We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Madison Hotel

Expedia.comUS$242*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

782 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Madison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 765: English reviews
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We stayed here for a wedding and we had a great stay. The wedding was held in the Conservatory, and it was very well done. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food was great, but the entrees came out at different times. Our only real complaint was related to the A/C unit in our room-- we only had three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheInvestmentBanker
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your experience at The Madison Hotel. We are thrilled you had an opportunity to experience a wedding in our beautiful facility and are happy to hear you had a great stay and found the staff friendly and attentive. Sorry about the AC unit. They usually have a high setting...

West Redding, Connecticut
Reviewed 16 July 2015

This is our company's recommended hotel when we travel in the area and it's a wonderful place to stay. I love that it is not a "cookie-cutter" hotel from a chain and has an old-world charm to it (even though it was built in 1951). Lot's of dark wood and paneling in the lobby with antique-style furnishings. Staff super friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catherinef419
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We all appreciate it and we are thrilled to read that you found the staff "super friendly", the rooms clean, bed comfortable, complimentary breakfast very nice and enjoyed the little extras we provide like the daily raffle and the coffee,...

Paramus, New Jersey
Reviewed 11 July 2015

My wife and I spent our wedding anniversary at the Madison. We were expecting a good accommodation, but what we received was a fantastic experience. From the close proximity to our residence to the magnificent exterior of the building. The front desk made us feel very welcomed at check-in. The room was extremely comfortable, although the TV should be updated....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EddieS668
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary and thank you for spending your special day with us. We are glad you had a "fantastic experience" and look forward to you spending many more special days with us. Scott McArthur General Manager

Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

This is a very pleasant hotel located equidistant between Morristown and Madison. It is certainly not within walking distance of either downtown but it is within five minutes driving of both. The local commuter railway line station is a couple of hundred yards from the station so access to local towns and to NYC is convenient and easy. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wardonia
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate it and look forward to having you as a guest again. Scott McArthur General Manager

Reviewed 11 July 2015

Have been coming here for the past 8 years. Most times the visit is spot on and other times lacking. We like the location and atmosphere of the place and the Red Dog. Front desk clerk Jesse was a delete to deal with. Recently stayed over 4 July weekend and problem Friday and Saturday came from a family of 8-10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jfh10319
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. Let me apologize for the guest smoking in the room next to yours, if we had known when you first smelled it we could have immediately went to room and asked them to stop, It is against the law in...

Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 8 July 2015

This is probably the "best" hotel in the area in a sense that it's got quite a bit of character. was quite impressed by the lobby and expecting a nice room but the room smelt horrible, the carpet was damp and sticky and the bathroom is dirty as well. Please clean your rooms thoroughly. I am quite disgusted by the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophia C
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. However, I am not clear what was wrong. I know you stayed with us for 6 nights in the same room and no one recalls you ever sharing your concerns with anyone at the property while you were here or since you checked out over 2 months ago. Upon getting your...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 8 July 2015

I stayed in this hotel on business for a few days. The accommodation was very nice, the furnishings are a bit dated but everything was clean and worked well (except the in room phones... shortcut buttons didn't work. The attached restaurant is nothing to write home about, but the food was good. Service- if you have a lot of time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aztravlgrl
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post comments about your stay on Trip Advisor. We are happy you found the accommodations nice and clean and hope you will stay with us again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur General Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 6 July 2015

This was my 4th or 5th stay at the Madison Hotel and they outdid themselves. The young man who checked me in was very friendly and seemed to genuinely care about the guests and making them feel welcome. The room (a king) was large, comfortable, and quiet and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki G
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for making the Madison Hotel your "choice" hotel when visiting our area. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you as a guest whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur General Manager

Irvine, California
Reviewed 1 July 2015

My cousin & I stayed at this hotel last week for my niece's wedding. The venue is spectacular for a wedding and very well coordinated. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff did a great job of cleaning the room. The front desk staff was very pleasant. The hotel has some very interesting features, ask about them....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imaprettywoman
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to read you found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff very pleasant. In addition, I am glad the wedding was lovely and well coordinated. We look forward to having you as a guest again whenever you visit NYC or northern NJ. Scott McArthur General Manager

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 1 July 2015

I went here for a business trip and was pleased with pretty much everything, from my room to the on-site restaurants to the front desk staff. There was no continental breakfast but they had hot chocolate, coffee and tea stocked 24/7, in addition to a fireplace with comfy seating. When I went, there were back-to-back snowstorms and staff were helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJOCOTravels
ScottMcArthurGM, General Manager at The Madison Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. What are thrill to read you were pleased with everything. I am sorry you were unable to partake in our complimentary continental breakfast which is available 7 days a week from 6:30AM - 10:00AM. I am sure you would have been just as pleased. We look forward to seeing you again whenever you visit...

471 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (258)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard King Room (26)
Viewed
Suite (37)
Viewed
The Geraldine Rockefeller Dodge (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morristown
3.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Morristown
Hyatt Regency Morristown
#4 of 5 in Morristown
895 reviews
2.5 km away
The Westin Governor Morris, Morristown
2.4 km away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
HYATT house Morristown
HYATT house Morristown
#2 of 5 in Morristown
334 reviews
1.2 km away
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
8.3 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille
Rod's Steak & Seafood Grille
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Madison Hotel

Address: 1 Convent Rd, Morristown, NJ 07960-6922
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Morristown
Price Range: $202 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Morristown
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Morristown
#1 Family Hotel in Morristown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morristown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Madison Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
4 months ago
New Haven, Connecticut
Brooklyn, New York
over a year ago
New Jersey

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Madison Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room on the opposite side of the train station.”
niteowljune, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Best Value! Very good staff & management!”
nathanmA9345MD, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suites are wonderful and recommended!”
791MarthaJ, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nearby train tracks with train travel at night. The noise will wake you up. Look for a room on the other side if possible.”
223larryk, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“book the train car for dinner!”
lucyg766, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$242* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$254
TravelocityUS$242
Hotwire.comUS$242
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates