We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Primera Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Primera Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 212: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

the staff at the primera were very friendly and helpful.The food however was always only ever luke warm. The rooms were clean and comfortable, found it strange that you had to rent a kettle as everywhere else we have stayed they come as standard. it could be a bit noisy at night as it is right on the main street....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delia B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed stay in first week of November. Bus stops located less than 3 minutes away from hotel, travelling to Valletta, from Mdina, etc. Hotel reception staff provided bus map and were all generally very wonderful. It's a crime to eat in granted access to so many restaurants nearby. Basic variety of meals at hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EuuuDuuu
Primera_Hotel, Assistant to the GM at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EuuuDuuu, Thank you for reviewing Primera Hotel, and for sharing your positive experience with the other readers of Tripadvisor! I am glad you enjoyed the enviable position our home offers, and the friendliness and professionalism of our reception staff: they all send their warmest regards. Should you choose again Primera Hotel for your holidays, do not hesitate to contact...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Just returned from a weeks holiday, not very impressed, the room was adequate, but very much in need of a revamp, five sockets in room , only one worked so had to keep juggling chargers etc. TV had one working channel, soap dispensers empty from the start and never filled, light bulbs out, balcony tiny , the adjacent bars were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suejoyce2012
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear suejoyce2012, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Primera and that you had issues with your room. Thank you for appreciating my reception staff: they all send their best regards. If the position of Primera is not ideal for your concept of holiday, let me recommend you Ambassador Hotel: with its unobstructed view on the sea...

Reviewed 17 October 2016

We have just returned from a holiday in this hotel. The room was spacious and clean, the beds were made every day and the towels changed. We had a balcony room on the side of the hotel where a couple of bars were, but did not notice an excessive amount of noise, although we were on the 5th floor. Met...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Teresa D
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teresa D, Thank you for such a rewarding review of our home! It’s nice to read that my staff made your stay an enjoyable one, that you found our rooms comfortable and clean, and the position Primera offers ideal for your needs. Next time you come, we will do our best to grant you a room on one of...

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Stayed at this hotel for 10 days in October with trepidation. I can't understand what all the moaning is about. This is a budget hotel but not one you rent by the hour. I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room for starters, I've paid twice as much for a smaller room. The hotel was spotless with bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Normasavory
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Normasavory, Thank you for your lovely review! Thanks for sharing with the other readers and reviewers your positive experience of our rooms, our breakfast, and, more important, my staff: any comment praising their friendliness and helpfulness is always deeply rewarding. Above all, I am happy you found your room comfortable, and enjoyed the free and ever changing, entertainment offered...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

had a balcony room with partial sea view...only problem being it mainly overlooks the bars and cafes so is very noisy...no free wifi....had to pay 1.5 euros per day for a kettle...we have been to this area several times and our usual hotels were booked up..i must say that the reception staff were very good...the room was clean and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raycroxy
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear raycroxy, Thank you for your comment on Primera Hotel, and for using some of your valuable time to give us a feedback. I understand that Primera Hotel does not answer to your canon of holiday, but glad you could appreciate the cleanliness of our rooms and the friendliness and professionalism of my reception staff, along with our enviable location....

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Hi I stay at your hotel last September and I wasn't that please first of all the room that they gave me was nice but who clean 2 floor was rude she smoke in the room I complain about it but on deaf ears I think the manager doesn't care for the complains .Where is the law you can't smoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane v
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jane v, I am sorry and rather surprised you had some issues with a member of my staff, since most comments we get praise all of my colleagues for being friendly and professional: I will most surely check what you reported, since I do care about the opinion of my guests -or I wouldn't make sure to reply promptly...

chocolatetiger66
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Taxi from airport 25€. 1st visit to Malta booked with Travel Republic 7 nights for £269. A friend recommended this hotel after her previous stay because she loved the location next to the square, bars and shops. She knew we were on a budget and use to basic accommodation. Check in was quick and easy but the young gentleman was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chocolatetiger66
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chocolatetiger66, Thank you for taking some time to share your experience at Primera Hotel with the other readers and reviewers of Tripadvisor, and thank you for your very informative comment. I am glad to notice that you had an overall positive experience at our Home, that really is a good starting point for anyone desiring to explore Malta. Regarding...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Hotel location is excellent for Buggiba, right next to local bars and cafe's. Booked Half board for 2 weeks in the Primera Hotel. Issue we had despite requesting through our agents Purple Travel to request a room with a view, we were allocated a middle room, with no view and window only opened into a vented area for the kitchen,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherine c
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear catherine c, I regret to notice that your stay at Primera didn't really meet your expectations, and promise to look into that hairdryer accident personally. With regards to some of your complaints, for the benefit of those reading this review, may I add that you did not book with us, but through an agency: I truly hope you will...

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2weeks in August and we were pleasantly surprised, we had allocation on arrival so was a little concerned where we were going. The hotel and its staff could not be faulted very clean friendly place, food was good and there was plenty, the location was very good and the sea view rooms excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Massen, Thank you for your lovely review of Primera Hotel and for taking some time to share your experience with the other reviewers and readers of Tripadvisor. I couldn't be happier of your positive comments about my staff, the comfort and the cleanliness of Primera: we all send you our warmest regards. For what concerns the pool bar,...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.5 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,317 reviews
0.8 km away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 14 in Bugibba
432 reviews
0.5 km away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
2.9 km away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,218 reviews
0.5 km away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Primera Hotel

Address: Pioneer Rd, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $27 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Primera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Primera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primera Hotel St Pauls Bay
Primera Hotel Malta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Primera Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Primera Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the right hand side over look the bars and are extremely noisy until late every night”
 of 5 bubbles suejoyce2012, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher level floors may be quieter than the lower ones, due to the bars locally,”
 of 5 bubbles 746teresad, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a balcony you will never be bored”
 of 5 bubbles Normasavory, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room 201 had great view, but can be noisy due to bars.”
 of 5 bubbles catherinec983, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with balcony and higher level”
 of 5 bubbles 172christinem, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay