W Atlanta - Downtown
W Atlanta Downtown
Traveller (644)
Panorama of the Fabulous King Room at the W Atlanta - Downtown
360
Panoramas (26)
Living Room
Room & Suite (358)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#67 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
W Atlanta - Downtown offers a chic, high-end experience and one of the finest accommodations that will make your visit to Georgia memorable. Ideally located in downtown Atlanta, our hotel provides an authentic urban experience and allows guests to immerse in the historic center city, specialty shopping, upscale living, and relaxing in a luxurious style. When you enter our modern hotel, bright and colorful lights with glass facades welcome you to our elegant entrance to the hotel’s lobby. Enjoy a good night’s sleep and relax in our guest rooms with stunning panoramic views of downtown Atlanta. Spacious suites for leisure travelers or ergonomic workstations for corporate travelers, we offer all the ingredients you need for a perfect stay. Host a banquet or a corporate function at our eight modern event spaces & our event planning staff will help you bring your vision to life. Experience a new meaning of Southern hospitality at its best at W Atlanta - Downtown.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Wifi
Paid wifi
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

45 Ivan Allen Jr. Blvd, Atlanta, GA 30308
1,345Review28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 661
  • 287
  • 192
  • 102
  • 103
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KariBeth G wrote a review Feb 2020
10 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The check-in staff was super helpful and friendly. I needed to wake up early, and I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews on here about the noise level, so I requested a room away from the lobby bar/club, and they were happy to accommodate my request. I ordered room service early the next morning before I had to leave for the race, and it arrived in 15 minutes and was delicious. I found an express deal on another travel booking site, so I was able to stay for a very reasonable cost as well. Clean room, comfy bed, great stay overall. (note: the showers are completely open to the room, so if you aren't traveling with someone that you are comfortable showering around, this is not the hotel for you. Otherwise, everything about the room is modern and comfortable.)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or hard to fall asleep with noise, suggest a room away from the lobby...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, General Manager at W Atlanta - Downtown
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Hello karibethg, It was our pleasure to welcome you to W Atlanta Downtown. We appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed our ultra-modern accommodations, energetic service, and locally-inspired food delights. We love that we could provide you with a lush hideaway filled with revitalizing and rejuvenating style among specialty shopping and upscale living. We are excited to welcome you back anytime you are in the area! Christopher Cannon General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt V wrote a review Nov 2022
Lumberton, New Jersey101 contributions110 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
One of my first stays at a W hotel, and first stay at the W - Atlanta and I will be sure to return while in the area. The W feels like an upscale boutique type hotel with welcoming vibes. Recognized as a plat elite at check in and had a nicely sized 'wonderful room - suite'. Well appointed rooms with stylish decor and floor to ceiling windows with my room overlooking downtown ATL. Very nice bathroom, fixtures and shower with rainfall shower head. Separate room with the toilet in the bathroom as well. I thoroughly enjoyed the room and space. The W bar was right in the lobby and featured some specialty cocktails and decor as well. The gym was located on the upper floor of the hotel and was large, clean and plenty of free weights and machines for use as well as cardio equipment. Breakfast was located in the restaurant on-site or at the grab and go breakfast spot. Service was somewhat slow but the food was good. A $20 voucher was included for plat elite guests and that barely covered a drink and a entree item. Location could be better as other than a brewery and a pizza spot there is not a lot within the direct area but a short walk to Peachtree and a more busy downtown is within reach when the weather is nice. Overall a pleasant stay and would return while traveling in the area .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at W Atlanta - Downtown
Responded Nov 15, 2022
Hello 704mattv, We love knowing we could make you feel at home with our Southern charm and modern living. Our signature W bed, lovely amenities, and fabulous entertainment are all designed to make your wishes come true. We are always eager to go the distance for our guests, and we appreciate you mentioning our efforts. However, we do regret that our location did not meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing W Atlanta Downtown, and we look forward to your next visit! Best Regards, Alexey Muravskiy Director of Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geneva P wrote a review Dec 2020
6 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the W hotel . The staff was nice and professional but for the amount of money spent, the fixtures needed to be a little more maintained. In the room, paint was chipped , the vent was dusty, and it took a while for the hot water in the shower to warm up . The hotel still charged gratuity and service fee for in room dinning but it was not an option , since the dinning room was closed due to COVID . If it was closed and this was the guests only option service fee should have been left off. The Spa was great and the staff there were great . Since travel is so limited now, hotels should be making to their venues are top notch. Again kudos to the staff on their service . I was not able to speak with the staff upon checkout since no one was at the desk.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel S wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I emailed Marriott after our stay before posting this review and their response was just not appropriate in my opinion.

I am not exaggerating when I say I have stayed in $40 motel rooms that were cleaner and better cared for than this "luxury" hotel. I booked our hotel room in September of 2020 and we were so looking forward to our stay. It was our anniversary trip and to say we were disappointed, frustrated and repulsed is a huge understatement. Upon entering the hotel we were still in high hopes, the service we received was average but the lobby itself was absolutely beautiful, however, any excitement we were feeling was quickly dashed upon entering our guest room as the dark grey carpet was covered in white and red stains, and somehow it just continued to get worse from there. Almost immediately, the allure of the room turned to disgust as we discovered issue after issue. The blackout shades were stained with large red patches and what appeared to be a hand print, it was extremely unsettling, to say the least. There were prints, dirt, and drip marks on the walls. The bed did not have a fitted sheet, and the flat sheet, placed on top of the mattress pad as a substitute, was covered in dust. The carpet and corners of the room were caked in dirt and dust. The alarm clock was covered in dirt and dust. The mini refrigerator did not work and would not cool anything. There were several areas where the furniture and panels in the room were chipped or damaged. We can live without a fitted sheet and dinged up furniture, but all of these issues together are unacceptable, especially for the Marriott brand. We were expecting better. We know they can do better than this. Although most of the food and service we received were fantastic, we will never return to this hotel or ever recommend it to anyone. I am extremely turned off of the entire Marriott brand at this moment, and hope no one else has had to deal with so many impermissible problems. Save yourself the time, money, and disappointment and choose a different hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Breezy J wrote a review Oct 2021
Dallas, Texas27 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I am a Marriot Bonvoy Silver Elite member and this is my third stay at this location and will likely be my last.

Pros: downtown location, walking distance to several attractions, lobby and bar w/ DJ on the weekends

Cons: rooms are outdated w/ worn furniture, cost not reflective of room quality and supposed luxury, visible dust everywhere in the room, stains noted throughout furniture and walls, in room dining overpriced for the quality

I understand COVID protocols and no daily cleaning, but you can tell these rooms haven’t been deep cleaned or renovated in years. I definitely think the price should reflect that. There are comparable hotels in the area for cheaper. Don’t waste your money if you’re expecting “luxury”.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peggy C wrote a review Aug 2021
La Mirada, California35 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms needed an update, broken blinds, scratched furniture, dust, etc. The staff was extremely nice, helpful, and attentive. They even remembered our names. The prices were over the top. $79,00 for breakfast (2 waffles, bacon, bagel, cream cheese, & 1 juice) Drinks at the bar were also expensive. I did use the day spa and both Monica & Mary were amazing. I would recommend them any day....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelly R wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were very very friendly, but there was no bell person to help with bags, etc. The room service menus were extremely limited and had very limited times. The restaurants were also closed most of the days/nights I stayed there.

My keys stopped working multiple times which was a headache.

The gym, while nice and clean, didn’t have water one day and no water fountain could be found. So I had to pay for the water in my room that was $5 for a small bottle. I don’t think it’s actually legal to not have a water source or fountain in a gym.

The hotel itself is dated and is in desperate need of a renovation.

My room was only cleaned 3 out of the 4 days and I was gone all day without the DND sign on my door.

There also isn’t much to do downtown. The nearest pharmacy is almost a mile away and very few restaurants and bars.

Overall, I was pretty disappointed in the hotel and lack of services available.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay in Midtown or Buckhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, General Manager at W Atlanta - Downtown
Responded Dec 19, 2022
Hello Kelly, Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your review. It is wonderful to know that our friendly Talent left a lasting impression. However, we regret that we did not meet your expectations in other areas, and we apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced. Your feedback is important to us, as it shows us where improvements need to be made in order to enhance our guest experience. We appreciate you choosing our hotel, and we hope you will return for the exceptional experience for which we are known. Best Regards, Alexey Muravskiy Director of Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HonestLinz wrote a review Jan 2020
Derby, United Kingdom30 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here on business for a week. The location of the hotel was fine for us, close to the Congress centre and some restaurants nearby.

When I entered my room, first reaction was it was dark....but it was fine, the dark woods probably added to it. Two good size double beds (I was alone but I know this is standard). Bathroom was fine, complimentary toiletries were nice, shower in the bath, again fine. Ironing board, hairdryer - all fine and useful.
I noticed complimentary earplugs on my nightstand which I thought was a nice touch - little did I know it was because of the sound of the lifts that seemed to get louder if you stayed in a higher floor (according to my colleagues). The big negative aspect for me was that the bed was way way too soft, it was like sleeping on a marshmallow, too soft for me. My colleagues all said there’s were the same so there was no point in asking to change rooms. As I have neck and back issues I need to sleep on a harder bed, so I slept on the room floor every night for a week ( I know I should’ve said something!). I made myself a little makeshift bed out of the 8 pillows in my room and slept on them and the duvet - not ideal but it was fine. Every morning I put everything back...why I don’t know but I’m British haha.
All the staff were lovely to me. I did watch one receptionist getting what I would call verbal abuse from a guest and bless her, she just calmly took it. It made me really uncomfortable to witness such disgusting behaviour towards another human. Awful.

Anyway if you love a soft bed then stay there, but for me the noisy lifts and the bed meant I wouldn’t choose to stay there if I ever returned to Atlanta.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, General Manager at W Atlanta - Downtown
Responded Jan 24, 2020
Hello LSHanson, Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in Atlanta and sharing your experience. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the vibrant, attentive service that our Talent always strives to deliver. However, it is disappointing to read that you were disturbed by lift noise and felt the mattress was too soft, which adversely impacted your sleep. Guest comfort is important to us and had we known, our Talent would have absolutely gotten anything you needed to achieve a restful night’s sleep. On behalf of all of us, please know that we are grateful for your business and hope that you will consider trying us again on your next visit to the area. Christopher Cannon General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vinayp827 wrote a review Jun 2021
St. Petersburg, Florida34 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel for a few days. Upon checking in, the entrance was nasty and not cleaned. Walked through the lobby and was very dark and had a weird stench. After we checked in, we got off on our floor and the hotel looked beat up. We walked into our room and the shower had filth written all over it. There was dirt and mildew built up in the corners and on the grout lines. There were pee stain on the floor. There were “unknown” stain on the walls. The furniture was so beat up that you could find better furniture at a local swap meet. The curtain was hanging from the ceiling. The walls were beat up and the drywall and plaster was coming off. We had to call to check out immediately. They offered to upgrade and love rooms but we were beyond disgusted and check out.

This hotel was $400/night. These issues should not exist PERIOD! They have multiple people to check and verify the room is rentable. They failed to do this and use staff shortage as an excuse.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hann Vann wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We just arrived to the W for a nice night for our honeymoon. When we got up to our room. Our view was a literal concrete wall. We paid almost $500 for this room and the customer service was terrible, they were not willing to move us to a different room. We literally just had to cancel and they left us in a city we are not familiar with to try to find a different hotel. 0 out of 5 stars. I’m extremely disappointed and will be calling Marriott. This isn’t how you treat people especially ones on their honeymoon. Don’t waste your time or money here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravelisHeaven asked a question Sep 2023
Atlanta Ga182 contributions228 helpful votes
Where do people go to walk their dogs ? Is this area walkable at night?
Answer from Kennedy K
21 contributions
Well to be honest have got no Answer for this!
Lindsay C asked a question Jun 2021
Dallas, Texas
Does this hotel offer baggage storage?
Answer from Smittydakid
15 contributions9 helpful votes
Yes
M.Crawford770 asked a question Apr 2021
Abbeville, South Carolina
Is the pool open?
Answer from Smittydakid
15 contributions9 helpful votes
Yes, the pool is open starting in may!
Gray R wrote a tip Jun 4
Hilton Head, South Carolina15 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You must dine at the F&B outlets…soooo good!"
Read full review
GaMtnTraveler wrote a tip Apr 2024
Helen, Georgia115 contributions29 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Shop around, there are better options better prices. "
Read full review
Schilack605 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Bedzin, Poland408 contributions124 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast is quite expensive."
Read full review
Amilli Webb wrote a tip Sep 2023
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hopefully your stay will be better than mines"
Read full review
Sherpa38149651905 wrote a tip May 2023
Coteau-du-Lac, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel if possible"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Atlanta area.
PRICE RANGE
C$298 - C$471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
w atlanta downtown hotel atlanta, w hotels atlanta, w hotel atlanta
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaAtlanta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
237
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

W Atlanta - Downtown - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about W Atlanta - Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to W Atlanta - Downtown?
Nearby attractions include National Center for Civil and Human Rights (0.3 km), World of Coca-Cola (0.4 km), and Children's Museum of Atlanta (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at W Atlanta - Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at W Atlanta - Downtown?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at W Atlanta - Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at W Atlanta - Downtown?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to W Atlanta - Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Max Lager's Wood-Fired Grill & Brewery, Corner Bakery Cafe, and Mellow Mushroom Downtown Atlanta.
Are there opportunities to exercise at W Atlanta - Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is W Atlanta - Downtown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Atlanta.
Are pets allowed at W Atlanta - Downtown?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does W Atlanta - Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to W Atlanta - Downtown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site (1.8 km), Oakland Cemetery (2.5 km), and Centennial Olympic Park (0.6 km).
All Atlanta HotelsAtlanta Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AtlantaHotels near W Atlanta - Downtown
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars