popular hotel in to a 4 star plus. Refurbish all the rooms and corridors, getting rid of the damp. The rooms are poorly glazed to the point you don't know if the windows are open... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived as bit before 2.00pm was told by Dalla you will have to wait asked if we could get a drink she in the coffee shop thought she was a short and sharp. Eventually able to go to our room which was nice and clean and was kept that way on a daily basis. Restaurant was a bit of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda433
West Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having visited this hotel 2 yrs ago my partner thought he wuld like to go back for his special birthday. Big mistake! 1st room - admittedly was a good size, clean and new but integrated fridge was scalding hot and had to be moved. Beds creaked and groaned and prevented us from sleeping. Tried to get them mended but in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan E
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Santana. We regret to note that we have not managed to meet your expectations this time and we apologise for this. We appreciate that the mentioned issues have already been communicated through previous correspondence and that an amicable solution has been found. With this being... More 

Travellers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We was given a room on the first floor.very modern,with a large walk in shower,4 single beds,and put-u-up-sofa.32" flat screen tv,wardrobes,dressing table,and mini fridge,and balcony.rooms are no smoking,which suited us. how some people can complain about the food I don't know.for breakfast you had a choice of 4 cereals or porridge.full English breakfast,fruit salad bowel,2 types yogurt.cold meats,cheese,salads,bread or rolls,plus... More 

Helpful?
Thank gevi186259
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We would like to thank you for your review of Hotel Santana. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here. We will certainly share your lovely comments with the rest of the team. Whilst we thank you again for your review, we also look forward to be of service to you again should you... More 

Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Oh dear where to begin. Before arrival you think your staying in a lovely hotel that looks some what like the picture advertising this hotel , wrong !!!! Looks nothing like it, its shabby, out dated and stuck in a 70's time warp.Upon our arrival we booked in to a room on the 1st floor, there was 4 in our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KarenBaker_11
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We would like to start off by showing our regret for not managing to meet and exceed your expectations during your stay which is ultimately our main goal. We would also like to apologise for the problems encountered with your respective rooms, however according to our records no reports were made with regards to your second room. For... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First and foremost the rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff were all friendly and could not do enough to help us. Although the hotel itself is just a little dated and could do with a refresh it is a great place to stay with great access to all amenities. Whilst not gourmet level the food (we had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments with regards to our service and we are glad that you had an overall enjoyable stay. We try our utmost to meet all our guests' expectations and we take all feedback into consideration. Whilst we thank you again for your review, we also hope to... More 

derby uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the Hotel and was given a room on the 4th floor. there were 3 adults in our group which I booked for. The main bedroom had 2 single beds and 3rd was in a room what can only be called a store room. The room was empty except for a table there was no wardrobe or draws... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank leason4
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We would like to thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Santana. We truly value your opinion and sincerely apologize if we did not meet your expectations. With regards to your accommodation, we regret to note that you did not like your room. May we kindly point out that your reservation was for a triple room;... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel with beautiful gardens and seating to the rear. Rooms are very spacious with comfortable beds and lovely walk in shower. I found the hotel to be very clean and communal areas kept nice. On arrival I was disappointed to find that I could not have a front facing low floor room which was requested on booking and then... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MARCIA A
Sunroute Hotels M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We would like to thank you for your favourable review of Hotel Santana. We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay. We also appreciate your comments with regards to food in the restaurant and Zazen Garden. We apologise for any issues you encountered whilst you were here. However, we appreciate your feedback as this helps... More 

614 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (444)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (166)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
Suite (40)
Viewed
Superior Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.2 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,317 reviews
0.3 km away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,400 reviews
0.2 km away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,546 reviews
0.9 km away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
254 reviews
0.4 km away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $40 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Santana staff and other travellers.
71 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (71)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Santana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles 3nigels, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best rooms in the new part views not brilliant but balconies good size did not USA a/c but told by others it was good”
 of 5 bubbles Linda433, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a large room with balcony preferably overlooking back garden”
  • This is water not a shiny surface on balcony due to blocked drainage unable to sit out.
  • I am only a size 4 shoe
  • A previous occupier had obviously done some ironing
  • Loose tile and crumbling facia
  • Dampness in corner of room
 of 5 bubbles JanE180, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose first floor,facing front of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles gevi186259, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“dont go there”
 of 5 bubbles KarenBaker_11, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay