We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

California Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
California Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

933 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for California Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 751: English reviews
Ensenada, Mexico
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Had a bit of a problem with check in, but the young lady was helpful and after a quick call remedied the problem. Bed was comfortable, internet although new was on the slow side, it was quit and the breakfast was as pictured.. They do need to learn how to make coffee though.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank foodfuninthesun
Chandra P, Owner at California Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for taking precious time and sharing your experience about your stay and services we provided. We always want our customer to get the best service. We are happy you've loved your stay with us! Looking forward to see you again! Thank You.

Modesto, California
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

We usually stay at the Hampton or Holiday Inn. Both were booked as we drove through. Pulled in here at about 915 last night pulling an 5th wheel. Girl at the desk was super nice, I asked about the pool as kids were restless and hot after many hours in the car in 100+ temps. Kids got to swim pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aimlesss75
Chandra P, Owner at California Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for taking precious time and sharing your experience about your stay and services we provided. We always want our customer to get the best service. We are happy you've loved your stay with us! Looking forward to see you again! Thank You.

Madison, Alabama
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Room was great, only thing was the room ac had trouble keeping room cool because of the 100+ Temps outside. Very clean room and front desk help and breakfast were great. Pool was clean and very refreshing and a way to deal with the heat.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mercerdriver1951
Chandra P, Owner at California Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for taking precious time and sharing your experience about your stay and services we provided. We always want our customer to get the best service. We are happy you've loved your stay with us! Looking forward to see you again! Thank You.

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 30 May 2016

This inn is very confortable for spending a night while travelling. It has a great breakfast and the room is very clean. The price is economic. It has a pool, but when we stayed it was cold so I can´t give my opinion on that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimena P
Chandra P, Owner at California Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for taking precious time and sharing your experience about your stay and services we provided. We always want our customer to get the best service. We are happy you've loved your stay with us! Looking forward to see you again! Thank You.

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Stopped off here while doing route 66, very good value for money. Staff were very helpful and the room was clean and spacious. Nice large outside pool, not heated so a great place to cool down after a hot day. Breakfast was OK plenty of choice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ingy56
Chandra P, Owner at California Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for taking precious time and sharing your experience about your stay and services we provided. We always want our customer to get the best service. We are happy you've loved your stay with us! Looking forward to see you again! Thank You.

Dachau, Germany
Reviewed 28 May 2016

the beds were awesome, shopping facilities nearby beautiful town, perfect for one or two nights on your way to las vegas. quiet. nice pool. breakfast could have a little more varieties, but was alright.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tortch
Chandra P, Owner at California Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for taking precious time and sharing your experience about your stay and services we provided. We always want our customer to get the best service. We are happy you've loved your stay with us! Looking forward to see you again! Thank You.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Good points: large room, staff are amenable, cheap and situated next to a number of dining options, good internet speeds. Not so good: the hallways reek of stale cigarette smoke, though the room we had did not have that problem, but the rooms are quite stuffy and the air conditioner is very loud. The breakfast looks nothing like the advertising...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wellyontour
Chandra P, Owner at California Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for taking precious time and sharing your experience about your stay and services we provided. We will look into resolving the issues you've mentioned asap. Sorry for the inconvenience. Looking forward to see you again! Thank You.

Charleroi, Belgium
Reviewed 24 May 2016

The woman at desk check in was very disagreable and not helpful at all. The room was noisy and overdated... No lift. Poor breakfast, less of choice and no fruits. Wifi was very slow and bad connection

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 866fredg
Chandra P, Owner at California Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Sorry for the inconvenience. We will resolve these issues asap So during your next visit, you will find these issues taken care of. We really appreciate your time writing these valuable comments about your stay, price and services. We look forward to see you again. Thank You,

Colorado
Reviewed 21 May 2016

The room was clean, quiet on the floor. Had a nice breakfast in the morning. My only complaint was the smokers right outside the exit door outside from the hallway (this is where the smoking area appeared to be).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wyattalanc
Chandra P, Owner at California Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for taking precious time and sharing your experience about your stay and services we provided. We always want our customer to get the best service. We are happy you've loved your stay with us! We will look into that issue you mentioned asap. Looking forward to see you again! Thank You.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Amazing cactus at front of one of the buildings. The room was very large and clean although the colour of the decor was a little strange. ( especially the carpets in the corridor). Bathroom clean and shower good, with s second sink in the room. Breakfast was help yourself and included some hot food, (eggs and sausages) cereals, cakes, toast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 35yaya
Chandra P, Owner at California Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for taking precious time and sharing your experience about your stay and services we provided. We always want our customer to get the best service. We are happy you've loved your stay with us! Looking forward to see you again! Thank You.

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barstow hotels
8.4 km away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
664 reviews
0.3 km away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#5 of 29 in Barstow
557 reviews
9.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#11 of 29 in Barstow
192 reviews
8.9 km away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#6 of 29 in Barstow
172 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about California Inn

Address: 1431 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311-3216 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Price Range: $76 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — California Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your California Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Barstow
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barstow
#5 Family Hotel in Barstow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#7 Business Hotel in Barstow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from California Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Paso Robles, California
9 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from California Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room that has been completely remodeled, better yet stay somewhere else .”
 of 5 bubbles pieq1, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles MarshaK432, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“top floor is better if you prefer quietness, as the floor is quite thin and you could hear the noice above easily”
 of 5 bubbles PtCdcdPr, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The wing behind the office is much quieter due to an embankment/wall, so noise form Main St. is minimal.”
 of 5 bubbles 207hankg, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms have sliding glass doors (security?). No elevator access to upstairs rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Bob836, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5