We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Santa Maria Hotel

Hostelworld.comUS$39*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$45*
US$39*
Great Deal
US$44*
US$44*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Santa Maria Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

593 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 419: English reviews
Start your review of The Santa Maria Hotel
 Click to rate
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

Placed here as the hotel were booked into was over booked, The St Pawel. Disappointed with the room, curtains didn't meet, so the balcony light, which was on all night and couldn't be switched off, floodlit the room. The bath was patched and very stained. The mattresses were too big for the bases, MOH fell out twice when turning over....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaret887
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I had to come and share my experience. I was really, i mean really anxious about my trip, because of the comments. I'm right now in Santa maria hotel and i was really relieved when we arrived. The hotel is old, but very clean and basic. Staff is very nice and if you have a problem they try to fix...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
D8046ZPlee, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anna H We aim to provide good value for money holidays with the friendliest atmosphere We appreciate your appraisal of the staff all who look forward to seeing you again should you return to Malta kind regards Lee Pearce

Reviewed yesterday NEW

Well its starts with the matter that the hotel of choice was not available for check in date ? Due to " a leak on the rooms floor" as reported. We didnt know if it was a downgrade or upgrade. If was down would a refund be discussed? As it stands the room given could have been refurbished and or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie N
D8046ZPlee, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annmarie N Thank you for taking the time in sending your review and balanced comments. Regarding to the A/C unit this does work but has to be plugged in by the Maintenance. all your comments regarding the rooms and restaurant these have been passed on to the relevant departments for action. Kindest regards Lee Pearce

Begelly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went for a fortnight when we booked we asked for a fridge for medical supply took us a day and half to get then they never left us a key to leave electricity on. When we finally got it sorted all was good. We also stated that one of our party was gluten free well we're still waiting for that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The4Welshies
D8046ZPlee, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear The4Welshies we here at The Santa Maria Thank you for taking the time in writing your balanced review. with this we can establish which areas we need to improve for the service of all the clients. I thank you for the appraisal of the staff on which if you travel back to Malta. we would be happy to see...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Plus: -nice rooms, pleasant staff -close to some places of interest -food is good but not great (we had breakfast included) -great pool opened from 10 to 18 Minus: -the Wi-Fi network is not working properly not even in the lounge area -hotel is close to some pubs/restaurants and there is plenty of music/noise until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela S
D8046ZPlee, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to thank you for your well balanced review and appraisal of the staff who continuously work hard along with the Management to ensure all guests enjoy there stay. regarding to the cleaning i will pass onto the department for action. kindest regards Lee Pearce

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The service was ok, there was some problems on the day of our arrival but otherwise we were satisfied. A good place for young people. If there is a problem it gets fixed quickly, and the people who work at the hotel are nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katja R
D8046ZPlee, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katja R I want to thank your review and the staff here appreciate your comments. we hope to see you again or your family should you choose to return to Malta. Kind regards Lee Pearce

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So to start with I needed a one night stay at a hotel and choose Santa Maria. When I arrived it took a while for the check in and after the receptionist gave me the key he told me they just did refurbishment. Well after I went to the hotel room the room looked fine and tidy. After I tried...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank josbutt
D8046ZPlee, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear josbutt Thank you for taking the time in writing your review i am sorry that your stay was not satisfactory and we will certainly take each matter in hand. regarding to the electric switches in the room and the fan not working this was duly fixed by the maintenance team. The ac is of a portable unit with in...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Can I say the holiday did not go very well , the first couple of days the floor in the bathroom was covered in water due to a leak and a blockage , I reported the incident about 3 times before any action was taken ,the repair was not carried out properly, then the same situation happened again, I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sanata. Hotet In buggibba was offered after our choosen hotel canifor was over booked by holiday company am glad we stayed here the staff where very helpful. They could not do enough for us yes some of rooms need updating Breakfast was great something for everybody we all had great time and fantastic bus service bus station only five minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suchall
D8046ZPlee, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suchall, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We aim to provide good value for money holidays with the friendliest atmosphere, I appreciate your appraisal of the staff all who look forward to seeing you again should you return to Malta. we would like to see you return to Santa Maria kind regards Lee Pearce

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently visited this for a short break all inclusive ,ha what a joke !!!thought I got a good deal at £380 for two ?? No totally robbed ,this hotel is more if a self catering which if I'd known would of booked , hotel it self is clean , basic, pool area ok , you had to to and throw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
D8046ZPlee, Guest Relations Manager at The Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane S, We of course realize there is always improvements to be made and genuinely welcome all feedback positive or otherwise. I am sure you will appreciate that due to the time laps from your stay to review, we have addressed many issues you mention.Such balanced constructive reviews enable us to ascertain the areas we need to investigate and...

332 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (324)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (141)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.1 km away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,435 reviews
0.1 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,458 reviews
1.2 km away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
455 reviews
1.1 km away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,933 reviews
0.9 km away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The excellent location of the hotel Santa Maria is in the quiet seaside town of Bugibba only 500 meters from the beach will treat visitors to an unforgettable holiday. Guests can while away the days soaking up the sun beside the hotel's pool, on the town's artificial beach, in the coastal lidos or on the large flat rocks which line the seafront. With a wide range of al fresco restaurants serving varied and delicious cuisine and the fantastic shops and open-air cafes found in bustling Il Bajja Square, evenings offer just as much fun for visitors as the days. After all that excitement, there's no better way to unwind than sitting in the quaint harbour watching brightly coloured fishing boats swaying in the evening breeze. The hotel itself has excellent facilities for guests with an outdoor pool and jacuzzi, solarium with hammocks, lounge bar and 24-hour reception . The rooms are fully equipped for your comfort with a private bathroom, balcony or terrace, TV, telephone and safe on request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Santa Maria Hotel

Address: Triq Ir-Ramel | San Pawel Il-Bahar, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 3033, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Price Range: $42 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Santa Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santa Maria Hotel Malta/Bugibba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Santa Maria Hotel staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
manchester
Rhondda, United Kingdom

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from The Santa Maria Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms looking over the pool is nice, when booking maybe put a small note of minimal requirements if possible”
431annmarien, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't do all inclusive or half board breakfast is just passable EAT OUT”
The4Welshies, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“I was on the ground floor ,when I was there,rooms 11/12 got the sun all day , I did not encounter any undue noise.”
frankgE888MN, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“When booking u can have better rooms u just pay more which is fair”
Suchall, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Not overlooking the pool. Too noisy.”
L6431KNmichaelj, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$39* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$44
Expedia.comUS$44
Booking.comUS$45
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates