The Darwin Hotel
Sitting in the courtyard, enjoying a complimentary glass of champagne.
Traveller (132)
Darwin Double Queen Suite With Bunk Beds
Room & Suite (35)
The Darwin Hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, May 31
Get rewarded with One Key
C$258
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#3 of 189 hotels in Atlanta
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
This property has identified as Asian-Owned.
Tripadvisor does not verify the accuracy of this information.
A cozy, creative spot to lay your head that won't cost you an arm and a leg.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Secured parking
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
1.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

585 Parkway Dr. NE, Atlanta, GA 30308
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta Intl Airport
15.7 km
See all flights
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles153 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Darwin Hotel is lauded for its lively atmosphere and stylish decor that provide a unique and inviting experience, with many travelers impressed by the spotless rooms and well-kept premises. While its location earns praise for being close to attractions yet peaceful, some guests have called out additional fees for parking and amenities as drawbacks. The hotel's service is frequently described as attentive, adding a personalized touch to guest stays. However, the breakfast options and lack of complimentary coffee are areas some travelers believe could improve.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Relaxing

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
153Reviews0Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 129
  • 19
  • 3
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Melseth S wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel vibe is nice and the lobby looks fantastic. They also give you a free champagne which is nice. The hotel is dog friendly which is great but they charge a $100 per charge and place you on the 2nd floor. Now I don’t know if it was because we had a last minute change but our hotel room was so small it was uncomfortable. The bed was fine, the decor was great, the bathroom was clean… but I felt like a sardine inside that room because there was literally no room for our luggage aside from it being on the floor by the bed.

What I absolutely HATE about this hotel is the daily $25 parking fee. DAILY. That means that every day you are basically giving them $25 for “watching” your car but honestly no one is out there watching the parking lot. It’s not like they wash your car while it is there… a one time fee would make sense (still ridiculous) but $25 per day?

We also had a “discount” due to the hotel being booked for a wedding… I’m not sure how much the discount was because I don’t believe it was at all applied.

Would I come back? Absolutely not
Is it a nice hotel with cool decor and vibe? Yes
Should you support locally operated hotels instead of chain hotels? Sure, but it will be more expensive and I’m not sure it’s worth the extra money for what you get. Chain hotels basically offer the same thing
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Imani Knox, Other at The Darwin Hotel
Responded Mar 10, 2024
Thank you for staying at The Darwin hotel. We offer a plethora of room sizes even THEMED! Here at The Darwin, we are committed to providing every guest with a comfortable experience which means having select floors for our furry friends. This helps those traveling with allergies have the same experience as those who don't. Our parking fee covers secured parking for guest that choose to utilize a secured lot however is not required. We hope to be your hotel of choice your next visit to Atlanta so we can show you all The Darwin has to offer. Best regards, Imani Knox Director of Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kieren M wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this Hotel a bit further away from the convention I was working just due to prices in the area and I couldn't be happier!! The Hotel is brand new and has an awesome vibe. Every single person working is exceptionality nice and helpful, down to the amazing housekeeping women who came to clean up the hourglass I broke while looking at their cool cassette tape wall art. That being said Efrain at the front desk goes above and beyond to make sure that anytime you ask for something you get a vibe of "of course you can do that, have that etc, I got you!"
The bartenders are awesome and make it seem like you're not sitting at the bar alone but hanging out with friends chatting.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alfonce McKinney, General Manager at The Darwin Hotel
Responded Mar 26, 2023
Dear KierenMcE, Thank you for the feedback. Can't say we are not excited to see that you took a chance on us with all the choices in the area. We hope that our little hidden gem becomes your go to place in the near future. Thank you again for visiting the Darwin Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Gabriel J R wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Darwin was an excellent experience from beginning to end. We had no trouble checking in at the front desk and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed in the standard king suit (The Cozy I believe ?) and enjoyed how nice the room was, however my only complaint was the bathroom experience. The bathroom was very clean and has a nice single person shower but the door to the bathroom is slightly cracked so you can hear almost everything that the person does in the restroom. After our night out in Atlanta we went back to the room showered and slept in our very comfortable king bed. In the morning for our check out we decided to get the breakfast they offered in the lobby (not included separately priced). The staff were still extremely nice and the breakfast prices were decent compared to what is around you but the breakfast lacked in flavor a bit. I did overhear they do have something special on Sundays but we unfortunately didn’t have a chance to try it out. Overall I would be more than happy to stay here again if I’m ever in Atlanta.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Apparently parking is a pain but we got here at check in and it was very simple and easy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin N wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay was excellent, was welcomed immediately by Efrarn and he made sure that I had everything I needed! Love the style of this hotel, the room was set up perfectly, had plently of plugs, usb-c ports for my computer, phone and electronics.

There is also a really beautiful bar in the lobby that is nice and cozy. Also they have a wall of cassette tapes… loved it. I would definitely recommend this location and would absolutely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karl T wrote a review Dec 2023
Bellevue, Washington6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a weekend in Atlanta area for a wedding, and wanted to spend a least a night closer to downtown to experience the city!

The Darwin is only a mile for Ponce City Market (highly recommend) and easy to access.

The hotel looks fairly unassuming on the outside, but the moment you walk in the lobby your greeted by the buzz of hotel bar guests, a warm atmosphere, and great hospital. The folks at the front counter were attentive, and felt genuinely interested in ensuring we felt welcomed and excited for our stay — not what were used to compared to our home cities “Seattle freeze”.

Check-in was a breeze and also earned us a paper crane good for a free champagne at the bar. As we brought our bags up stairs, we were kept company with some upbeat Jazz. The door to our room welcomed us with thoughtful design, casual elegance, and a sense of comfort and cleanliness.

The room made great use of the space, feeling much bigger than the floor plan would suggest. Nice attention to detail with USB-C wall plugs and a good LG TV. The hotel was quiet at night, with no slamming doors in the hall or excessive street noise. Really can’t say a single bad thing about the room, it was exactly what we were hoping it would be and matched the pictures.

Overall, a great place I’d come back to experience more of Atlanta. Welcoming, friendly staff with clean and stylish rooms. What more do you need?
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Miss Rhonda wrote a review Jul 2023
Atlanta, Georgia314 contributions80 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was ok. The customer service we received from the front desk staff during check-in was great!! Melissa was knowledgeable about the hotel, the area and local food options. She had a great personality and she was really sweet. We did NOT enjoy our time spent at the bar at all so it was very short lived! John-Baptiste was our bartender. We asked for champagne and it was room temperature so we advised him if that. He brought us a cup of ice and said “well I got it from the cooler” and walked away, needless to say we left but mot before noticing a woman at the end of the bar had champagne and it was clearly chilled by the frost. This building has ONE ice machine and ONE microwave and they’re on the 2nd floor (which makes no sense). The outside seating was decorated very nice and so was the lobby (the old school tapes were a very nice touch). The service we received during checkout was good (I can’t remember his name, I think it was Efrain). I had a conversation with Imani expressing my disappointment with the things mentioned in my review and she apologized and reassured me that we would have a better visit next time. Lastly, our room looked nice, decorated nice but it was very small and the curtains did not close! I like my room dark when I sleep and when I wake up! We were NOT happy with the light shining in while we sleeping and it woke us up. They have shades but they didn’t help at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The rooms are very small, no blackout curtains
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Niamh H wrote a review Jun 2023
Orlando, Florida5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was beautiful! I loved the style and general design, and everything seemed new and modern. We were in town for a festival at Central Park, which was a five minute walk from the hotel, which was just perfect!! Most of the other guests seemed to be there for the same reason, and the staff was all very nice about it, especially when we all came back drenched in rain! Chyann in particular was phenomenal. She was bubbly and smiley from our first interaction with her, and we had a couple of small issues with our room which she corrected quickly and easily. We also had a couple of drinks at the bar to finish off our night, and Brianna was absolutely incredible. She mixed wonderful drinks for us and provided such lovely conversation. This was definitely the best trip I have taken to Atlanta and I would absolutely stay at The Darwin again in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alfonce McKinney, General Manager at The Darwin Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear NMhhrrp, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us and can't wait to have you back in the near future! Best Regards, Alfonce McKinney General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer D wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What an amazing hotel! We were looking for somewhere affordable near Ponce de León Market, that didn’t charge a fortune for parking and this was it!
So close to the heart of the city without the hassle of being directly downtown. Parking was simple in a private lot.
The place is gorgeous from the second you walk in. I felt like we were in something far more upscale in comparison to the price we paid. Lots of comfortable seating to lounge in the lobby and a convenient, hip bar. The showstopper though is the courtyard. Open directly to the lobby it’s full of outdoor seating and fire pits. We arrived after dark and got to see it all lit up - such a vibe!
We did have a small issue when checking in, the room they meant to put us in was already occupied, but the staff was very accommodating and made sure to take care of everything. As a result we were upgraded to one of their suites, and man, were we lucky!
As a couple traveling with a toddler, we would have been more than fine in a standard double Queen, but the suite was a real treat! It had a separate seating area with board games and a set of bunk beds. Our little was in love having a separate place of her own to sleep and play.
The beds were very comfortable and the room was immaculate. The bathroom was very nice, the shower was spacious, fully stocked and had great water pressure.
Upon check out, the staff was once again very friendly and ensured we had a wonderful stay. I’d highly recommend, we’d definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alfonce McKinney, General Manager at The Darwin Hotel
Responded Jun 15, 2023
Thank you for taking a chance on our unique hotel! We appreciate such an overall extensive review. We look forward to the next visit! Kind Regards, Alfonce McKinney General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer L wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my first time at The Darwin, and I would certainly return. I was looking for something specifically in the Old Fourth Ward, and The Darwin is conveniently located and reasonably priced. You are a reasonable walking distance (or a very short drive) to Ponce City Market and the Beltline. The decor and design of the hotel is thoughtful and luxurious -- one of my favorite parts is the courtyard, which has fire pits and very cool lighting in the evenings. The team at the hotel were also very friendly and professional. Everyone I interacted with made me feel like a welcome guest. Dante and Efrain at the front desk helped me check-in and out with ease.

Some of the other reviews mention room size and some noise from the upper levels. The room I was in was smaller, but as I was traveling solo that wasn't a concern. I was able to hear the guests upstairs moving around occasionally, but only during normal hours and my sleep wasn't disturbed at all. If you are a light or sensitive sleeper and this is a potential concern, you may want to bring earplugs.

Overall, I would highly recommend The Darwin and will definitely be returning on a future trip.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Imani Knox, Other at The Darwin Hotel
Responded Mar 10, 2024
Our private courtyard is defiantly a favorite amongst our guests. We do offer a plethora of room sizes and even THEMED! You've already committed to a second stay, book with us directly for a special treat. Best Regards, Imani Knox Director of Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RobinWindyCity86 wrote a review Feb 2024
Dallas, Texas2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Darwin was a fantastic choice for my first boutique hotel experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, always making me and other guests feel welcome and appreciated. The check-in was smooth and fast, and I was amazed by the elegance and comfort of my room. The king size bed and couch were perfect for resting and relaxing, and I loved the calm and peaceful ambiance. The location of The Darwin was ideal for me, as it was near many places and restaurants that I wanted to check out. The decor of my room and the lobby was stunning and nostalgic. I especially enjoyed seeing the classic cassette tapes. They brought back so many wonderful memories. I really enjoyed Atlanta, and I look forward to coming back and staying at The Darwin again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Brett C wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ponce city market is walkable from here! "
Read full review
Deidra S wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No complementary coffee. Location near residential homes. Fast foods restaurants in walking distance. "
Read full review
Jenny G wrote a tip Mar 2024
New York18 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s a party place. "
Read full review
GdeSBrixham wrote a tip Feb 2024
Brixham76 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy! We certainly did. Lovely outside area for the warmer months."
Read full review
Rebecca s wrote a tip Dec 2023
Chattanooga, Tennessee2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beds comfy, great location, wonderful staff!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Atlanta area.
PRICE RANGE
C$258 - C$325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaAtlanta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
111
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Darwin Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Darwin Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Darwin Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Atlanta BeltLine Eastside Trail (0.9 km), Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse (1.2 km), and Ponce City Market (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Darwin Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at The Darwin Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Darwin Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The Darwin Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Darwin Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Poor Calvin's, Herban Fix - Vegan Kitchen, and Mary Mac's Tea Room.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Darwin Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Darwin Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Darwin Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Darwin Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site (1.5 km), Swan House (7.9 km), and Oakland Cemetery (2.5 km).
Is The Darwin Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Atlanta HotelsAtlanta Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AtlantaHotels near The Darwin Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars